Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.3 (360 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Tim Lloydsmith, 17/09/14
Cant rate the parking as I came up on the train, but it was a brilliant venue, having sympathetically restored Art deco architecture, and great acoustics and it added massively to the atmosphere of the night. Well chosen by Kate. (Of course)
Kate Bush (17/09/14) - One of the best nights of my life....
And I am 53, so I have chalked up a few in my time....cannot really add much to what everyone else has said about the show - all the reviews have it nailed.. As well as being an artist beyond compare - Kate is also a lovely person, she has shown many kindnesses to her fans in the past. The combination of her friendliness, incredible voice, powerful and moving work, brought to life by being staged so lovingly - made this an unforgettable experience! Oh and Eventims service was very good too. Big lasting smiles here :-):-)
Gill, 17/09/14
A lovely place to see a band, small and intimate just about the right size so you can hear and see the artist. Some places I have been to especially in Birmingham they are just too big and you dont get the right atmosphere - small is much better!
Kate Bush (17/09/14) - Brilliant
Saw kate bush 12 September it was a wonderful night I will remember for ever, brilliant seats 3 rows from the front on the end where she passed by has part of the show just wonderful and very emotional.
Sunfire1977, 16/09/14
Kate Bush (16/09/14) - Kate Bush Eventim Apollo
the show itself was unbelievable. from start to finish. it didnt bother me that there were no songs for the first 4 albums. and i understand why. if people are going to the shows expecting a greatest hits show. then theyll be disappointed. I for one wasnt. The down side of the whole evening was the apollo itself. the lack of venue staff was an eye opener, there was a big problem with the humidity.and directions to facilities were terrible. however this didnt detract from my enjoyment of the show itself
Gary Parker, 16/09/14
The Apollo Setting/venue made it a more personal experience 10/10, we were lucky enough to be in the Stalls Row U, but can see where ever you sat, it was a good view/experience. the sound and setting was superb
Kate Bush (16/09/14) - Kate Bush Concert 13th September 2014
This has to be classed as one of the best experiences of my life ! such an amazing show for anyone who is lucky enough to go. I took my Wife and 16 Year old daughter(Her Birthday Present :)) an amazing, once in a lifetime event to see and hear Kate. the whole show, was superb, music, story and the band/crew were pure perfection ! adding the Apollo setting, making it a more personal experience for ALL that was there 10/10 !!!!!
From San Francisco, USA, 16/09/14
The lines to the toilets were maddening because there werent enough toilets. The ratio between number of attendees versus toilets was off. There needs to be a way to add more toilets to each floor of this venue.
Kate Bush (16/09/14) - I Flew 5350 Miles to See Kate Bush in Concert!
I was fortunate enough to purchase one hospitality ticket on the Eventim UK Web site on March 28, less than 10 minutes before all the tickets had sold out. The hospitality ticket experience was both magical and memorable as I dined inside the Hammersmith St. Pauls church with fellow Kate Bush fans. The food was excellent and the venue was pure heaven. I also appreciated having the ability to purchase merchandise without wrestling through long lines. Fortunately, I was able to purchase limited items that sold out within the first week (I was lucky to attend the 3rd day of Kates residency). I also had the ability to enter the Apollo from a separate entrance so as to avoid the large crowds. The 3-hour performance itself was AMAZING...Without giving away any spoilers, I felt like I was watching a theatrical performance/rock concert/dance performance. When it comes to vision, creativity, and talent--Kate Bush is unsurpassed. The visual spectacle included great costumes, fabulous musical performances, and well-choreographed routines. The special effects were equally dazzling (sights, sounds and touch!). I just hope that this performance is released on CD/DVD so that those who were unable to attend can watch in the comfort of their homes. I live in San Francisco, USA--so I traveled more than 5000 miles to see Kate Bush in her first tour in 35 years. Not only was it well-worth the wait, but it was also worth every quid (414 quid to be exact)! I would do it again, if I only could...Mmmh yes!
TraceyR, 16/09/14
Kate Bush (16/09/14) - Incredible
Fantastic mesmerising performance. Pitch perfect. The Ninth wave was exceptional, clever choreography perfectly executed.
Fabrice Peyri, 16/09/14
Kate Bush (16/09/14) - Masterpiece!!!!!
Seing kate bush on stage was a dream becoming reality... everything about the show was perfect... From the setlist to her incredible and unique voice. The audience and the place were just amazing...
vicky, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - fabulous kate!
