Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Elvis Presley On Stage
25/05/14
Brilliant event!!!! from Abbie, 02/06/14
It was absolutely amazing. I took my mum and auntie as they love Elvis. It was just so great. The band was excellent. Could not fault the event. When everyone got up to dance it made the experience more memorable. We loved every bit. Should do it again as others I know would love to have been there but it was only for two days. Should come back again!!!!! Also their should of been a few places to be able to buy merchandise from as it was hard to get too.
Julie Andrews
30/05/14
Shame about the military police! from Sas, 02/06/14
She was great, but a real atmosphere spoiler to have swarms of staff being so aggressive for the final number.
Julie Andrews
31/05/14
disappointing from mj, 02/06/14
Julie Andrews was amazing but the set and production was a let down. The audience was disconnected and not really a part of the event and hardly any questions were asked from the audience itself. An evening with implies interaction. At the end we waited outside the gates for a glimpse of Ms Andrews but were told after 2 hrs she had left via another exit. If we had known of this possibility we would have not waited so long.
Elvis Presley On Stage
25/05/14
EXCELLENT SHOW from APOLLO55, 02/06/14
A most enjoyable show, my partner & I enjoyed it immensely! It was very clever the way the show was presented, with a live band it did feel like one was actually seeing Elvis on stage. We would definitely see it again!
David Brent and the Foregone Conclusion
16/05/14
Is David Brent having a laugh? Wors... from Jonathan, 20/05/14
And to use Brent parlance, you can quote me on that one. I think Im the fool though. Its not as if we hadnt been warned- isnt that what a fool does? Carry on regardless?. Ricky Gervais has always subtlety told us that if we are stupid enough to pay for something thats obviously bad then more fool us. His comedic style is to hold mirrors up to society. Its just a shame it was to me this time and that I paid £30 for the privilege. £30 that I could and should have flushed down the lavatory. In The Office, Ricky was playing a character called David Brent- a delusional man who wrote bad songs. I can imagine Ricky saying who in their right mind would see that in much the same way that hes effectively mocking the kind of the people who went to see Brent play in seedy nightclubs in his TV Christmas special. That in fact is the ruse. We do pay to see David Brent singing bad songs- so hes not actually lying to us. Hes already told us Brent is rubbish and we still go. Where this falls down though is theres ultimately no humour in it. In the Office, the songs were built around great segments of comedy that provided the context to them. Here we just canter through dreadful songs. We are the crowd in that Christmas special TV nightclub. On television the songs work because you can see all the uncomfortable grimaces such as the ones that line Equality Street. But here, with audio thats far from crystal clear, these songs are pale imitations, blurry knock-offs. There is very little humour between the songs either, with Gervais electing to lazily dine of The Offices carcass rather than channel the essence of Brent into new material. As soon as he defaults to ...and I was trying to cheer Dawn up the other day.. you know he really hasnt given a moments thought to the bits between the songs. Its a bit like a young Del Boy in Rock and Chips (BBC 1) telling us something about Del Boy senior so that were absolutely certain hes a young Del Boy. Technically speaking, its called needless exposition. Were not stupid. Oh hang on, Ive established that we are havent I. Apologies Ricky. Usually you are somewhat melancholic when a gig ends after just sixty minutes- wishing to remain in that moment indefinitely. But this show was so devoid of mirth that I couldnt wait to leave and sit by the river to enjoy a drink in the evening sun. It was either that or throw myself into it. Theres a great moment in the 11 OClock Show (where Gervais cut his teeth), where hes on the street pretending to solicit answers for Family Fortunes. He asks the public what is the most difficult animal to beat to death. The joke is that the public are so stupid that that dont realise the joke. So they answer earnestly: A goat, one replies, Its got to be a horse volunteers another. Gervais has made a career of coercing the public into doing or saying just about anything.And you could see it at the Apollo. Scores of die hard fans cheering anything he said irrespective of what he said. Tonight he got me and made me listen to his awful songs of tripe. So a triumph- but only in that I was duped. Rumour has it that the shows are nothing more than a trojan horse for a TV show that shows Brent on tour. If that is the case the public really are fodder- nothing more, nothing less- and Brent a genius after all.
