Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Kate Bush
09/09/14
I couldnt take my eyes off her from Deb Clark, 10/09/14
What can I say. I have hoped to see her perform ever since I was 15 (now 51) Last night was by a million, the best night of my life!!! She was brilliant, cheeky, sexy, so so beautiful and her voice sent shivers all through my body!! The Ninth Wave I have felt the emotion when listening, but now I have this wonderful, emotional, sad visual that I will see every time I listen. That was my number one bucket list, seeing Kate perform. I would have loved it even if she sat at the piano and sung, but the stunning stage affects and Kate bringing her amazing songs to life in front of my eyes was fantastic. Thank you Kate. X
Kate Bush
09/09/14
Dream come true! from TwinklyJules, 10/09/14
Last night I had the most amazing time finally seeing Kate sing live at Hammersmith. I was blown away ! her live vocals were completely spectacular, not a wobble or missed note! I also felt really privileged to see Bertie perform - what an amazing young talent !! I had been looking forward to this moment for so long ! I have been a lifelong fan of Kates since I was a teenager (Im now a 46 year old mum of two little boys) I have followed everything shes done and loved it all ! Its a cliche I know but I just feel like I know her after all this time she is the connection with my childhood/motherhood - all my experiences really are bound up with kate and her music at different stages. I took my sister for company last night - she loves kate too but perhaps not such a nerdy follower as I am! and yet as we left the Apollo she said - I just really felt like I wanted to give her a big hug - its like I know her! I think that sums it up - Kate does that to people. Thank you Kate - what an amazing gift to your fans!
Kate Bush
03/09/14
Almost a week ago and I havent calm... from StripyJules, 09/09/14
I have always been a fan of Kate Bush and counted myself very lucky to have obtained tickets for one of her shows. I was very excited in the run up to the date but there was always that little worry: was I expecting too much? Would she and her voice be up to it, with a distance of 35 years since her last concert performances? Then she came on stage, a tiny person, doing a sort of slow boogie-conga line with her backing singers to the strains of Lily. Then she sang... I neednt have worried! Her voice was clear, powerful, warm and still had an amazing range. At the start of the gig she stood front and centre with her band and singers to her right and sang our socks off, helped by a weapons-grade percussion section and the finest, tightest band I have heard for a very long time (if ever). The lighting was spectacular for this and every other part of the show. As King of the Mountain came to a stunning climax: silence. Dark. A bullroarer... The Ninth Wave began and was genuinely scary, moving, funny and exciting by turns. There was a technical hitch on the night I went but nobody seemed to mind, the crowd chatted amongst themselves and was immediately immersed in the show when it began again. Lots of stunned, happy and tearstained faces at the interval. Then we watched a sunny afternoon drift through twilight to dark, a spectacular moonrise, murmurations of starlings, startling, amazing euphoric performances from the whole cast. A tree crashes through the piano! Then suddenly, again, quiet: feathers, and gentle snow, fell outside in the woods as Kate sang solo at the piano. Then we were up on our feet for a rousing (and the most in-time, in- tune and loudest I have ever heard) crowd singalong during the finale. A truly wonderful show. Such a talented lady - she most definitely still has it by the tonne - with en exceptional band and supporting cast. She seems so unassuming with it, too. I loved it at the start when she said Please welcome our backing singers, especially the cute one on the end!, referring to her son Bertie, who has a major role (more than that, actually) and performed brilliantly. Oh, Kate: why did you wait so long? I very much hope these shows have been filmed as I feel there is an iconic DVD just waiting to happen!
Kate Bush
02/09/14
Breathtakingly sublime! from Jojo, 08/09/14
I always knew Kate would do some dates, I always knew I would get tickets & I always knew Kate would show the world just what a concert/show should be like & she did not disappoint! She chose or it chose the perfect venue to showcase this show. I was completely mesmerised, her voice is flawless & she looks flipping amazing!! The band were amazing & I cannot wait to see what the kt fellowship brings next! Kate - I just knew that something good was gonna happen! (Ps Im there closing night too!)
Kate Bush
02/09/14
Wow! from Martin Campbell, 08/09/14
Kate Bush was wonderful. After 35 years away from the stage she reclaimed it and ruled supreme. The show was diverse, exciting, stimulating, moving and fun. The Eventim Apollo was a great stage for her to create such a complex show and the new interior areas were lovely.