Amazing performance from kate bush- shes still got it! Amazing voice and great show. Loved the story lines and effects, staging very creative and accomplished band. All fantastic! Thank you kate
Stu, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Will remain with me for a long time!
What can I say? Everything you could have hoped for and more! Forget the churning out of hits, this was a spectacle to behold. So atmospheric it will remain with me for a long time.
Capt Dada, 15/09/14
It was the ideal size for this event, perhaps a bit hot and stuffy, but that was a small price to pay
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Superlatives wont suffice
It was hard to believe the show could live up to the hype: surely she couldnt be as good as the excitable reviewers said? She could. Only better. The sound was amazing; the band so precise and lyrical. Her dancing may not have survived the 35 years since her last appearance, but her voice! It soared; it yearned; it ranged effortlessly across the dynamic range. Grown men wept. Pre-event focus had been on The Ninth Wave suite and it was sensational. But the Sky of Honey sequence from Arial was even better. The slow-motion film of birds in flight was mesmerising - all the dreamers were waking indeed. We may not see Kate perform again. Those who missed it will have to make do with the dvd due to be recorded. But for those who were there, the memory will never be erased. At the end of the concert someone yelled out Thank you, voicing the gratitude of all 3,000 of us.
Glenn, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Wow, just wow.
Well first off it was like no other. One of the best experiences of my life. The atmosphere was amazing. A bare stage with all the instruments out bathed in blue light with dry ice, all this an hour before the show began. The anticipation and expectation were amazing. Ive read every review, they were all superlative. 5 star. What could possibly live up to this. Well it did, and surpassed my expectations in every way. She was barefoot the entire time, older, regal and stately. Totally in control of her gifts at all times, it felt like we were in the presence of a talent that comes from outside of this world. There was no one before her and there will be no one after her. She is in amazing voice, it soared in went low, there were none of the high notes you got on the early music but it was so powerful it hit you in the face and left people speechless. She sang a number of songs straightforwardly including Hounds of Love, Running Up That Hill, King of the Mountain. There were two drummers, the percussion was fabulous. Then we entered the Ninth Wave suite. This was full on production. There was a few acted bits about a boat singing and help being sought then Kate on the screen in water in a life jacket, then theres waves on the stage, shes carried out through the audience dead by fish skeletons the band now have fish heads. Shes a ghost. She disappears, reappears from no where. She ice skates on stage. Then finally chooses life. Its over. 20 minute interval. Final segment is b side of Ariel, A Sky of Honey. There are birds projected, her son Bertie is an artist the band have bird heads now, she turns into a Blackbird and flies over the stage with big black wings. Its unbelievable. She weaves bits of songs, just a word little light shining from the second half. Her voice is amazing, a primal force that she seems to channel, summon up from somewhere. Given the imagery hell it seems, its disturbing, its dark its unnerving to be in the presence of such talent. You feel if she so choose she could do a Carrie and kill us all. Not to overstate it but it was more like a revivalist prayer meeting, she was communing with us like a preacher would. Speaking in tongues, healing through her art. I feel reborn, renewed, refreshed. Then she sang a song alone at the piano from 50 words for snow, Amongst Angels, for which her voice came directly from heaven. Her final encore was Cloudbusting which everyone stood for and sang Ooh, I just know that something good is going to happen, And I dont know when, But just saying it could even make it happen they all sounded like they thought it was true. Now life for me is BB and AB, before Bush and After Bush.
Paul and Jools, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Absolutely Magic
Well worth the 35 year wait to finally see the most enchanting musical artist ever! The stage performance of all of the supporting musicians and actors was superb. Theatrical performances and special effects helped to raise the awareness of each songs lyrics. Outstanding!!
Alan Taberer, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Unbelieveable
Someone once said You had to be There This was not a concert it was an epiphany.The culmination of years resulting in a pilgrimage of the faithful. There were times when I could not believe that I, along with thousands of others, were breathing the same air, sharing the same sounds and viewing the entire spectacle. I have been fulfilled, a beautiful beautiful experience. I have listened faithfully for thirty five years to every album.Thank you so much Kate x
mllanos, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Amazing time at the Kate Bush Show!
Not only was Kate amazing but the show was spectacular! She sounded spot on and was beautiful. The show was better than most Broadway musicals and the sound was perfect and clear. I had the Hospitality package and it was worth every cent. The setting was in the beautiful Gothic church and every detail was thought out. Everything from presentation to choice of foods was first class. It was also nice to have the merchandise for sale there with no crowds. I would go back in a second!