David Brent and the Foregone Conclusion
17/05/14
Amazing night! from Natalie, 19/05/14
Was a fantastic night, from the wonderful stand up from Kerry Godliman and Doc Brown to the amazing David Brent! I never realised Ricky Gervais had such an amazing voice!
Kenny G
22/04/14
GREAT EVENT AT THE EVENTIM APOLLO from EASY E, 28/04/14
HAD A GREAT TIME AT THE EVENTIM APOLLO SEEING KENNY G PERFORM. HE BLEW THE CROWD AWAY WITH HIS DAZZLING SAXOPHONE SKILLS HE IS SUCH A HUMBLE AND FRIENDLY GUY I EVEN HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO TAKE A PHOTO WITH HIM SOMETHING I WOULD CHERISH FOREVER HE IS JUST SO TALENTED AND AS A UPCOMING SAX PLAYER MYSELF HE IS THE REASON I BOUGHT MY SAXOPHONE AND IM DETERMINED TO START PRACTICING CONSTANTLY I WILL NEVER MISS ANOTHER PERFORMANCE IN THE UK AGAIN GRAT SHOW GREAT VENUE GREAT AUDIENCE GREAT ATMOSPHERE
Kenny G
22/04/14
Great Event from bm, 28/04/14
I enjoyed the concert and it was of top quality. However I have to share a bad experience with the security. Around intermission, I wanted to grab a sandwich because there was no snacks being sold inside the venue. The gentleman, appears to be the lead of the security, was quite rude explaining to me that I cannot re-enter if I go out. I can understand rules and its relevance but the manner in which it was explained to me is really appalling. The person became very excited walking around touching the signboard and showing me the CCTV and I was not sure why he acted in that way. I was treated very badly and really disappointed with the venue set up and management.
Kenny G
22/04/14
Very enjoyable from Zig Malendewicz, 28/04/14
It does irritate me when shows and concerts do not start at the advertised time. In this case the ticket time was 7.30pm. Kenny G started at 7.42pm - 12 minutes late. People have trains to catch and have homes to go to so both the theatre and the artist have a moral, if not legal, responsibility to ensure a punctual start. In spite of the late start, Kenny G did play for a full two hours in total which meant that we had a late finish. Kenny started his concert by playing in the stalls - not on the stage. I was in the circle and I could not see Kenny G for the first two numbers. It could have been a recording being played as far as the audience in the circle were concerned. We had paid to see the artist so why did he play to half the house. Kenny G should be addressed on this point. Nevertheless, I did enjoy the music.
Adam Ant
19/04/14
Very good concert from Martyna, 26/04/14
The concert was very good, nice crowd, beautiful venue. The only thing that I would comment, shame about the quality of sound... could be better! Base was taking over too much. I saw Adam Ant before, in Bristol and in Londons Roundhouse and the quality of sound in Roundhouse was poor. Eventim Apollo did better... but that is not saying much. Is it? Had a very good time though and will certainly comeback to this venue. As it is easily accessible by public transport.
