Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Pat Metheny Unity Group
11/06/14
Outstanding from Bakes, 18/06/14
A great concert, with Pat and his band playing with intensity, power, variation and togetherness. Having first seen him back in 1985 at the same venue it was a delight to see him and his band perform material from his whole back catalogue, for so long and with what appeared like a couple of extra encores to the planned ones. What a true giant and master of the guitar Pat Metheny is and his present band have such variety and skill to complement and extend him. Only negative, no Lyle Mays on piano.
Pat Metheny Unity Group
11/06/14
Metheny is a guitar genius. from Angie Lalanne, 18/06/14
I have loved Methenys music for 25 years and havent seen him since Juan-les-Pins in 1989. His music has always had a huge effect on me, and as I have got older, this effect has magnified; it takes me to places no other music can and has a huge nostalgic effect too. The Apollo was a lovely venue, quite intimate, good seating, not too loud, easy to get in and out, great transport and easy parking at Novotel. Watching and hearing him work his magic with that guitar was an experience I will never forget. His live music sounds as good as the recordings, better in fact. I am not a Jazz fan, but I love Metheny. Awesome.
Pat Metheny Unity Group
11/06/14
Excellent from Mike Harvey, 18/06/14
A wonderful experience which enabled me to understand and appreciate the quality of Pat Metheny and his band
Soul & Funk Spectacular
14/06/14
BEST NIGHT EVER!! from P Ince, 18/06/14
This was an awesome night, we had the best fun the joint was totally jumping. Brilliant fun. Please put on more.
Pat Metheny Unity Group
11/06/14
Fantastic from Pats#1, 18/06/14
Hes the man...awesome, nearly 3 hours, the band & Pat never flagged or repeated themselves. For me the highlight was the revisiting of the older tunes in this new lineup.
Julie Andrews
31/05/14
Wonderful Event! from John D Carrion, 04/06/14
We all really enjoyed this experience but were dismayed that the programmes were sold out 20 minutes before it started and that the paper to submit questions were gone before we had any chance to submit one. It seemed to be done on the cheap and for £80 per ticket, it was really not well received.
New Kids On The Block
28/05/14
Great night, fab venue! from Lucy, 03/06/14
This was my first time going to Hammersmith Apollo and I would book again as the venue was lovely! We could see the stage from where we were sitting. Loved the show bought back memories! Thanks for getting such a great boy/man band from the US to come to your venue!!!!
Elvis Presley On Stage
25/05/14
Brilliant event!!!! from Abbie, 02/06/14
It was absolutely amazing. I took my mum and auntie as they love Elvis. It was just so great. The band was excellent. Could not fault the event. When everyone got up to dance it made the experience more memorable. We loved every bit. Should do it again as others I know would love to have been there but it was only for two days. Should come back again!!!!! Also their should of been a few places to be able to buy merchandise from as it was hard to get too.
Julie Andrews
30/05/14
Shame about the military police! from Sas, 02/06/14
She was great, but a real atmosphere spoiler to have swarms of staff being so aggressive for the final number.
Julie Andrews
31/05/14
disappointing from mj, 02/06/14
Julie Andrews was amazing but the set and production was a let down. The audience was disconnected and not really a part of the event and hardly any questions were asked from the audience itself. An evening with implies interaction. At the end we waited outside the gates for a glimpse of Ms Andrews but were told after 2 hrs she had left via another exit. If we had known of this possibility we would have not waited so long.
Elvis Presley On Stage
25/05/14
EXCELLENT SHOW from APOLLO55, 02/06/14
A most enjoyable show, my partner & I enjoyed it immensely! It was very clever the way the show was presented, with a live band it did feel like one was actually seeing Elvis on stage. We would definitely see it again!
