Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Hans Zimmer Revealed !!! Excellent ... from Boltshead, 13/10/14
Fantastic concert, something for everyone from earlier film score to the more darker later ones. There was no room left on the stage and the slow reveal as to what was actually on the stage was brilliant. The lack of room probably explains the one small gripe I have. Why o why did Mr Zimmer not make use of the Compton Theatre Organ that has resided at the Apollo since it first opened, 12,000 pipes and other associated percussion / toys would have added to the choral pieces.
Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Amazing! from Federico, 13/10/14
I cannot put down into words the riveting experience that Hans Zimmer in concert was for me. It brought tears to my eyes as I heard him and his band and orchestra perfoming the tunes and music of some of my favorite movies. To see him on the stage, perfoming live for an audience in a great threatre is something I cannot put a price to. It was one of the greatest moments in my life and hope to see him again.
Hans Zimmer
11/10/14
Spectacular, epic.... staggeringly ... from JLN, 13/10/14
Exceptionally brilliant, and most probably the best concert I have ever been to. The man is a genius and he brings life to whatever he plays...
Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Mostly Excellent from TimeX, 13/10/14
A fantastic evening, apart from the final third of the concert; at this point, Hans and his Friends abandoned the music in favour of 20-30 minutes of perpetual, tuneless noise - mostly drumming - which had little to be said for it other than that it was loud. (About as enjoyable as being sealed in a metal barrel and having someone with a pneumatic drill hammering away on the outsides until your ear-drums burst.) Great music, great evening. Shame that I left with the memory of the rather pointless finale still ringing in my ears.
Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Absolutely amazing Hans Zimmer from Antti Voutilainen, 13/10/14
The show was absolutelu amazing. Im from Finland and Hans Zimmer was the main reason for my journey. I love his music but the show was simply phenomenal. I was hoping that they dont stop playing, it was just so amazing. Mother of all concerts!
Hans Zimmer
11/10/14
Hans Zimmer: Revealed from J. Walsh, 13/10/14
An incredible experience from beginning to end. Hans Zimmer is a composer that has, seemingly, transcended the traditional concept of the composer - at the forefront of an evening dedicated to exploring some of his finest musical scores, Zimmer himself comes across as a music fan and a film fan rather than the force of nature that his music suggests. Warm-hearted and delivering the introduction to his various works with poise and a genuine connection with his audience, the man himself ties the entire event together in a way that I did not expect. The music itself was priceless, essentially note perfect to the original scores, the evening opened with Driving Miss Daisy and drifted seamlessly into rousing performances of Crimson Tide, Gladiator, Angels & Demons and The Lion King to name but a few before an intermission that came all too soon. The second half of the evening kicked into higher gear, with Man of Steel a particular favourite and delivered with effortless gravitas before a surprise guest arrived... Pharrell Williams! Joining Zimmer on stage to sing Happy before discussing their collaboration on The Amazing Spider-Man 2 score and then giving a tremendously complex rendering of Electro from that same score. Before I knew it, we were into The Batman Suite, the evenings finale, delivering a seamless production of scores from Batman Begins, The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Returns before closing the show in fine style. Only after a few minutes of insatiable applause did the first pulse pounding drone from Inception cascade around The Appollo and send the crowd into fits for the superbly well-chosen Encore performance. The three key pieces from Zimmers irrepressible score were presented, including a remarkable Mombasa before ending on Zimmer, alone in the centre of the stage, tentatively playing those haunting last piano notes as Cobb embraces (what he hopes) are his children at last... An evening not easily forgotten and driven by incredible performances from the entire orchestra, all given their due credit and respect throughout, it was an honour and privilege to witness one of the finest composers of the modern cinematic era. Versatile, intuitive and full of emotion, Zimmers work has had an impact on me from the first time I saw Crimson Tide and to see his work, performed live is, to a film-fan, a seriously large tick off of the bucket list. If he should ever take to the stage in this fashion again (this being the first time ever) then I recommend that you take the time to sit and appreciate the master at work - amazing.
Hans Zimmer
11/10/14
Best live music Ive ever seen from Mac, 13/10/14
Incredible night....exceeded all expectations. From the revealing opening to the encore which got a standing ovation. If was truly special to see Hans Zimmer perform with musicians at the top of their games. I cant see how it can be topped!
Hans Zimmer
11/10/14
Best most unique concert Ive ever s... from Ashleigh Payne, 13/10/14
I was impressed by everything! The performance was astounding - the musicians were genius, loved the surprise cameo by Pharrell, the sound was perfect. Love love love loved it!
Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Hans Zimmer from Lincs Aerobatics Team, 13/10/14
A Genius of the film score world. Superb. A day in the life of Hans Zimmer:- Rise in the morning- write an epic film score- lunch- write an epic film score-dinner-write an epic film score.etc etc
Hans Zimmer
11/10/14
Extraordinary concert from Marina, 13/10/14
Hans Zimmers capacity to bring forth a powerful music from a studio recording to the stage has been magnified by the live performance. His kind and erudite presence in between the pieces glues the music with the personal touch of the composer making it more meaningful to the listener. The light show was superbly merged with the music performance giving it a sense of synesthesia.
