Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Kate Bush
09/09/14
Fantastic band too!! from Peter H, 02/10/14
I submitted a review yesterday which was highly focused on Kate herself. I realised afterwards that her incredible band were not given the credit they fully deserve. Well, I must confirm that every member of the band and other cast were AMAZING!!!! I suspect that they welcomed the opportunity to perform with Kate as much as we enjoyed the opportunity to see her!! Thanks again to Kate and everyone else involved with this fantastic production!!
Kate Bush
09/09/14
Still stunned after 3 weeks!! from Peter H, 01/10/14
I have loved Kate ever since she became well known, avidly buying everything she has produced as soon as it came out, enjoying every new experiment and venture into new territory and loving it all. In 1979, I was 18 and Yorkshire lads just did not travel down to London to see concerts, so I missed the first experience. Probably thought, I will go next time!! Well I am very glad to say that I did, I just did not know back then that I would be waiting 35 years. But boy, was it worth the wait. Kate was absolutely stunning. Her voice is still so powerful, nicely mellowed and, particularly impressive in a live performance, absolutely note perfect throughout. Kate, it is actually very simple, I still love you. In fact, I love you more than ever!! Think tonight is the last show - enjoy it if you are going - but I am sure you will. Kate, take a well earned break afterwards, and if you do ever choose to do live shows again, I will again be moving heaven and earth to make sure I am there. Thank you.
Brian Cox and Robin Ince
13/12/13
Always amazing from Ema, 01/10/14
Ive been going for the past few years and every time it inspires me, makes me laugh, has me thinking for ages after. In summary: amazing. Its enjoyable for people of all levels as well as long as they share a love of science!
Kate Bush
03/09/14
Running up that CHILL!!! from Stephen Strawberry Butterscotch, 30/09/14
After traveling over 4000 miles to see the unexpected show Before the Dawn I dont think I will every be able to top that experience! The show that Kate, her band, her backup singers, dancers, sound and lighting technicians delivered far and above any of my expectations! The set list? Unexpected. The amazing power of her voice? Exceptional. The fantastic venue and service of the staff? So professional and top notch! I could wax philosophical about the sets, the songs, the characters, but nothing I could write would do the show that I saw justice. GET THE DVD when it comes out! Thank you, Kate for making my dream come true!!!
Kate Bush
02/09/14
Two magical evenings: from Kev. from Kevin Hill, 29/09/14
I would like to agree with almost everybody else who has left a review here, namely, it was so worth the 35 year wait we all had. Firstly, I went to two shows (02/09 and 23/09), so I was luckier than most. Both were hospitality packages at £414. The event at St. Pauls church was brilliant both nights I went: the food was very good and the whole staff were very helpful, and thank you, Phoebe, for remembering my name after a 3 week gap, ha, ha. As for the concert, it was pure magic: 3 hours of proving what an absolute genius Kate is. Even the lack of tracks from the first 4 albums did not diminish the shows in any way. Someone else on these reviews said she `tore up the rule book for concerts: I agree entirely with that statement. I hope Bertie talks her into doing this again. Soon! Great band, great venue (though I also agree it was very hot in there) and 35 years of hurt finally came to an end. Thank you for the memorable concerts, Kate. xx. Most people have to be elderly to become a `National Treasure: you have proved it since Wuthering Heights first came out.
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Unique and unforgettable from Tina Dagostino, 29/09/14
The sheer beauty of it all took my breath away. The live versions of gems like Top of The City, The Morning Fog, Prologue and all the others masterpieces so, my god, so heartbreakingly beautiful... you could feel her heart in her voice. It was gig, film and theater all in one... mind blowing! I can only say Thank you, Kate, from the bottom of my heart.
Kate Bush
26/09/14
AMAZING. from Karis, 27/09/14
WOW. I really struggled to get Kate Bush tickets so when I managed to get two I was so over the moon. I got stalls tickets and I could see everything in such great detail. Kate is absolutely beautiful and mesmerising. This was not a concert, this was a work of art. A beautiful experience that moved me to tears of deep emotion and joy. I am in my twenties and was so pleased to see and meet other younger fans of Kate too and learn from the original fans from her earlier days which was an experience in itself. The performance was pure theatre and reflects Kates vision and theatrical style. I never thought I would ever get to see her live or in person, thought I was definitely born in the wrong generation. Her announcement of a tour was a shock and brought hope and joy to many Kate fans across the world. This was a once in a lifetime experience that I will forever be deeply grateful for. If I died tomorrow so be it, because I got to see Kate Bush live and fulfilled a life dream I never thought would happen. This Womans Work is the most amazing stuff youll ever experience musically. So very happy. Thank you Kate, we love you.
Kate Bush
13/09/14
More a theatrical performance than ... from Mike the Pedant in Warwickshire, 25/09/14
One lengthy set piece would be fine, and The Ninth Wave was magnificent; but two was a bit much, when it precluded playing anything at all from the first 4 albums. Anyone unfamiliar with Aerial would be baffled by the second half of the show. Quite self-indulgent to do the entire Sky Of Honey suite. The band were tight, but essentially reproduced the sound of the record, rather than reinventing it live. Good to see Kate Bush perform live though, a once in a lifetime chance I think.
Kate Bush
09/09/14
When dreams come true.... from Murphy, 25/09/14
Before The Dawn was unlike any other gig I have ever been to, in fact it cannot be called a gig or a show - it is an experience. Kate Bush was wonderful. From the moment she stepped on stage the outpouring of love and respect from the audience was tangible. Her voice is still impeccable, matured from the days of Wuthering Heights it carries such clarity and sensuality it gives goosebumps. The band and backing singers/performers were also immaculate. Not wanting to give away any spoilers, the staging and effects were breath-taking, surprising and at points eerie, it all flowed beautifully. The venue was perfect for the event. It manages to have a homely feel and all the staff were friendly and helpful. From every aspect it was a wonderful night definitely as magical as I hoped.
