Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.1 (221 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Elisa, 12/08/14
Derren Brown (12/08/14) - Best event !
Next year Im gonna come back for sure ! It was great ! Derren did some incredible things like always
Hendrik, 08/08/14
The venue is easy to reach either by private or public transport. Good selection of restaurants in the area.
London Goes SA (08/08/14) - Great event
Lots of fun, unique show with good selection of SA Afrikaans performers and programme length ok. Ticket prices a bit steep, which probably meant half full venue. But, I was a happy customer and thoroughly enjoyed a bit of SA music. Claire Johnston bringing some 80s Mango Groove was fabulous and a very welcome late surprise addition. Oh, and boerewors rolls would have been nice ;-).
Svenja, 05/08/14
Derren Brown (05/08/14) - Unbelieveable amazing!
I was in the show INFAMOUS from Derren Brown. From the beginning until the end it was just amazing. Derren is the most astounishing person i have ever seen. The show was about 2 hours and a 20 minutes break. Derren shows his skills and works a lot with the audience. I couldnt stop thinking: what was that?! and how did he do that?! I came extra from germany to see his show and i dont regret it. This man is a genious and it was a very great evening and an amazing show.
Hannelie Bauer, 05/08/14
There was no sign by the ladies toilets to say watch the step. Health and safety risk as you come in and suddenly there is a step. When entering the security told us to throw our water away. When asked why they said it was a projector and we said we would remove the caps as we wanted to finish our water. That is what other venues like Wembley Arena asked us to do. Yet when we got inside they were selling water at £2.50 per bottle. Why should we waste like this so they can make money.
London Goes SA (05/08/14) - Fantastic Performance by the artists
Big thank you to all the South African artists that came all this way to entertain us. Great show and atmosphere. Hope they have it again next year.
Alida, 04/08/14
London Goes SA (04/08/14) - great event! BUT BUT BUT
.... TOTALLY OVERPRICED - WE PAID £70 PLUS BOOKING FEE PER PERSON, OUR SEATS WERE UPSTAIRS, PEOPLE TOTALLY RUDE TO GET UP AND WALK AROUND DURING THE SHOW - ALL THE TIME!!! AND THEN THE LIGHTS - DONT THINK THEY WERE TESTED BEFORE EVENT - IT TOTALLY BLINDED US FOR SECONDS AT A TIME AND THEN YOU COULDNT SEE THE ARTISTS OR THE BAND. REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN THAT. THE ARTISTS WERE VERY GOOD, THANK GOODNESS FOR THAT!
Rob, 04/08/14
London Goes SA (04/08/14) - Bit disappointed
No one had informed us that they were starting at least 30 minutes early, tickets said doors open at 7, show starts at 8, we got there at 7:30 only to here they already started. The door staff were not helpful with directions to find our seats, and one could not see from the disabled area down stairs, Im glad we booked upstairs seats & I took my crutches instead of the wheelchair.The bar was also closed right after the show. I expected more for that price!
Wilma, 04/08/14
London Goes SA (04/08/14) - Brilliant!
Lekker!!!! It was a night out to remember and we hope there will be more SA performers hosted. It would have been nice to get alerts of any meets that the performers arranged where fans could meet them.
Kate, 04/08/14
The Eventim Apollo is the first theatre Ive visited since moving to London and it was wonderful. Despite the fact that the event was a sell out and I bought my tickets last minute (so didnt have a prime position) I had no problem getting involved in the show and could see perfectly.
Derren Brown (04/08/14) - Everything Id Ever Imagined
If you ask anyone who claims to know me well, theyll be able to tell you that I have been completely obsessed with Derren Brown since my last visit to England in 2010. I have seen every television presentation he has done, watched every recording of his lives shows, read his books, and am gradually working my way through his personal recommended reading list. After four years of wishing, I finally saw him live and it was everything Id ever imagined it to be. I cant talk about the show itself (typical DB rules I think) but I loved every minute of it. Yes, Im a massive Derren fangirl and a total geek for what he does, but it lived up to all of my expectations and left me wanting so much more - I think its safe to say youll be seeing my face around at his new show next year.
John Lester, 04/08/14
London Goes SA (04/08/14) - Brilliant show
An incredible show, top artists, great production and loads of fun. A nice blend of new songs and old favourites, difficult not to feel a little homesick. Worth every penny and cant wait to see London Goes SA again.
Rich, 30/07/14
Only downside was as it was a hot day it was sweltering in the theatre! You need better air conditioning!
Derren Brown (30/07/14) - Unbelievable!
Derren has done it again! We went to see him on 26th July 2014 and as a group of 22 of us. The show was fantastic! A must see!
MG, 30/07/14
From where we were sat (Circle) the rear right quarter of the stage was obscured, so we could not see all the projection on the back of the stage.