Kate Bush
02/09/14
WOW... from IAN, 08/09/14
There are pop stars. There are legends. There are icons. There are geniuses. There is David Bowie. And there is Kate Bush.
Kate Bush
02/09/14
Gobsmacked doesnt even come close from Bucks Hound, 08/09/14
Last Tuesday I spent an evening with Kate Bush, something I thought would never happen as I missed the initial ticket issue. After learning online that places were still becoming available, I logged into the Eventim site and spent an hour watching tickets slip through my fingers until finally one stuck. I punched the air as my payment was confirmed. I had never been to the Apollo before, but as the front of the theatre is visible from the tube station, finding the way there was never going to be a problem. I arrived just as the doors opened, the queue rapidly diminishing. Collecting my ticket by showing my passport and ticket order confirmation, was easy. Getting to the merchandise sites was a bit of a scrum but nevertheless civilised. The goods were displayed well, but the unboxed clothing stock was in some disarray. The merch staff did a great job getting the goods out. I had a great view, even way back in row X but had forgotten to bring a small pair of binoculars. The only unfortunate thing was that the guy three rows in front was about 6ft 8in tall. I had to spend a lot of the evening weaving about to get a view. I know Kates work and I knew this was never going to be a stand at the mic event. The evening was made all the more enjoyable by 99.9 of people heeding the request for no cameras. Indeed the request was applauded. Kates entrance with her backing vocalists was greeting with a cheer akin to a vulcan bomber takeoff, and had barely subsided as Kate launched into Lily. The whole place erupted upon hearing her distinctive voice. Kate was back, live, and taking no prisoners. This reaction greeted and ended every offering. The sound was excellent and not overloud, some of the vocalisation seeming to be clearer than on CD, an amazing testimony to the quality of Kates voice. The highlight for me remains the Ninth Wave from Hounds of Love. The on stage action and Kates shipwrecked image, mesmerised, and brought new meaning to well known songs. The crowd was in such a good emotional place at the interval, that I thought the stage cleaner was going to get a round of applause too. The whole of the second act was Sky of Honey, from Aerial. The addition of Tawny Moon by Kates son Bertie McIntosh was a big surprise. It was a very confident performance for someone his age, in that situation. The subject wasnt out of place, but the style was a bit incongruous with the rest of Sky. Nevertheless I want to hear that again too. I havent even mentioned the helicopter, the fish people, and the end of Sunset with what seemed like the worlds best Mariachi band ever. Cracking choice of band, Kate. The finale/encore. I feared for the structural integrity of the building during Cloudbusting. What a choice to finish on!
Kate Bush
02/09/14
AWESOME!!!!!!! from Gary, 08/09/14
After finally getting my hands on a pair of these gold dust tickets my wife and I were blown away with the whole show!!, Kate did not disappoint at any stage and it was a delight to see her back live( I saw her back in 1979 at the Royal Palladium in London ) this is not a concert this is a well produced theatrical masterpiece and not to be missed if your lucky enough to have a ticket you will be a very lucky person and after nearly 3 hours of enjoyment you will walk away with a huge smile on your face after seeing a true artist perform
Kate Bush
06/09/14
Kate Bush from Liver, 08/09/14
The lights dimmed Kate Bush led the line and strode deliberately and purposely across the stage, ethereal and gothic in long flowing black gowns, barefoot she stepped, her long dark hair falling to her waist in waves. to a man and woman they stood and acclaimed her, all applauded , and each and every one either screamed , trembled or shed tears at the appearance of a long lost goddess. Never in all my concert years have I witnessed such an emotional welcome. And did she disappoint ? Of course not , she hit every note with a voice that has mellowed and improved with the years, The set was surreal and very very theatrical , a la Lindsay Kemp/Ziggy Stardust, but so ,so Kate Bush.I looked around and during every song faces were contorted with emotion hands wrenched as each note sought out their innermost feelings There was a collective sensation that this was an extraordinary once in a lifetime experience , like witnessing some celestial happening that will only occur once every thousand years.it was utterly mystifying and absorbing , I paid £414 for a hospitality ticket which included an incredible pre concert meal in a Gothic Church, that may sound pricey but believe me never have i been so UNDERCHARGED. life is not about £sd life is about special moments and special memories and this one will burn brightly until I shuffle off this mortal coil.