Union J
23/12/13
OMG IT WAS PERFECT from George Shelleys wife, 26/04/14
I EVENTUALLY SAW MY BABIES IN CONCERT AND THEY ALL SAW MY BANNER AND WAVED AND DID HEARTS IT WAS THE BEST DAY OF MY LIFE AND THEY WERE FRICKING AMAZING
Adam Ant
19/04/14
Beyond Expectations! from tiny_lou1965, 25/04/14
After sadly worrying reports of a recent gig by Adam..i was beginning to wonder what to expect from this concert! apparently he wasnt on form and seemed somewhat off recently..WELL..LET ME TELL YOU... whoever wrote that review obviously had it in for Mr ant..He was pretty aggrieved about it..audibly so..but who could blame him! (Id rather be a rocknroll star than a f*****g critic) This is an honest review..by me.. a fan of 15 years! Adam was amazing. He was energised,full of enthusiasm, smiling, endearing, angry,emotional and most of all totally at ease with his performance! Dirk wears white sox is an album of controversial proportions.. Its political, its suggestive and its very Dark. Its also one of the best albums i own! Listening to the concert was better than id ever imagined.. At nearly 60 years young..Adam FILLED the stage with his showmanship and his luscious personality.. (yes some of the moves were a bit panto esque..but he was 100 entertaining!) I ~ as a middle aged woman would have loved to have been near the front..but sadly there were WAY too many rather large fellas there for me to contend with..and i was well aware of chances of the area becoming a mental Mosh Pit!!**which it did! Some fans were a tad peeved that songs like stand and deliver were played, and also 2 songs by T rex(as a tribute to marc bolan ~whom i was weaned on!!).for me..it didnt matter..he could have sung the phone book to me and it wouldnt really have mattered! But luckily~he didnt. I loved the whole gig! My only fault would be the person wearing the ostrich feathers stood in front of me!!! Oh and the sound seemed a bit loud at times..but hey..thats age for you!! Old and cantankerous! If you havent seen Adam Ant live..and you are a fan..DO IT! you wont regret it ...
Rodriguez
13/03/14
Very disappointing from Anita, 07/04/14
After being extremely excited to see Rodriguez, as I have always been a fan, I was disappointed to find that although his voice is still good for his age, his back up band did not seem to know his music or complement him at all. He only sang about 3 songs from his popular Cold Fact album and it was extremely difficult to see him from where I was positioned.
Status Quo - Frantic Four 2014
29/03/14
Fantatstic, great in 2013, loads be... from scatchy, 01/04/14
Excellent performance, much tighter, louder, better than the 2013 tour, but that was not bad at all. Spud was on great form, improved no end, and Rick seems to have drunk from the fountain of eternal youth, amazing. Couple of minor set changes, tacked gotta go home on to 4500 times, and Caroline instead of dont waste my time. Brilliant.
Status Quo - Frantic Four 2014
28/03/14
Brilliant concert from Smudger 62, 01/04/14
Status Quo really delivered here awesome sound/energy from the band to think those guys are in their sixties gives hope to us all, however the concert was spoiled by too many people standing and the heat got unbearable with people fainting which is not good maybe next time there should be a lower limit on the number of people standing.
Status Quo - Frantic Four 2014
29/03/14
Brilliant from Ag, 01/04/14
The Mighty Quo. Brilliant night. Can they still rock? Absolutely no doubt they can. Sounded as good as when I saw them 35 plus years ago.
Jason Derulo
24/03/14
Great show from Beverly, 01/04/14
The show was good the venue is the worst in history so upset had standing tickets when the show started everyone seated got up and we couldnt see a thing.that venue is meant for comedies not musical shows
TGT
27/03/14
Still worth the money from Eddie, 31/03/14
Great performance by TGT, enjoyed watching them sing both together and individually made it a great experience. Downside to this event was the fact that Rough copy where advertised and for whatever reason werent their, also had to wait an hour and a half to see TGT only to see under a 2 hour show but performance wise TGT blew the roof off
Status Quo - Frantic Four 2014
28/03/14
Great event from Swanstone, 31/03/14
Great !!! Great gig! Fantastic Frantic Four!!!! Everything was SUPERB!!!!!Everything was as in good old 70s!!!
Status Quo - Frantic Four 2014
28/03/14
The Best Status Quo gig ever! from Leo Sweden, 31/03/14
Like a Bulldozer the band filled the night with there Great BoogieRock, I really loved it! Hope they play together again soon, Viva SQ1