David Brent and the Foregone Conclusion
16/05/14
Is David Brent having a laugh? Wors... from Jonathan, 20/05/14
And to use Brent parlance, you can quote me on that one. I think Im the fool though. Its not as if we hadnt been warned- isnt that what a fool does? Carry on regardless?. Ricky Gervais has always subtlety told us that if we are stupid enough to pay for something thats obviously bad then more fool us. His comedic style is to hold mirrors up to society. Its just a shame it was to me this time and that I paid £30 for the privilege. £30 that I could and should have flushed down the lavatory. In The Office, Ricky was playing a character called David Brent- a delusional man who wrote bad songs. I can imagine Ricky saying who in their right mind would see that in much the same way that hes effectively mocking the kind of the people who went to see Brent play in seedy nightclubs in his TV Christmas special. That in fact is the ruse. We do pay to see David Brent singing bad songs- so hes not actually lying to us. Hes already told us Brent is rubbish and we still go. Where this falls down though is theres ultimately no humour in it. In the Office, the songs were built around great segments of comedy that provided the context to them. Here we just canter through dreadful songs. We are the crowd in that Christmas special TV nightclub. On television the songs work because you can see all the uncomfortable grimaces such as the ones that line Equality Street. But here, with audio thats far from crystal clear, these songs are pale imitations, blurry knock-offs. There is very little humour between the songs either, with Gervais electing to lazily dine of The Offices carcass rather than channel the essence of Brent into new material. As soon as he defaults to ...and I was trying to cheer Dawn up the other day.. you know he really hasnt given a moments thought to the bits between the songs. Its a bit like a young Del Boy in Rock and Chips (BBC 1) telling us something about Del Boy senior so that were absolutely certain hes a young Del Boy. Technically speaking, its called needless exposition. Were not stupid. Oh hang on, Ive established that we are havent I. Apologies Ricky. Usually you are somewhat melancholic when a gig ends after just sixty minutes- wishing to remain in that moment indefinitely. But this show was so devoid of mirth that I couldnt wait to leave and sit by the river to enjoy a drink in the evening sun. It was either that or throw myself into it. Theres a great moment in the 11 OClock Show (where Gervais cut his teeth), where hes on the street pretending to solicit answers for Family Fortunes. He asks the public what is the most difficult animal to beat to death. The joke is that the public are so stupid that that dont realise the joke. So they answer earnestly: A goat, one replies, Its got to be a horse volunteers another. Gervais has made a career of coercing the public into doing or saying just about anything.And you could see it at the Apollo. Scores of die hard fans cheering anything he said irrespective of what he said. Tonight he got me and made me listen to his awful songs of tripe. So a triumph- but only in that I was duped. Rumour has it that the shows are nothing more than a trojan horse for a TV show that shows Brent on tour. If that is the case the public really are fodder- nothing more, nothing less- and Brent a genius after all.
David Brent and the Foregone Conclusion
17/05/14
Amazing night! from Natalie, 19/05/14
Was a fantastic night, from the wonderful stand up from Kerry Godliman and Doc Brown to the amazing David Brent! I never realised Ricky Gervais had such an amazing voice!
Kenny G
22/04/14
GREAT EVENT AT THE EVENTIM APOLLO from EASY E, 28/04/14
HAD A GREAT TIME AT THE EVENTIM APOLLO SEEING KENNY G PERFORM. HE BLEW THE CROWD AWAY WITH HIS DAZZLING SAXOPHONE SKILLS HE IS SUCH A HUMBLE AND FRIENDLY GUY I EVEN HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO TAKE A PHOTO WITH HIM SOMETHING I WOULD CHERISH FOREVER HE IS JUST SO TALENTED AND AS A UPCOMING SAX PLAYER MYSELF HE IS THE REASON I BOUGHT MY SAXOPHONE AND IM DETERMINED TO START PRACTICING CONSTANTLY I WILL NEVER MISS ANOTHER PERFORMANCE IN THE UK AGAIN GRAT SHOW GREAT VENUE GREAT AUDIENCE GREAT ATMOSPHERE
Kenny G
22/04/14
Great Event from bm, 28/04/14
I enjoyed the concert and it was of top quality. However I have to share a bad experience with the security. Around intermission, I wanted to grab a sandwich because there was no snacks being sold inside the venue. The gentleman, appears to be the lead of the security, was quite rude explaining to me that I cannot re-enter if I go out. I can understand rules and its relevance but the manner in which it was explained to me is really appalling. The person became very excited walking around touching the signboard and showing me the CCTV and I was not sure why he acted in that way. I was treated very badly and really disappointed with the venue set up and management.
