Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Kate Bush
12/09/14
awesome from bunny, 19/09/14
an outstanding performance and show. Never seen anything like it in my life.So glad to have experienced it. Everything in the show went well, Kates voice was amazing and pitch perfect. The venue was great and staff helpful but it was very hot in there! Just wish I could go again.
Kate Bush
12/09/14
WOW! from Anne, 18/09/14
The staff at the hospitality event were very welcoming and helpful. The vegetarian hamper was delicious, especially the desserts! The church created a great and interesting atmosphere The show itself was fantastic and amazing, well worth the wait!
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Wonderful Return from Jeremiah, 18/09/14
Before the Dawn was an amazing performance by Kate Bush and her band. Im glad I had the chance to see this in such an intimate setting. I doubt Ill ever see such an interesting mix of music and theater again. Bravo to all the performers!
Kate Bush
12/09/14
AMAZING from Paulo Amorim, 18/09/14
Totally worths two trips from Brazil to England within a month. I had been to the opening night on Aug-16th and returned to 2 more shows, on sept-9th and sept-12th. The opening night was absolutely amazing and I thought Id would never feel such emotion again, but her performance has grown so much as the days go by that the last performance Ive seen impressed me lots more than the first one! Kate is more confident, more relaxed at stage - shes now showing all she is! Wish I could get more ticket to see it one more time, closer to the end of the show.
Kate Bush
09/09/14
and dream of sheep from twilde, 18/09/14
Saw Kate Bush on 09/09/2014,my birthday and maybe best night of my life.The 9th wave and A Sky of honey,brought to life,something all of us have been dreaming of.She could have just sat on stage doing very little and i would have been pleased.great version of King of the mountain,beautiful Among angels and final song cloud busting.There was lots of joy tears and love .Even better than seeing her in 1979.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
An unforgettable evening from Peter musty, 17/09/14
What a wonderful evening we had and it started with the hospitality. Neither of us knew what to expect so when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. We thought we were going to a church hall but instead we were shown to this beautiful church which was tastefully decorated. The hampers were lavish and very filling. All the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Thank you very much.
Kate Bush
10/09/14
I put this moment ... here from LisaPops, 17/09/14
It was a night I will remember forever and one of the highlights of my 51 years on this earth. Seeing Kate Bush walk out on stage (from the 6th row helped tremendously) right there in front of me, actual Kate Bush! - smiling with joy and singing exquisitely, brought tears of disbelief and delight that would not quit. Its hard to add to the superlatives offered by so many other appreciative fans, but it was a phenomenal, spine-tingling, heart-warming event bursting with creativity and vision. Kate was fully in command of her art and that was wonderful to see after the acres of newsprint speculation about her return after 35 years of absence from the stage. Something that aided my enjoyment (as if it needed any help!) was the TOTAL absence of smart phones or cameras held aloft during the show. Not a single glow of a screen marred my experience, something that has become unheard of on the London gig scene in the last 5 years or so. Kate asked her fans not to put any devices between themselves and their experience, and it worked. Arguably most Kate Bush fans seeing her live after 35 years probably would have kept the digital distractions to a minimum, but the total respect and rapt attention to the stage made my enjoyment all the sweeter (and made me even sadder and angrier about the opposite experience which has practically ruined most of the concerts I have attended in recent years). So thank you everybody, and bring back old-fashioned focus and attention I say! I feel incredibly blessed to be one of the lucky ones who got tickets to this (yes I have to say it) once in a lifetime experience. Thank you Kate.
Kate Bush
16/09/14
Simply brilliant from LizLucy, 17/09/14
Am amazing event that will remain a rare treat for all her fans and live forever in our hearts and that room in my mind. Am still blown away - she is an artistic genius, an acoustic goddess.. I could go on. The audience were also amazing, they were electric! Not a phone or camera in site once Kate was on stage. Id like to thank Eventim for putting tickets back up on sale as otherwise I would not have made it and now I know what I would have missed! Thank you Kate for giving us this gem.
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Fantastic from Mark, 17/09/14
As with so many others, I never expected Kate to tour again...but lo and behold we got tickets to row E for Saturday 13th September. What a delightful surprise to find out we where on the the front row :-). What an incredible show and hats off to Kate, her family and all the crew. She was so warm and appreciative to the crowd and her voice is as beautiful as it ever was. It was fantastic and left us hungry for more. I would lobe to see the show again and really hope the rumours that the performances 16th and 17th Sepember are being recorded for release on DVD......there will be a disc with my name on it ...lol
Kate Bush
30/08/14
One of the best nights of my life..... from Tim Lloydsmith, 17/09/14
And I am 53, so I have chalked up a few in my time....cannot really add much to what everyone else has said about the show - all the reviews have it nailed.. As well as being an artist beyond compare - Kate is also a lovely person, she has shown many kindnesses to her fans in the past. The combination of her friendliness, incredible voice, powerful and moving work, brought to life by being staged so lovingly - made this an unforgettable experience! Oh and Eventims service was very good too. Big lasting smiles here :-):-)
Kate Bush
12/09/14
Brilliant from Gill, 17/09/14
Saw kate bush 12 September it was a wonderful night I will remember for ever, brilliant seats 3 rows from the front on the end where she passed by has part of the show just wonderful and very emotional.
Kate Bush
12/09/14
Kate Bush Eventim Apollo from Sunfire1977, 16/09/14
the show itself was unbelievable. from start to finish. it didnt bother me that there were no songs for the first 4 albums. and i understand why. if people are going to the shows expecting a greatest hits show. then theyll be disappointed. I for one wasnt. The down side of the whole evening was the apollo itself. the lack of venue staff was an eye opener, there was a big problem with the humidity.and directions to facilities were terrible. however this didnt detract from my enjoyment of the show itself
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Kate Bush Concert 13th September 20... from Gary Parker, 16/09/14
This has to be classed as one of the best experiences of my life ! such an amazing show for anyone who is lucky enough to go. I took my Wife and 16 Year old daughter(Her Birthday Present :)) an amazing, once in a lifetime event to see and hear Kate. the whole show, was superb, music, story and the band/crew were pure perfection ! adding the Apollo setting, making it a more personal experience for ALL that was there 10/10 !!!!!
