Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Hall & Oates
11/07/14
Best gig ever. from Aaron Rosenthal, 14/07/14
I sweated a lot. Surely thats a good sign. They played all the hits, everyone was very happy, they had a saxophonist in a linen suit and a Gandalf beard called Mr Casual. I think if you asked for more, youre an idiot.
Hall & Oates
11/07/14
Fantastic!! from Allan Smith, 14/07/14
They were incredible! Played all the hits and the audience were also unbelievable! What a show! One of the best concerts of my life!
Jack White
03/07/14
Flippin brilliant gig from Keith Liberty, 09/07/14
So full of excited anticipation as the days led up. First pub out of tube was perfect, drinking outside with a three piece plugged in band entertaining all. Actually met Jacks violinist Lillie Mae there! A fine handshake. Earlier Id been thinking that because of the curtains at the Apollo wouldnt it be great if Jack used the opportunity of not just a walk on entrance. Well he sure did, the sight and sound of him bursting through as they parted will I hope stay with me forever. What followed was bliss to the senses. What a man! What a band! Great stage-set, lighting, sound, view. Been recalling it ever since. Thanks Jack. Thanks Eventim.
Jack White
03/07/14
Thunderous performance from Diki77, 09/07/14
It is a fair while since I have been in a more anticipatory crowd - the atmosphere was crackling with electricity and so was Jack when he danced on about 9.15 and started throwing shapes around the stage with his guitar to the fore. It was loud, distorted and heavy - and the crowd, as they say, went wild! I was in the seats at the back but no one sat down all night - the man delivered what the punters came for - pure excitement and a thunderous performance dripping with energy and feedback. If I had a criticism - such as it may be called - it would be that so distorted and chaotic was the guitar work at times that it was not always obvious which track he was playing - but then, who really gave a flying rusty duck! Great show.
Jay & Silent Bob
01/07/14
Awesome evening! from Elle Q, 08/07/14
Great event, format was brilliant with the opportunity to be the audience for Hollywood Babble-On as well as the animals film. Only criticism would be it was a shame there was an 11 oclock curfew as the Q&A at the end seemed very rushed.
Jack White
03/07/14
Electric! Jack White 3.7.2014 from S Jay, 08/07/14
Fifth time I have seen Jack White. He never fails to please. The crowd there were so up for it and I think he and the band fed of the energy in the room. Jack White is a showman, a fantastic and collaborative musician. Live, he has very few equals. 2 hours of sheer pleasure for me!
Jack White
03/07/14
Excellent all round from Peter, 08/07/14
My wife and I were lucky enough to see Jack White live at the Apollo just after he released his second solo album, Lazaretto. The venue was very well organised, queueing was easy, getting drinks was easy and the toilets were clean. The show was out of this world not only because Jack White is a rock god but because the Apollo is the perfect venue to be entertained by your favourite artist.
Jack White
03/07/14
Top of his game from GaryW66, 08/07/14
Jack White. Hammersmith Odeon 3rd July 2014. So after a four week gap between gigs we are back in the swing of things at the hallowed venue, Hammersmith Odeon. It was the scene of my first ever gig, Whitesnake in 1981 and indeed 18 of next 25 gigs I ever went to were here. It may have changed its name many times in the past 30 years but it will still be Hammy O to me and my favourite venue. This year’s moniker is the Eventim Apollo and it welcomes Mr Jack White. I have seen Jack in many of his guises, The White Stripes, The Raconteurs and solo and he has never failed to deliver so expectations were high. It’s hot and sweaty outside but that feels positively balmy compared to the heat generated by the 5000 souls inside. There’s a feeling that Jack is a little unhinged at the moment playing a secret gig the night before with the audience dressed in hospital gowns and he being pushed away in a hospital bed. This on top of his falling into the drum kit at Glasto. I dunno but have always felt that he’s a man on the edge and that’s probably what makes him so interesting creatively much like Ryan Adams and Conor Oberst. I won’t bore you with running through the set but for me there were obvious highlights, Three Women, Hotel Yorba, Ball and Biscuit and a different take on Steady as She Goes. Working without a setlist he went wherever the mood took him supported by a superb band led by the charismatic drummer who can’t sit for too long, has his drums pointing in a jaunty angle and has a penchant for the cow bell. The violinist is accomplished and can actually be heard amongst the electric mayhem going on and has a unique high pitched voice that compliments Jack’s well. This complemented by Mandolin, Theremin, pedal steel, organ, keyboard, upright base. All that’s missing is Evelyn Glennie and her glockenspiel. The night moves from acoustic albeit heavily amplified with mandolin to full on delta blues taking in Rock/Rap. Indeed a lot of the songs especially the new ones are delivered in a real punchy staccato style, the lyrics spat out in a Rage against the Machine mode which for this young listener aint a bad thing. It’s an energetic show and Jack does his best rock god impressions that don’t look cheesy or contrived. He’s obviously enjoying this and makes some barbed comments about Glastonbury and distance to the audience. Two hours later it’s all over closing with the football terrace friendly Seven Nation Army. We leave and I’m in desperate need of rehydration and some new ear drums please. Five stars to wake up London on a hot steamy night. Sleep comes much later thanks to the ringing in the ears.