Kate Bush
03/09/14
Out of this world!!! from Ryan Gooch, 08/09/14
This was the best show I have ever seen . Ive been to quite a few concerts in my time and this one was the icing on the cake . Ive been a Kate Bush fan since I was about twelve and Im now 41 and it was worth the wait to see her live . The show was moving , technically spectacular, intimate and the sound exceeded my expectations . We were sat very near the back but it still afforded a good view of kate on stage. The memorable moments were of course seeing her come on stage and I found the video footage of her stranded at sea in a life jacket very moving . The simulated helicopter was also a high point for me. Her penultimate song among angels also moved me as her voice was as beautiful or even more so than listening to her cds . Anybody who is going to see this lady in the near future are in for a very big treat . There was also a new song sung by her son which I enjoyed immensely and she also sang with him on somewhere in between . Excellent !!!!
Kate Bush
03/09/14
Oh, what a night from Ray Bailey, 08/09/14
I couldnt believe our luck, being able to get tickets on the day via the website. Both my wife & I had tried so hard on the original day & then throughout the last few weeks when the odd few had become available, thank you Eventim for putting them back up just before that performance. Having seen the 1st act which was outstanding, we were left speechless when the lights come on and they announced a technical problem was delaying the restart, we both thought at that moment, it just wasnt meant to be happening for us, especially when 30mins had passed!! We were so relieved once the show restarted and thank you Eventim for not being hardnosed about it and allowing the show to run its full schedule, Ive never left Hammersmith so late! As to the show, well as so many have already reported, it was spellbinding, I have never been so moved at a concert as I was during Kates Ninth Wave set, honestly, it reduced me to tears.........as a 55 year old guy, thats hard to admit! The whole evening just goes too fast, so I truly hope she produces a DVD & CD so that we can relive it! I was lucky enough to have seen her back in 79 at this venue and she is still the most outstanding live performer Britain has ever produced in my opinion. As to the old Odeon, it was like going home to see an old friend, except better as its been refurbished and more bars added so it didnt take too long to get a drink. There were plenty of people around to help if you needed it so all round at total 5 star night......thank you!!
Kate Bush
06/09/14
wonderful from Henny, 08/09/14
This is the best concert I have ever seen! I knew before I went that she would be good, but this good. I was overwhelmed by her voice, still so strong.
Kate Bush
02/09/14
35 years waiting was more than wort... from Jens-A Sorensen, 08/09/14
We were 3 Danish fans from Copenhagen who got 3 vip fan tickets March 26 for the Sep 2 show of Kate Bush. Our expectations for Kate Bush were like 3 11 year olds before Christmas Eve, and we we in awe of the visual show, the sound was impeccable and KTs voice was bigger, more powerful and more serene than ever heard on her studioalbuma. She loved the response from the audience. And gave us a toching experience that we will never forget
Kate Bush
02/09/14
Simply Wonderful! from Mikael Sjödin, 08/09/14
Best I have ever seen. Beautiful stage and performance. Intimate atmosphere and good sound quality. A great privilegue to have been one of the few to see this unique comeback by the greatest female artist in the history of pop and rock.
Kate Bush
05/09/14
Fantastiskt! Oförglömligt! from Peter, 08/09/14
Jag har väntat på att se Kate Bush hela mitt liv! Att få se henne live var helt fantastiskt. Trodde nästan hon var en sagofigur... Att hon spelade på Eventim Apollo var helt perfekt. Vilken arena! Tack för att ni skapade det här tillsammans!!!!