Kenny G
22/04/14
Very enjoyable from Zig Malendewicz, 28/04/14
It does irritate me when shows and concerts do not start at the advertised time. In this case the ticket time was 7.30pm. Kenny G started at 7.42pm - 12 minutes late. People have trains to catch and have homes to go to so both the theatre and the artist have a moral, if not legal, responsibility to ensure a punctual start. In spite of the late start, Kenny G did play for a full two hours in total which meant that we had a late finish. Kenny started his concert by playing in the stalls - not on the stage. I was in the circle and I could not see Kenny G for the first two numbers. It could have been a recording being played as far as the audience in the circle were concerned. We had paid to see the artist so why did he play to half the house. Kenny G should be addressed on this point. Nevertheless, I did enjoy the music.
Adam Ant
19/04/14
Very good concert from Martyna, 26/04/14
The concert was very good, nice crowd, beautiful venue. The only thing that I would comment, shame about the quality of sound... could be better! Base was taking over too much. I saw Adam Ant before, in Bristol and in Londons Roundhouse and the quality of sound in Roundhouse was poor. Eventim Apollo did better... but that is not saying much. Is it? Had a very good time though and will certainly comeback to this venue. As it is easily accessible by public transport.
Union J
23/12/13
OMG IT WAS PERFECT from George Shelleys wife, 26/04/14
I EVENTUALLY SAW MY BABIES IN CONCERT AND THEY ALL SAW MY BANNER AND WAVED AND DID HEARTS IT WAS THE BEST DAY OF MY LIFE AND THEY WERE FRICKING AMAZING
Adam Ant
19/04/14
Beyond Expectations! from tiny_lou1965, 25/04/14
After sadly worrying reports of a recent gig by Adam..i was beginning to wonder what to expect from this concert! apparently he wasnt on form and seemed somewhat off recently..WELL..LET ME TELL YOU... whoever wrote that review obviously had it in for Mr ant..He was pretty aggrieved about it..audibly so..but who could blame him! (Id rather be a rocknroll star than a f*****g critic) This is an honest review..by me.. a fan of 15 years! Adam was amazing. He was energised,full of enthusiasm, smiling, endearing, angry,emotional and most of all totally at ease with his performance! Dirk wears white sox is an album of controversial proportions.. Its political, its suggestive and its very Dark. Its also one of the best albums i own! Listening to the concert was better than id ever imagined.. At nearly 60 years young..Adam FILLED the stage with his showmanship and his luscious personality.. (yes some of the moves were a bit panto esque..but he was 100 entertaining!) I ~ as a middle aged woman would have loved to have been near the front..but sadly there were WAY too many rather large fellas there for me to contend with..and i was well aware of chances of the area becoming a mental Mosh Pit!!**which it did! Some fans were a tad peeved that songs like stand and deliver were played, and also 2 songs by T rex(as a tribute to marc bolan ~whom i was weaned on!!).for me..it didnt matter..he could have sung the phone book to me and it wouldnt really have mattered! But luckily~he didnt. I loved the whole gig! My only fault would be the person wearing the ostrich feathers stood in front of me!!! Oh and the sound seemed a bit loud at times..but hey..thats age for you!! Old and cantankerous! If you havent seen Adam Ant live..and you are a fan..DO IT! you wont regret it ...
Rodriguez
13/03/14
Very disappointing from Anita, 07/04/14
After being extremely excited to see Rodriguez, as I have always been a fan, I was disappointed to find that although his voice is still good for his age, his back up band did not seem to know his music or complement him at all. He only sang about 3 songs from his popular Cold Fact album and it was extremely difficult to see him from where I was positioned.