first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.4 (120 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Fan, 28/10/13
The venue is quite small comparing to other arenas in the UK, but it makes things easy on the way out. We did not stuck in traffick which was great.
Cirque Du Soleil (28/10/13) - Great event
I have not been so impressed with a show in a long time and I am going to concerts and theatres quite regularly. That was something extraordinary!
derek, 21/10/13
Overall it was a fantastic evening,the staff I encountered were all polite & informative.the arena was easy to access & easy to leave.
Rod Stewart (21/10/13) - rod stewart
The Concert in Leeds on sept 24th 2013 was,as ever,top drawer.for anyone who has not been to see him live just make sure you go if you get the chance.you will not regret it.
Jazzi, 14/10/13
It was really clean, tidy, smart and new. It was quite warm as well but not boiling. There was seating at the back (a lot of it) and there was actually a lot of floor standing area. At time it was a but hard to see but not a lot. Overall, a class venue and would deffo recommend
BBC 1Xtra Live (14/10/13) - Amazing!!
This even was sooo gooood OMG. Chronixx, stylog, wretch 32, azealia banks and rudimental were the acts performing and they were all insane! Unfortunately, the A in azealias name wouldnt light up, however, they took about 5-10 minuets sorting it out and played other music which was really good and worth the wait. Overall it was an amazing night, cant fault it one bit! Insane event and would deffo recommend it and go again :)
Col, 11/10/13
Jesus Christ Superstar (11/10/13) - Fantastic show but poor organisation at the arena
Our seat had been cordoned off and so we had to join a huge queue to swap the tickets. We werent told this however until we asked someone why our seats werent available. So we had 10 minutes to swap the tickets before the show started. We were not happy :( We did however get a seat just in time and the show was fantastic. There was also disturbance at the start of the show as members of the audience started vaulting over the seats to try to get a better seat further forward.
Fabgav, 08/10/13
Sadly the venue performed worse than the artist did as they refused to serve drinks to the many hundreds waiting to be served at the bars (blaming the act saying he only allows the bars to be open for set times) I tried twice to obtain a drink both before and at the half time break only to still be queuing when bar staff closed the bars to numerous complaints. I find it incredulous that this brand new First Direct sponsored venue in Leeds was incapable to serving its visitors or had thought to provide any vending machines to complaint a very poor bar service. This was only made worse as I am a registered disabled person, so not being able to buy a drink at all during my entire visit was wholly unacceptable. I noticed many customers were complaining to staff who simply were not interested in providing any kind of service at all. The venues management needs to take a serious look at this situation as many patrons will NOT return if this attitude to customers continues.
Micky Flanagan (08/10/13) - Dissapointing Performance & Facilities
Clearly Micky Flanagan leaves his best material for TV where the sensors require him to produce better performances than this one. The material was too blue by far and of low quality, the contents of which were often repeating himself with too similar themes in each side of his 2 sets. Sadly the venue performed worse than he did as they refused to serve drinks to the many hundreds waiting to be served at the bars (blaming Micky saying he only allows the bars to be open for set times) I tried twice to obtain a drink both before and at the half time break only to still be queuing when bar staff closed the bars to numerous complaints. I find it incredulous that this brand new First Direct sponsored venue in Leeds was incapable to serving its visitors or had thought to provide any vending machines to complaint a very poor bar service. This was only made worse as I am a registered disabled person, so not being able to buy a drink at all during my entire visit was wholly unacceptable. I noticed many customers were complaining to staff who simply were not interested in providing any kind of service at all. The venues management needs to take a serious look at this situation as many patrons will NOT return if this attitude to customers continues. As for Micky Flanagan our party of 6 was not impressed at all and will not be re-booking to see such a poor and ill thought out set of sketches from what should have been a more professional display of balanced comedy.
Deborah, 07/10/13
Jesus Christ Superstar (07/10/13) - Jesus Christ Superstar .....
Awesome...........Absolutely fantastic. Tim Minchin, as Judas, stole the show, Superb superb, superb ! Fabulous voices , amazing singing. Loved it from beginning to end. A truly brilliant show. Well worth seeing.
PippaD, 05/10/13
All style perhaps not as much substance Im afraid. Looks the part (if you like that kind of thing) but left feeling disappointed by the arena experience. No atmosphere up in the gods and Rod Stewart was the size of an ant, even on the not so big screens.
Rod Stewart (05/10/13) - Rod liked the acoustics - Im not so sure!
Arena was rather soulless. In the upper reaches of arena where sound wasnt great, couldnt hear a word support act was singing. Heard Rod better when he sang acoustically otherwise the band seemed to drown him out. Big screens not very big! The couple next to us had binoculars which seemed like a good move. Was hugely underwhwlmed by the arena and wont rush back!
K Green, 03/10/13
The arena is a great venue and we look forward to seeing a band/show there again soon. The acoustics are great the seats are comfortable your not squashed in like at other venues
Micky Flanagan (03/10/13) - Amazing Micky
We saw Micky Flanagan at the first direct arena & he was absolutely fabulous. Such a great stand up act we were both In tears of laughter all the way through the show, would definitely go and see him live again, cant wait for the DVD to come out.
Tom., 02/10/13
The side screens should be bigger and disappointingly the overhanging speakers spoilt the view of projections onto back screen. Perhaps this was due to my elevated position.Otherwise a first rate venue and I would not hesitate in going again
Rod Stewart (02/10/13) - Fantastic Show
Rod Stewart can still belt out the good oldies. A great mixture of old and new songs for two Hours. Would definitely go to see him again. Venue brilliant with great sound.
Colin Noble, 01/10/13
the best acostic venue in Great Britain (and i have been to many!!!) at last Leeds can rightly say they have a venue( that has already seen Bruce Springsteen and Elton John to name just but 2 icons of music) that will come to be known as one of the best music venues in Eueope
Rod Stewart (01/10/13) - unbeatable
The press say oh no not another Rod Stewart tour,well last tuesday in Leeds he was incredible and he makes a mockery of his age. The highlight for myself was the beautiful "I'd Rather Go Blind", he said it was obscure i say it was brilliant!