Kate Bush
29/08/14
I Flew 5350 Miles to See Kate Bush ... from From San Francisco, USA, 16/09/14
I was fortunate enough to purchase one hospitality ticket on the Eventim UK Web site on March 28, less than 10 minutes before all the tickets had sold out. The hospitality ticket experience was both magical and memorable as I dined inside the Hammersmith St. Pauls church with fellow Kate Bush fans. The food was excellent and the venue was pure heaven. I also appreciated having the ability to purchase merchandise without wrestling through long lines. Fortunately, I was able to purchase limited items that sold out within the first week (I was lucky to attend the 3rd day of Kates residency). I also had the ability to enter the Apollo from a separate entrance so as to avoid the large crowds. The 3-hour performance itself was AMAZING...Without giving away any spoilers, I felt like I was watching a theatrical performance/rock concert/dance performance. When it comes to vision, creativity, and talent--Kate Bush is unsurpassed. The visual spectacle included great costumes, fabulous musical performances, and well-choreographed routines. The special effects were equally dazzling (sights, sounds and touch!). I just hope that this performance is released on CD/DVD so that those who were unable to attend can watch in the comfort of their homes. I live in San Francisco, USA--so I traveled more than 5000 miles to see Kate Bush in her first tour in 35 years. Not only was it well-worth the wait, but it was also worth every quid (414 quid to be exact)! I would do it again, if I only could...Mmmh yes!
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Incredible from TraceyR, 16/09/14
Fantastic mesmerising performance. Pitch perfect. The Ninth wave was exceptional, clever choreography perfectly executed.
Kate Bush
09/09/14
Masterpiece!!!!! from Fabrice Peyri, 16/09/14
Seing kate bush on stage was a dream becoming reality... everything about the show was perfect... From the setlist to her incredible and unique voice. The audience and the place were just amazing...
Kate Bush
09/09/14
fabulous kate! from vicky, 15/09/14
Amazing performance from kate bush- shes still got it! Amazing voice and great show. Loved the story lines and effects, staging very creative and accomplished band. All fantastic! Thank you kate
Kate Bush
12/09/14
Will remain with me for a long time... from Stu, 15/09/14
What can I say? Everything you could have hoped for and more! Forget the churning out of hits, this was a spectacle to behold. So atmospheric it will remain with me for a long time.
Kate Bush
09/09/14
Superlatives wont suffice from Capt Dada, 15/09/14
It was hard to believe the show could live up to the hype: surely she couldnt be as good as the excitable reviewers said? She could. Only better. The sound was amazing; the band so precise and lyrical. Her dancing may not have survived the 35 years since her last appearance, but her voice! It soared; it yearned; it ranged effortlessly across the dynamic range. Grown men wept. Pre-event focus had been on The Ninth Wave suite and it was sensational. But the Sky of Honey sequence from Arial was even better. The slow-motion film of birds in flight was mesmerising - all the dreamers were waking indeed. We may not see Kate perform again. Those who missed it will have to make do with the dvd due to be recorded. But for those who were there, the memory will never be erased. At the end of the concert someone yelled out Thank you, voicing the gratitude of all 3,000 of us.
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Wow, just wow. from Glenn, 15/09/14
Well first off it was like no other. One of the best experiences of my life. The atmosphere was amazing. A bare stage with all the instruments out bathed in blue light with dry ice, all this an hour before the show began. The anticipation and expectation were amazing. Ive read every review, they were all superlative. 5 star. What could possibly live up to this. Well it did, and surpassed my expectations in every way. She was barefoot the entire time, older, regal and stately. Totally in control of her gifts at all times, it felt like we were in the presence of a talent that comes from outside of this world. There was no one before her and there will be no one after her. She is in amazing voice, it soared in went low, there were none of the high notes you got on the early music but it was so powerful it hit you in the face and left people speechless. She sang a number of songs straightforwardly including Hounds of Love, Running Up That Hill, King of the Mountain. There were two drummers, the percussion was fabulous. Then we entered the Ninth Wave suite. This was full on production. There was a few acted bits about a boat singing and help being sought then Kate on the screen in water in a life jacket, then theres waves on the stage, shes carried out through the audience dead by fish skeletons the band now have fish heads. Shes a ghost. She disappears, reappears from no where. She ice skates on stage. Then finally chooses life. Its over. 20 minute interval. Final segment is b side of Ariel, A Sky of Honey. There are birds projected, her son Bertie is an artist the band have bird heads now, she turns into a Blackbird and flies over the stage with big black wings. Its unbelievable. She weaves bits of songs, just a word little light shining from the second half. Her voice is amazing, a primal force that she seems to channel, summon up from somewhere. Given the imagery hell it seems, its disturbing, its dark its unnerving to be in the presence of such talent. You feel if she so choose she could do a Carrie and kill us all. Not to overstate it but it was more like a revivalist prayer meeting, she was communing with us like a preacher would. Speaking in tongues, healing through her art. I feel reborn, renewed, refreshed. Then she sang a song alone at the piano from 50 words for snow, Amongst Angels, for which her voice came directly from heaven. Her final encore was Cloudbusting which everyone stood for and sang Ooh, I just know that something good is going to happen, And I dont know when, But just saying it could even make it happen they all sounded like they thought it was true. Now life for me is BB and AB, before Bush and After Bush.