Ron Wiebolt, 15/09/14
It was stressfull to pick up the tickets on time. The information after buying the tickets was unclear. The term hospitality was used for different offerings. It was not clear whether the tickets were sent home to me. I had to call two times to make it all clear that I had booked for two rooms and what the procedure was. The inteval was too short. People need morte time to get a drink.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Stunningly good
Kate Bush her concert was stunning. Her voice, her performance and the programme. Also her crew, the musicians and her son added up to an amazing evening. I`m so happy I went to Londen to visit this event. She gave her fans so much. The theatre was an exellent place for this performance. I could easily follow what was going on on the stage and on the big screen. Nice that some of her stories where told in both music, images and performance. And for the first time, hopefully not for the last. High apreciation and kind regards to Kate and her K-fellowship, Ron Wiebolt from the Netherlands
sweet.thing, 15/09/14
Nice refurbishment of a stately old venue, but as usual never enough staff where you need them most, bar, merchandise etc.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Astonishing performance
Left in complete awe of the entire performance, never seen the like before, and unlikely to see again. She has never failed to impress me from the very beginning of her recording career, and if anything have even more respect and admiration for her now than before. Her handpicked band was also perfect and equally stunning. As for the experience, left very flat after expecting afternoon picnic due to very vague instructions from eventim, only to find we had hotel only at extraordinarily inflated price. Given any option next time, which we were not given on this occasion, I would buy ticket only and find own accommodation, and picnic!
Mick B, 15/09/14
Nice atmosphere and décor, but could do with more toilet facilities. The temperature was a bit warm and stuffy.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Before The Dawn: Beyond Amazing
Thirty five years in the making, thirty five years waiting & worth every minute. It wasnt just a concert it was a show, a magnificent spectacle, containing several of her songs & two set pieces which included acting, dance mime & puppetry. Memories of that night will stay with me for a long time to come. I expected nothing less from the great Kate Bush.
august61, 15/09/14
Its an old ex-cinema theatre, very nice art deco-like. Very easy to get there by tube or bus. Not to many people (3500) there, comfortable atmosphere, nice bars.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - A Dream Come True!
I listened to Wuthering Heights back in 1978 in a disco in Munich (Germany) and since then I love Kate Bush and her wonderful music! Now after 35 years I was lucky enough to buy a ticket and listen to her live. It was a mind-blowing, unique event! What a fortune to take part in Before the Dawn. Kate Bush is a class of her own, unrivalled, sovereign - a real shaman. What she performed at the Hammersmith Apollo with her musicians, her lovely son and the other artists was a huge and wonderful mulit-media music-theatre event. Its a bliss to have the oppertunity to eye-witness it. Now I hope very much, that there will be a DVD.
marian, 15/09/14
I was lucky to get tickets but Eventim changed me from opening night to 2nd still no explanation , and I could only get hospitality tickets despites others being offered lower priced tickets. The gig was worth it and to be honest I would go again but I would not be impressed withEventim handling and processing tickets. Kate come to Ireland next time ! I dont believe the food was worth the price nearly 1000 K for two mine was over seasoned and to be honest It was my only chance of seeing kate but very badly organised by the eventim team they have not yet explained why I lost my opening night seats and I didnt hear from the till that evening and only by chance, I could easily have booked flights in the interim can someone explain?
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Bucket list completed
Best ever experience and she was on my bucket list for soooo long. trouble is I want to go again. Kates voice is stillbrilliant and as for her music so glad to see she is alive in the 2014 charts !!! The hospitality was not that great could hardly eat any and very little poussin the harissa spoiled it for me and the buying of merchandise far too slow . everything about the concert was brilliant but the processes around it as explained were very poor. I still cant believe the Eventim phoned me after the had taken my money some nearly 1000£ to change my dates from the opening night to 2nd which involved flight changes also never again !
Mario Stuppini, 15/09/14
WONDERFUL THEATRE!!! wonderful athmosphere!! Wonderful KATE BUSH Always!!! a concert that will remain in the history of pop rock. a stunning Kate Bush performing at her best!
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - EXTRORDINARY KATE BUSH
THE BEST CONCERT OF MY LIFE. I WOULD GO AND SEE EVERYDAY! A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. THE DREAM OF A LIFETIME. THANK YOU EVENTIM!!