Jack White
03/07/14
Full of energy and amazing guitar p... from eddie, 08/07/14
Jack is a great performer, and clearly lives and breathes guitar. He reminds me a little of Jimi Hendrix. Just wish he had stopped in between songs, as it was not always clear where one ended and another started!
Jack White
03/07/14
Jack was amazing, venue ticketing s... from Sher, 08/07/14
I paid nearly £80 for two tickets standing in the Upper Circle on my birthday to see my favorite artist. Purchased directly from Eventim Apollo. When I got there they told me my tickets were to stand single file against the wall upstairs. It was beyond a joke. Literally people standing up the stairs along the wall. Luckily we grabbed some seats that were empty and the people didnt show up so my birthday show wasnt ruined.. It should be made clear at the point of purchase that this is the case. I wouldnt have paid more than £5 to stand against an upstairs wall. This type of ticketing practice should be against the law. Consumers have no recourse under T&Cs. Shame on you Eventim Apollo. Five star rating is for Jack Whites performance, not the experience.
Penn and Teller
22/06/14
Penn and Teller as weve seen them b... from Redomelette, 03/07/14
There are no doubts that Penn and Teller are a couple of the greatest magicans around and certainly an show I have wanted to see for a long time. However, the show which included much material I had seen them perform before on the internet and on their recent UK TV show left little in the way of surprises. There was no flow to the show as they went from bit to bit with no linking material. The highlight however was getting to shake hands with the performers after the show as they took the time to greet every audience member would wanted to have a photo or get an autograph. The show did not did not dempen my enjoyed for the pair, just my likely hood of seeing another one of their live shows. The tickets are not cheap I was hoping there would be more fresh material that was not so readily available.
Pat Metheny Unity Group
11/06/14
Outstanding from Bakes, 18/06/14
A great concert, with Pat and his band playing with intensity, power, variation and togetherness. Having first seen him back in 1985 at the same venue it was a delight to see him and his band perform material from his whole back catalogue, for so long and with what appeared like a couple of extra encores to the planned ones. What a true giant and master of the guitar Pat Metheny is and his present band have such variety and skill to complement and extend him. Only negative, no Lyle Mays on piano.
Pat Metheny Unity Group
11/06/14
Metheny is a guitar genius. from Angie Lalanne, 18/06/14
I have loved Methenys music for 25 years and havent seen him since Juan-les-Pins in 1989. His music has always had a huge effect on me, and as I have got older, this effect has magnified; it takes me to places no other music can and has a huge nostalgic effect too. The Apollo was a lovely venue, quite intimate, good seating, not too loud, easy to get in and out, great transport and easy parking at Novotel. Watching and hearing him work his magic with that guitar was an experience I will never forget. His live music sounds as good as the recordings, better in fact. I am not a Jazz fan, but I love Metheny. Awesome.
Pat Metheny Unity Group
11/06/14
Excellent from Mike Harvey, 18/06/14
A wonderful experience which enabled me to understand and appreciate the quality of Pat Metheny and his band
Soul & Funk Spectacular
14/06/14
BEST NIGHT EVER!! from P Ince, 18/06/14
This was an awesome night, we had the best fun the joint was totally jumping. Brilliant fun. Please put on more.
Pat Metheny Unity Group
11/06/14
Fantastic from Pats#1, 18/06/14
Hes the man...awesome, nearly 3 hours, the band & Pat never flagged or repeated themselves. For me the highlight was the revisiting of the older tunes in this new lineup.
Julie Andrews
31/05/14
Wonderful Event! from John D Carrion, 04/06/14
We all really enjoyed this experience but were dismayed that the programmes were sold out 20 minutes before it started and that the paper to submit questions were gone before we had any chance to submit one. It seemed to be done on the cheap and for £80 per ticket, it was really not well received.
New Kids On The Block
28/05/14
Great night, fab venue! from Lucy, 03/06/14
This was my first time going to Hammersmith Apollo and I would book again as the venue was lovely! We could see the stage from where we were sitting. Loved the show bought back memories! Thanks for getting such a great boy/man band from the US to come to your venue!!!!
Elvis Presley On Stage
25/05/14
Brilliant event!!!! from Abbie, 02/06/14
It was absolutely amazing. I took my mum and auntie as they love Elvis. It was just so great. The band was excellent. Could not fault the event. When everyone got up to dance it made the experience more memorable. We loved every bit. Should do it again as others I know would love to have been there but it was only for two days. Should come back again!!!!! Also their should of been a few places to be able to buy merchandise from as it was hard to get too.
Julie Andrews
30/05/14
Shame about the military police! from Sas, 02/06/14
She was great, but a real atmosphere spoiler to have swarms of staff being so aggressive for the final number.