Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Kate Bush
30/08/14
One of the best nights of my life..... from Tim Lloydsmith, 17/09/14
And I am 53, so I have chalked up a few in my time....cannot really add much to what everyone else has said about the show - all the reviews have it nailed.. As well as being an artist beyond compare - Kate is also a lovely person, she has shown many kindnesses to her fans in the past. The combination of her friendliness, incredible voice, powerful and moving work, brought to life by being staged so lovingly - made this an unforgettable experience! Oh and Eventims service was very good too. Big lasting smiles here :-):-)
Kate Bush
12/09/14
Brilliant from Gill, 17/09/14
Saw kate bush 12 September it was a wonderful night I will remember for ever, brilliant seats 3 rows from the front on the end where she passed by has part of the show just wonderful and very emotional.
Kate Bush
12/09/14
Kate Bush Eventim Apollo from Sunfire1977, 16/09/14
the show itself was unbelievable. from start to finish. it didnt bother me that there were no songs for the first 4 albums. and i understand why. if people are going to the shows expecting a greatest hits show. then theyll be disappointed. I for one wasnt. The down side of the whole evening was the apollo itself. the lack of venue staff was an eye opener, there was a big problem with the humidity.and directions to facilities were terrible. however this didnt detract from my enjoyment of the show itself
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Kate Bush Concert 13th September 20... from Gary Parker, 16/09/14
This has to be classed as one of the best experiences of my life ! such an amazing show for anyone who is lucky enough to go. I took my Wife and 16 Year old daughter(Her Birthday Present :)) an amazing, once in a lifetime event to see and hear Kate. the whole show, was superb, music, story and the band/crew were pure perfection ! adding the Apollo setting, making it a more personal experience for ALL that was there 10/10 !!!!!
Kate Bush
29/08/14
I Flew 5350 Miles to See Kate Bush ... from From San Francisco, USA, 16/09/14
I was fortunate enough to purchase one hospitality ticket on the Eventim UK Web site on March 28, less than 10 minutes before all the tickets had sold out. The hospitality ticket experience was both magical and memorable as I dined inside the Hammersmith St. Pauls church with fellow Kate Bush fans. The food was excellent and the venue was pure heaven. I also appreciated having the ability to purchase merchandise without wrestling through long lines. Fortunately, I was able to purchase limited items that sold out within the first week (I was lucky to attend the 3rd day of Kates residency). I also had the ability to enter the Apollo from a separate entrance so as to avoid the large crowds. The 3-hour performance itself was AMAZING...Without giving away any spoilers, I felt like I was watching a theatrical performance/rock concert/dance performance. When it comes to vision, creativity, and talent--Kate Bush is unsurpassed. The visual spectacle included great costumes, fabulous musical performances, and well-choreographed routines. The special effects were equally dazzling (sights, sounds and touch!). I just hope that this performance is released on CD/DVD so that those who were unable to attend can watch in the comfort of their homes. I live in San Francisco, USA--so I traveled more than 5000 miles to see Kate Bush in her first tour in 35 years. Not only was it well-worth the wait, but it was also worth every quid (414 quid to be exact)! I would do it again, if I only could...Mmmh yes!
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Incredible from TraceyR, 16/09/14
Fantastic mesmerising performance. Pitch perfect. The Ninth wave was exceptional, clever choreography perfectly executed.
Kate Bush
09/09/14
Masterpiece!!!!! from Fabrice Peyri, 16/09/14
Seing kate bush on stage was a dream becoming reality... everything about the show was perfect... From the setlist to her incredible and unique voice. The audience and the place were just amazing...
Kate Bush
09/09/14
fabulous kate! from vicky, 15/09/14
Amazing performance from kate bush- shes still got it! Amazing voice and great show. Loved the story lines and effects, staging very creative and accomplished band. All fantastic! Thank you kate
Kate Bush
12/09/14
Will remain with me for a long time... from Stu, 15/09/14
What can I say? Everything you could have hoped for and more! Forget the churning out of hits, this was a spectacle to behold. So atmospheric it will remain with me for a long time.
Kate Bush
09/09/14
Superlatives wont suffice from Capt Dada, 15/09/14
It was hard to believe the show could live up to the hype: surely she couldnt be as good as the excitable reviewers said? She could. Only better. The sound was amazing; the band so precise and lyrical. Her dancing may not have survived the 35 years since her last appearance, but her voice! It soared; it yearned; it ranged effortlessly across the dynamic range. Grown men wept. Pre-event focus had been on The Ninth Wave suite and it was sensational. But the Sky of Honey sequence from Arial was even better. The slow-motion film of birds in flight was mesmerising - all the dreamers were waking indeed. We may not see Kate perform again. Those who missed it will have to make do with the dvd due to be recorded. But for those who were there, the memory will never be erased. At the end of the concert someone yelled out Thank you, voicing the gratitude of all 3,000 of us.