Derren Brown (30/07/14) - Good show - terrible event
We had been looking forward to Derren Browns Infamous show for months, having booked long in advance. The performance itself was fantastic, but unfortunately the event was all but unbearable due to the heat inside the Apollo. No notable mention was made in advance, or even during, that there was no air conditioning, or even fans, or even that cold water would be made readily available during the performance. Had it not been for the fact that it was the tours penultimate show, with no possibility of seeing it on a different night under better conditions, we would have complained and left.
long time fan, 29/07/14
The venue is a refurbished Art Deco style There are very good sight lines - except when other audience members stand, & being on the small side I then struggle to see. The sound is usually very good but last 2 shows there has been some distortion & difficult to hear words of songs e.g. sound balance doesnt seem right. Shame the refurbishment didnt include a lift to circle as stairs are steep.
Hall & Oates (29/07/14) - at long last!
Ive been a fan for so long & never had the opportunity to see them live before. Managed to buy tickets early so had very good seats. This concert was better than many Ive been to there in that fewer people needed to constantly go in & out for drinks & toilet, which usually spoils events at the Apollo. Hall & Oates did not disappoint, voices & musicianship still great, only negative point was that I would have liked a 2 hour show rather than barely 90 minutes, such a long back catalogue & so many great numbers not performed. Overall an excellent night.
Red Kite, 29/07/14
The temperature inside the venue unbearably hot. I have nothing else to say to fill up your 100 word minimum...
Jack Johnson (29/07/14) - Too hot to handle
Jack Johnson gave a great performance at the Apollo - and his mate from Hawaii was a decidedly better than average support act. But the lack of air con in the venue made it a real endurance test. Being in Row Z probably didnt help, but several people around us just had to leave. It was just too much...
Camilla, 29/07/14
Derren Brown (29/07/14) - Absolutely amazing!
Derren Brown was amazing on stage and captured the audience with personal stories from his childhood, humor and of course mind boggling tricks. The show was very impressive and left us speechless for the remainder of the evening. It wasnt until the next day we were able to really discuss what we had witnessed Big thumbs up from here and we cant wait to rewatch it on tv :-)
Ryanpannell, 29/07/14
Very very warm inside! However the sloping floor and bars at the rear if the stalls were much appreciated! Lots of toilets, good venue easily accessible via tube
Jack Johnson (29/07/14) - In between dreams come true!
Absolutely incredible event! I have always wanted to see Jack Johnson but unfortunately he is a hard ticket to come by, other than a 30 minute set at a festival I saw last year. That just made me hungry to see him for a whole night and he didnt disappoint! Even though the genre is very laid back, the atmosphere was electric, I couldnt stop singing and dancing throughout. His pianist and best friend Zach Gill was smiling ear to ear the whole time and he had a fantastic voice and great energy! The most memorable moment was when he sung Breakdown. More on a personal level because this song brings back good memories, but hearing it sung live was the highlight for me! If only I could travel to Hawaii to see him perform a lot more often!
P&J Bristol, 29/07/14
Useless air conditioning that meant it was far too hot and detracted seriously from enjoyment of this event
Jack Johnson (29/07/14) - Excellent Jack, let down by venue
Brilliant performance by Jack and his splendid band - but seriously let down by the appallingly high temperature at the venue (apparently the air conditioning was faulty) which meant that many people left before the end of the concert. All should be reimbursed with half their ticket privces by way of compensation.
Mandy, 29/07/14
Derren Brown = Brilliant Venue = Awful - no air conditioning - thought I was going to pass out several times so made for a very uncomfortable night
Derren Brown (29/07/14) - Great Entertainer Shame About the Venue
Great Drinks and beautiful venue - just a shame it was so uncomfortable due to lack of air conditioning Derren Brown was brilliant
Cubby, 16/07/14
The venue was a great arena, where the seats in the stalls we had, gave us a perfect view of the whole stage. The decor gave a feel of the thirties show hall. Great setting.
Hall & Oates (16/07/14) - The oldies do rock!
As soon as the duo arrived, everybody were on there feet, dancing to hit after hit. Everybody sang there hearts out to their favourites, maneater, private eyes, rich girl etc. The most memorable moment of the evening came after the duo sang Shes gone. Everybody in the audience, already standing, gave a two minute ovation, something that the duo were stunned, and surprised, but were very appreciative. For 100 minutes, us middle aged fans(and the younger members of the audience ) were swept away in our own bubble of pure musical bliss and nostalgia. A place where only great musical artists can take you.
Aaron Rosenthal, 14/07/14
Hall & Oates (14/07/14) - Best gig ever.
I sweated a lot. Surely thats a good sign. They played all the hits, everyone was very happy, they had a saxophonist in a linen suit and a Gandalf beard called Mr Casual. I think if you asked for more, youre an idiot.
Allan Smith, 14/07/14
One of the best places to see a concert. I have been goint there since the 70s when it was the Hammersmith Odeon
Hall & Oates (14/07/14) - Fantastic!!
They were incredible! Played all the hits and the audience were also unbelievable! What a show! One of the best concerts of my life!