Kate Bush
03/09/14
Great! from Bushfan, 08/09/14
I managed to get a return ticket for last week (at face value) on the afternoon of the show so I was extremely delighted. I was very excited in anticipation of what was come. Even though I was there on my own I did feel as if the audience were as one so I did not feel lonely. I am the same age as Kate and have been a big fan since Wuthering Heights. During the show it was a great plus that no one was using any devises to record/take pictures so waving arms holding i phones aloft was not an issue! The gig started and we were off. It was all beautiful and by the time the first section was over and we had the screen showing the clip of a man notifying the coastguard that a boat had gone down at sea I was by now mesmerized and I felt really in the zone . Unfortunately everything suddenly stopped and the lights came up with an announcement that there were technical issues and hopefully they would be sorted soon. After about half an hour we got an announcement to say the show was going to restart. Hooray!! I couldnt believe it when the 2 seats right next to me (middle of the stalls) remained empty! I guess they just left - why?? The Ninth Wave was fabulous and my favourite part of the show. I do wish there had been no break before that section but it was one of those things that happen when its live. After the interval we had the third act. I enjoyed the staging, mood and musicianship but some of the time I couldnt follow the story. However, I was still enthralled by the performances. About half way through the third act the man next to me started looking at his phone (and after having talked with him during the interval I think he was hoping for more of the hits so I think he was a bit bored - sadly). During the encore he took a couple of pics - annoying!. All in all, it was 3 hours of brilliant performances and Kates voice is incredible live. Even better live than on recordings. She definitely has the voice and the presence of a great artist and icon. Thanks Kate, it was worth it!! xx
Kate Bush
02/09/14
Fabulous! from Terry Best, 08/09/14
We made the long journey from Canada to see Kate perform, and the show was even better than we could have hoped. I have been a huge fan since I was a teenager so the expectation level for me was very high indeed. The show was very theatrical using her music primarily from Hounds Of Love and Arial. The music, stage and performers all blended perfectly as the story moved from song to song. I only wish I had was that the encore has lasted longer. I would have liked to hear a couple songs from The Dreaming and Never Forever. But if I had it my way, the show would never have ended. Please Kate dont let this be the last time we get to see you and. Please dont leave me Suspended In Gaffa.:)
Kate Bush
05/09/14
Best Gig of my life. from Massimo, 08/09/14
I was really excited and happy to attend the concert of her that I consider an absolute genius in the panorama of contemporary pop music, but I was not totally prepared for what I witnessed last Friday and not just because I appreciate the enormous talent of this artist out of the ordinary. I was completely blown away by the size of the show is absolutely perfect in every prospectus, musical, stage, theater, etc. It would be too complicated to describe all the nuances of emotions that the three-hour show sent to me, I can only say that her voice remains the most interesting of all, and that the second part in particular The Ninth Wave is even more the figure of a true masterpiece of the whole Rock music of the last fifty years. Welcome back Kate.
Kate Bush
05/09/14
Awsome ! from Robert Knight, 08/09/14
Theatre, Dance ,Film, Art and of course the songs and music. What can i say, Other than Kate you have just set a whole new bench mark for others to reach. It was just so full of wonderful imagination.
Kate Bush
02/09/14
Not just a concert, but an experien... from Wim Clynhens, 08/09/14
Upon entering the Eventim Apollo - my first time there - I was struck at how intimate it is. Even sitting at the back row in the stalls, the stage felt very close by and we had a great view over the entire stage. I still couldnt believe that within a few minutes, Kate Bush would be standing on that stage. Anyone disappointed that Kate didnt put on a Greatest Hits-jukeboxshow probably had no idea what kind of artist she is. If that would have been what she did after 35 years away from the stage, now thàt would have been a disappointment. Instead: we were transported into her unique world with a show that was just as much theatre as it was concert. After a conventional opening where Kate performed five songs in front of her terrific live-band (Running Up That Hill beging a first highlight) the stage literally was taken by a storm and the audience swept into The Ninth Wave, the song cycle that makes up the second half of the Hounds of Love-album. With film, projections, lights, a helicopter searchlight sweeping over the audience and Fish People at one point carrying Kate off the stage, we were witness to the dreams and nightmares of a woman drowning in the ocean. After a 20 minute break, A Sky of Honey of her 2005 album Aerial made up the second half of the show. This cycle of songs tells about a beautiful day, the changing of light and color, the songs of birds, a painter - played by her son Albert - trying to capture it in his art. Again, the beautiful sets and lighting enhanced the great music and it all ended with a climax that had the audience gasping. then Kate returned to the stage alone, sitting at the piano for an emotional Among Angels, followed by a roaring Cloudbusting that had the audience go wild. And then it was over, three hours after at all began. I could go on but will leave it at this: This was a show and a night to remember. Forever.