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Wow, just wow. from Glenn, 15/09/14
Well first off it was like no other. One of the best experiences of my life. The atmosphere was amazing. A bare stage with all the instruments out bathed in blue light with dry ice, all this an hour before the show began. The anticipation and expectation were amazing. Ive read every review, they were all superlative. 5 star. What could possibly live up to this. Well it did, and surpassed my expectations in every way. She was barefoot the entire time, older, regal and stately. Totally in control of her gifts at all times, it felt like we were in the presence of a talent that comes from outside of this world. There was no one before her and there will be no one after her. She is in amazing voice, it soared in went low, there were none of the high notes you got on the early music but it was so powerful it hit you in the face and left people speechless. She sang a number of songs straightforwardly including Hounds of Love, Running Up That Hill, King of the Mountain. There were two drummers, the percussion was fabulous. Then we entered the Ninth Wave suite. This was full on production. There was a few acted bits about a boat singing and help being sought then Kate on the screen in water in a life jacket, then theres waves on the stage, shes carried out through the audience dead by fish skeletons the band now have fish heads. Shes a ghost. She disappears, reappears from no where. She ice skates on stage. Then finally chooses life. Its over. 20 minute interval. Final segment is b side of Ariel, A Sky of Honey. There are birds projected, her son Bertie is an artist the band have bird heads now, she turns into a Blackbird and flies over the stage with big black wings. Its unbelievable. She weaves bits of songs, just a word little light shining from the second half. Her voice is amazing, a primal force that she seems to channel, summon up from somewhere. Given the imagery hell it seems, its disturbing, its dark its unnerving to be in the presence of such talent. You feel if she so choose she could do a Carrie and kill us all. Not to overstate it but it was more like a revivalist prayer meeting, she was communing with us like a preacher would. Speaking in tongues, healing through her art. I feel reborn, renewed, refreshed. Then she sang a song alone at the piano from 50 words for snow, Amongst Angels, for which her voice came directly from heaven. Her final encore was Cloudbusting which everyone stood for and sang Ooh, I just know that something good is going to happen, And I dont know when, But just saying it could even make it happen they all sounded like they thought it was true. Now life for me is BB and AB, before Bush and After Bush.
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Absolutely Magic from Paul and Jools, 15/09/14
Well worth the 35 year wait to finally see the most enchanting musical artist ever! The stage performance of all of the supporting musicians and actors was superb. Theatrical performances and special effects helped to raise the awareness of each songs lyrics. Outstanding!!
Kate Bush
09/09/14
Unbelieveable from Alan Taberer, 15/09/14
Someone once said You had to be There This was not a concert it was an epiphany.The culmination of years resulting in a pilgrimage of the faithful. There were times when I could not believe that I, along with thousands of others, were breathing the same air, sharing the same sounds and viewing the entire spectacle. I have been fulfilled, a beautiful beautiful experience. I have listened faithfully for thirty five years to every album.Thank you so much Kate x
Kate Bush
09/09/14
Amazing time at the Kate Bush Show! from mllanos, 15/09/14
Not only was Kate amazing but the show was spectacular! She sounded spot on and was beautiful. The show was better than most Broadway musicals and the sound was perfect and clear. I had the Hospitality package and it was worth every cent. The setting was in the beautiful Gothic church and every detail was thought out. Everything from presentation to choice of foods was first class. It was also nice to have the merchandise for sale there with no crowds. I would go back in a second!
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Stunningly good from Ron Wiebolt, 15/09/14
Kate Bush her concert was stunning. Her voice, her performance and the programme. Also her crew, the musicians and her son added up to an amazing evening. I`m so happy I went to Londen to visit this event. She gave her fans so much. The theatre was an exellent place for this performance. I could easily follow what was going on on the stage and on the big screen. Nice that some of her stories where told in both music, images and performance. And for the first time, hopefully not for the last. High apreciation and kind regards to Kate and her K-fellowship, Ron Wiebolt from the Netherlands
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Astonishing performance from sweet.thing, 15/09/14
Left in complete awe of the entire performance, never seen the like before, and unlikely to see again. She has never failed to impress me from the very beginning of her recording career, and if anything have even more respect and admiration for her now than before. Her handpicked band was also perfect and equally stunning. As for the experience, left very flat after expecting afternoon picnic due to very vague instructions from eventim, only to find we had hotel only at extraordinarily inflated price. Given any option next time, which we were not given on this occasion, I would buy ticket only and find own accommodation, and picnic!
Kate Bush
10/09/14
Before The Dawn: Beyond Amazing from Mick B, 15/09/14
Thirty five years in the making, thirty five years waiting & worth every minute. It wasnt just a concert it was a show, a magnificent spectacle, containing several of her songs & two set pieces which included acting, dance mime & puppetry. Memories of that night will stay with me for a long time to come. I expected nothing less from the great Kate Bush.
Kate Bush
29/08/14
A Dream Come True! from august61, 15/09/14
I listened to Wuthering Heights back in 1978 in a disco in Munich (Germany) and since then I love Kate Bush and her wonderful music! Now after 35 years I was lucky enough to buy a ticket and listen to her live. It was a mind-blowing, unique event! What a fortune to take part in Before the Dawn. Kate Bush is a class of her own, unrivalled, sovereign - a real shaman. What she performed at the Hammersmith Apollo with her musicians, her lovely son and the other artists was a huge and wonderful mulit-media music-theatre event. Its a bliss to have the oppertunity to eye-witness it. Now I hope very much, that there will be a DVD.
Kate Bush
02/09/14
Bucket list completed from marian, 15/09/14
Best ever experience and she was on my bucket list for soooo long. trouble is I want to go again. Kates voice is stillbrilliant and as for her music so glad to see she is alive in the 2014 charts !!! The hospitality was not that great could hardly eat any and very little poussin the harissa spoiled it for me and the buying of merchandise far too slow . everything about the concert was brilliant but the processes around it as explained were very poor. I still cant believe the Eventim phoned me after the had taken my money some nearly 1000£ to change my dates from the opening night to 2nd which involved flight changes also never again !
Kate Bush
09/09/14
EXTRORDINARY KATE BUSH from Mario Stuppini, 15/09/14
THE BEST CONCERT OF MY LIFE. I WOULD GO AND SEE EVERYDAY! A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. THE DREAM OF A LIFETIME. THANK YOU EVENTIM!!