Hans Zimmer
11/10/14
Stunning from Big Al, 13/10/14
This wasnt just a recital of Hans Zimmer favourites, it was an engaging, amazing show presented by Hans himself along with a great set of musicians. It was a visual and auditory feast, with Hans playing along on piano, guitar and even the banjo, and musicians who know how to perform, not just play. I still get goosebumps thinking back to it. Im honoured to have been there to experience it, and I hope Hans takes this on tour so more people can enjoy it.
Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Incredible from Mayuren, 13/10/14
Hans Zimmer is my favourite artist. I was speechless was I first found out he would be doing a concert. I immediately bought tickets and then eagerly waited three months. The concert came and it was the greatest thing I have ever witnessed. Its one thing to listen to hans zimmer, but its another to experience it. I am honoured to have witnessed him perform some of my favourite songs live. It was the best concert I have ever been to in my entire life.
Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Unbelievable great event... Hans ro... from Chris, 13/10/14
Hans Zimmer came with a bunch of friends who would be all worth watching in a concert alone. He was surrounded by Johnny Marr, Nick Glennie-Smith, Richard Harvey, Andrew Kawczynski, Steve Mazzaro, Mike Einziger, Satnam Ramgotra, Frank Ricotti, Guthrie Govan, Ann Marie Simpson, Czarina Russell, Aleksey Igudesman, Tristan Schulze, Mary Scully, Yolanda Charles... and an orchestra and a chorus. Great performance, all the favourite scores, nice stories by the very smart, charismatic and extremly skilled Hans Zimmer! The concert was worth every pound and we all were so happy to be there
Hans Zimmer
11/10/14
Best show Ive been to from Riley, 13/10/14
This was by far the best show Ive ever been to. The audio was great, visuals was great and was such a good vibe. Hans Zimmers and all of the other musicians performed this so incredibly good! It was beyond any expectation I had. The start with 4 curtains opening up the stage more and more as the first tunes progress. Just incredible. It was really a 2 and a half roller coaster of emotions. The only complaint I have is: If the show is 45 minutes in, its really annoying when people enter trying to find their seats. It threw me off and it happened several times.
Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Powerful music, but very little els... from Kamal, 13/10/14
Although this event was booked with the intention of celebrating a man with an outstanding body of work, I was left slightly underwhelmed. Of course the music that Hans Zimmer has produced, and performed along with his orchestra and choir was at times breathtaking, I had hoped for slightly more of a polished presentation. There was NO visuals to accompany the performances, and with standing tickets having been sold, the constant movement of people left us feeling short changed for the £150 that we had spent. Rather than this being a special event to experiences the works of a man who has enjoyed a special career, instead it felt like a hollow and devalued night where in honesty anyone could have been on stage throwing one piece of music at the audience after the other. All in this will be the last time I go to an event such as this, especially if standing tickets have been sold
Hans Zimmer
11/10/14
Mind Blowing! from Affy, 13/10/14
I have been to many concerts at the Eventim Apollo now. Ive seen Sting, Kate Bush and Now Hans Zimmer!. Hans absolutely blew us away with his music and the amazing musicians he brought with him. I particularly enjoyed hearing Thin Red Line. Everything was perfect down to the last detail. The sound crew did an amazing job everything had clarity. The lighting crew made the performance thrilling by syncing up important sections and stabs in the songs with an amazing lighting performance. We bought tickets quite far back from the stage and we could still see the stage perfectly and like I said the sound was incredible. Well done Eventim Apollo and well done Mr Zimmer for an amazing performance and thanks for sharing your music with the world.! BRING ON MORE MUSIC EVENTIM!
Hans Zimmer
10/10/14
Fantastic! from Eskay, 11/10/14
Great great show by one of musics greatest! Each track was so very well done but special call out to Inception (time) and pirates of the carribean! also the performance of alexei was amazing! the entire team was simply fabulous! absolutely electrifying! Best money Ive spent this year!
Kate Bush
30/09/14
event of a lifetime from gringo, 09/10/14
The best show I have ever seen...however..as a hospitality ticket holder I was disappointed that althought the posh picnic. Was superb..the sales for the very expencive tickets did state your very own hamper..but in reality..it was only its cobtents...many fans wanted to take the hamper as a keep sake and to store there show souvenirs in..however..this was not the case and was told we could not take.the hamper with us..for well over £400 a ticket I expected more
Jon Richardson
03/10/14
Hilarious show! from Dave, 08/10/14
This was our first time seeing Jon Richardson live, and it far exceeded expectation. Right from the start he was quick witted, and throughout the show he would wander off on a tangent and ad lib to great effect before returning to his set list - including some that wouldnt make the recording for his DVD recording the following night.
Jon Richardson
03/10/14
Nidiot from Kwai, 07/10/14
Was worried about being late but found the place easily. The doors opened on time and had no problem getting through the doors, ordering drinks at the bar and going through to take our seats. Well organised, well mannered staff and no problems. The gig by Jon Richardson itself was amazing. Hilarious and well worth the money and a couple of hours. I highly recommend this venue and this comedian. It was a great evening.