27/28 songs - what a legend he really is. That said i am biased, it was my 12th concert of Rods and this is certainly up in the top 2( but seeing Rod in Scotland does take some beating!!)

The first direct arena is acoustically the best i have heard in this country, and even Rod said the same!!!

A big surprise was the lovely Ruby Stewart (yes it is Rod's daughter), she has a wonderful voice and charisma and is surely destined to go far. Back to the man himself - if you get the chance to see one legend then Rod Stewart is your man, a wonderful night thank you Leeds and Rod.
Soulman, 01/10/13
Wow, this place has taken the 20th century idea of a big grey shed with poor sight lines and acoustics to a 21st century level. You seat actually faces the performance area and isnt 10 football pitches away. Check it out - this super theatre format is the way to go. Superb venue.
Rod Stewart (01/10/13) - Old school cool
Rod was on great form for this part of his tour. His set was slick and professional and contained all the old classics. There was an old school feel to the whole gig - numerous costume changes, with more than a bit of glitz and glamour. Heres a guy who just doesnt turn up in jeans and t shirt. The sound was excellent, and his voice was good as ever. Definitely worth the fairly pricey ticket.
Jordan, 01/10/13
Rod Stewart (01/10/13) - Top Quality Event
Superb show, not a dull moment with a great flowing set of Rods greatest hits mixed with his new album and an appearance from his daughter Ruby who has certainly inherited some musical talents from her rock star dad. Acoustics were amazing which certainly enhanced the whole experience. Most definitely good value for money.
Chanty, 01/10/13
Service at the bar was terribly slow and some people were turned away as the show was due to start when theyd been queuing for at least 30 mins, very poor indeed.
Micky Flanagan (01/10/13) - Fantastic Micky Flanagan!
Micky Flanagan was totally amazing at the Leeds Arena. His quick wit and cheeky banter was brilliant, we were crying with laughter at several points throughout the evening. Well worth the ticket price!
Jayne, 16/09/13
Brilliant arena and an excellent addition to Leeds. I was really impressed with it and the staff were really nice and friendly. Felt really well organised
Kaiser Chiefs (16/09/13) - Kaiser Cheifs
Never seen them before or been to the new arena. The concert was awesome loved it and thought they really engaged the crowd. Would deffo go see them again in concert as the Kaiser Cheifs rocked the Leeds arena. Thanks for a superb evening
Adele, 02/08/13
Excellent venue and very easy to get to. Plenty people helping you out with maps and directions, a really good atmosphere too. Getting out was horrendous though, too many people and not enough exits. We just caught the train with a minute to spare!
Bruce Springsteen (02/08/13) - Outstanding!
First time seeing The Boss and he was absolutely amazing- what a guy and a true performer. He had the audience eating out the palm of his hands, he was just brilliant, also 63 and crowd surfs!! Fab view even though we were on the third tier. A night to remember! X
Mrs T, 29/07/13
Absolutely love this venue. Not a bad seat in the house. Love the fact that theres escalators to all floors. Plenty of toilets and drink kiosks. What made it great was we were the first to attend a concert there, and when youre sat watching Bruce for 3 hours the seats were really comfortable and plenty of leg room. The staff working were really helpful and couldnt do enough. Well done First Direct Arena.
Bruce Springsteen (29/07/13) - Bruce Springsteen First Direct Arena Leeds
This was my first time at a Springsteen concert. WOW, what a fantastic gig. Dont know where the guy gets his energy from, on stage for 3 hours, song after song after song. He gave everything hed got, not bad for a 63 year old. He certainly knows how to work the crowd and involved them in the concert.
Bram0721, 29/07/13
Great venue. A few teething problems. Lovely to come out of a concert and not have to drive home via the motorways.
Bruce Springsteen (29/07/13) - Best Gig
What a fantastic Gig. Brilliant atmosphere. Over 3 hours of non-stop enjoyment. The whole concert was a memorable moment. Much more intimate than previous Bruce Springsteen gigs I have been to.
Bongo 60, 29/07/13
There was a limited choice of food. Staff were great! A very well designed building. Well be back again!
Bruce Springsteen (29/07/13) - Amazing as always!
Such a great venue for a concert. At last Leeds can be on the concert circuit. Bruce is still amazing at 63 and kept us entertained for almost 3 hours. We were on the third level and had a perfect view. He interacted so well with the fans who were standing and even crowd surfed back to the stage. Cant wait for my next visit to the arena.
Toni Britavis, 18/01/13
JLS (18/01/13) - Cant Wait
OMG!!! Got given JLS tickets for Christmas at the Leeds arena in December 2013! OMG! OMG! I go past every day and the arena looks amazing. Amazing Arena. JLS. Amazing!!!!!!!!
Lee S, 17/01/13
Elton John (17/01/13) - Cant wait for Leeds Arena
I cant wait for Leeds Arena to open! There's already some amazing events announced including Elton John, JLS, Micky Flanagan, Kaiser Chiefs, Miranda Hart and more! The venue looks spectacular too. #excitingtimes