Kate Bush
19/09/14
Intimate venue. Fabulous gig. from Minty, 23/09/14
A fabulous performance by the KT Fellowship. The band were fabulous, Kates performance was intimate and magical. Her voice was powerful and left me speechless. Berties performance of Tawny Moon I loved and the band played it brilliantly. Kate has changed the face of music again with this innovative and imaginative production. Sing it on, bring it on. More more more!
Kate Bush
19/09/14
Lived Up To Expectations and Then S... from benbooafrica, 23/09/14
We lived overseas when Kate did her tour in 1979 and must admit as the years went by we had given up on ever seeing her live so it was with great excitement when she announced her dates at the Apollo but then despair as we failed to get any tickets when they went on sale in March. However the moral of the story is never give up as in the last two weeks we managed to get tickets from Eventim to see her on not one but two nights 10th & 19th. People raise their eyebrows when the hear we went to see her twice in close succession but without giving anything away to those who are still to see the performance (and I choose that word carefully) Before The Dawn is not just a concert it is an experience which you could watch any number of times and still see something different or new - that is the magic of Kate, no ordinary performer/song writer - an original one off backed by a great band of musicians and singers Thanks Kate for making the long wait so worth while but please dont make it another 35 years before we get to see you again!
Kate Bush
06/09/14
Kate Bush at the Apollo from Dave, 21/09/14
It was great seeing KB perform live after all these years. The first time Ive actually seen her live and in the flesh. Her voice was as good as ever. The sets were great with the video part being particularly well implemented here and the puppetry amusing. The Ninth Wave section of the show was the best part I think. There were only a couple of negatives. Firstly and Im not the only one who thought this from what I was hearing from others. It would of been nice if she had performed more of her better known songs from the back catalog. There were a few but not enough - Wuthering Heights wasnt performed at all for instance. I know she might be a bit fed up with it, as its from so long ago, but it did jump start her career back in the day and is still the song shes best known for. The other problem I had was with the sound quality at the event, it was just awful! Ive gone into more detail on that subject in my review of the Apollo itself below. But despite those two gripes I thoroughly enjoyed myself and it was worth every penny!!
Kate Bush
12/09/14
We were lucky to be there from Wilfried, 20/09/14
Hi we came from Paris last weekend to see the show and my only regret is that I could no go again! One week after I am still on my cloud :))) the show was totally unbelievable, Kate has still her amazing voice, it was amazing to hear all those songs on live... There is no adjective to qualify my feeling how it was so uncredible. I was a little bit frustrated because the public didńt move when Kate danced. I hope we have been able to communicate to Kate how we love her. She is unique...
Kate Bush
03/09/14
Amazing, fabulous, incredible, stun... from Lewis, 19/09/14
When Kate announced these shows, I had no idea what to expect. I neednt have worried. Before the Dawn was like an outer body experience. The minute Kate walked on stage she had the audience in the palm of her hand. She OWNED that stage and hearing gems such as Hounds of Love and Running Up That Hill live was simply incredible. The technical fault that lasted for half an hour didnt dampen my spirits either. The Ninth Wave segment was breathtaking, funny and emotional. Same with A Sky of Honey, two beautifully crafted pieces of art. The encore was emotional yet uplifting. Every single person in the Apollo sang along to Cloudbusting. Simply stunning and fantastic! The Apollo itself is a beautiful venue, and the atmosphere was ELECTRIC! Kudos to everyone involved in this once in a lifetime event.
Kate Bush
12/09/14
awesome from bunny, 19/09/14
an outstanding performance and show. Never seen anything like it in my life.So glad to have experienced it. Everything in the show went well, Kates voice was amazing and pitch perfect. The venue was great and staff helpful but it was very hot in there! Just wish I could go again.
Kate Bush
12/09/14
WOW! from Anne, 18/09/14
The staff at the hospitality event were very welcoming and helpful. The vegetarian hamper was delicious, especially the desserts! The church created a great and interesting atmosphere The show itself was fantastic and amazing, well worth the wait!
Kate Bush
13/09/14
Wonderful Return from Jeremiah, 18/09/14
Before the Dawn was an amazing performance by Kate Bush and her band. Im glad I had the chance to see this in such an intimate setting. I doubt Ill ever see such an interesting mix of music and theater again. Bravo to all the performers!
Kate Bush
12/09/14
AMAZING from Paulo Amorim, 18/09/14
Totally worths two trips from Brazil to England within a month. I had been to the opening night on Aug-16th and returned to 2 more shows, on sept-9th and sept-12th. The opening night was absolutely amazing and I thought Id would never feel such emotion again, but her performance has grown so much as the days go by that the last performance Ive seen impressed me lots more than the first one! Kate is more confident, more relaxed at stage - shes now showing all she is! Wish I could get more ticket to see it one more time, closer to the end of the show.
Kate Bush
09/09/14
and dream of sheep from twilde, 18/09/14
Saw Kate Bush on 09/09/2014,my birthday and maybe best night of my life.The 9th wave and A Sky of honey,brought to life,something all of us have been dreaming of.She could have just sat on stage doing very little and i would have been pleased.great version of King of the mountain,beautiful Among angels and final song cloud busting.There was lots of joy tears and love .Even better than seeing her in 1979.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
An unforgettable evening from Peter musty, 17/09/14
What a wonderful evening we had and it started with the hospitality. Neither of us knew what to expect so when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. We thought we were going to a church hall but instead we were shown to this beautiful church which was tastefully decorated. The hampers were lavish and very filling. All the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Thank you very much.