first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.4 (112 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Tom., 02/10/13
The side screens should be bigger and disappointingly the overhanging speakers spoilt the view of projections onto back screen. Perhaps this was due to my elevated position.Otherwise a first rate venue and I would not hesitate in going again
Rod Stewart (02/10/13) - Fantastic Show
Rod Stewart can still belt out the good oldies. A great mixture of old and new songs for two Hours. Would definitely go to see him again. Venue brilliant with great sound.
Colin Noble, 01/10/13
the best acostic venue in Great Britain (and i have been to many!!!) at last Leeds can rightly say they have a venue( that has already seen Bruce Springsteen and Elton John to name just but 2 icons of music) that will come to be known as one of the best music venues in Eueope
Rod Stewart (01/10/13) - unbeatable
The press say oh no not another Rod Stewart tour,well last tuesday in Leeds he was incredible and he makes a mockery of his age. The highlight for myself was the beautiful "I'd Rather Go Blind", he said it was obscure i say it was brilliant!

27/28 songs - what a legend he really is. That said i am biased, it was my 12th concert of Rods and this is certainly up in the top 2( but seeing Rod in Scotland does take some beating!!)

The first direct arena is acoustically the best i have heard in this country, and even Rod said the same!!!

A big surprise was the lovely Ruby Stewart (yes it is Rod's daughter), she has a wonderful voice and charisma and is surely destined to go far. Back to the man himself - if you get the chance to see one legend then Rod Stewart is your man, a wonderful night thank you Leeds and Rod.
Soulman, 01/10/13
Wow, this place has taken the 20th century idea of a big grey shed with poor sight lines and acoustics to a 21st century level. You seat actually faces the performance area and isnt 10 football pitches away. Check it out - this super theatre format is the way to go. Superb venue.
Rod Stewart (01/10/13) - Old school cool
Rod was on great form for this part of his tour. His set was slick and professional and contained all the old classics. There was an old school feel to the whole gig - numerous costume changes, with more than a bit of glitz and glamour. Heres a guy who just doesnt turn up in jeans and t shirt. The sound was excellent, and his voice was good as ever. Definitely worth the fairly pricey ticket.
Jordan, 01/10/13
Rod Stewart (01/10/13) - Top Quality Event
Superb show, not a dull moment with a great flowing set of Rods greatest hits mixed with his new album and an appearance from his daughter Ruby who has certainly inherited some musical talents from her rock star dad. Acoustics were amazing which certainly enhanced the whole experience. Most definitely good value for money.
Chanty, 01/10/13
Service at the bar was terribly slow and some people were turned away as the show was due to start when theyd been queuing for at least 30 mins, very poor indeed.
Micky Flanagan (01/10/13) - Fantastic Micky Flanagan!
Micky Flanagan was totally amazing at the Leeds Arena. His quick wit and cheeky banter was brilliant, we were crying with laughter at several points throughout the evening. Well worth the ticket price!
Jayne, 16/09/13
Brilliant arena and an excellent addition to Leeds. I was really impressed with it and the staff were really nice and friendly. Felt really well organised
Kaiser Chiefs (16/09/13) - Kaiser Cheifs
Never seen them before or been to the new arena. The concert was awesome loved it and thought they really engaged the crowd. Would deffo go see them again in concert as the Kaiser Cheifs rocked the Leeds arena. Thanks for a superb evening
Adele, 02/08/13
Excellent venue and very easy to get to. Plenty people helping you out with maps and directions, a really good atmosphere too. Getting out was horrendous though, too many people and not enough exits. We just caught the train with a minute to spare!
Bruce Springsteen (02/08/13) - Outstanding!
First time seeing The Boss and he was absolutely amazing- what a guy and a true performer. He had the audience eating out the palm of his hands, he was just brilliant, also 63 and crowd surfs!! Fab view even though we were on the third tier. A night to remember! X
Mrs T, 29/07/13
Absolutely love this venue. Not a bad seat in the house. Love the fact that theres escalators to all floors. Plenty of toilets and drink kiosks. What made it great was we were the first to attend a concert there, and when youre sat watching Bruce for 3 hours the seats were really comfortable and plenty of leg room. The staff working were really helpful and couldnt do enough. Well done First Direct Arena.
Bruce Springsteen (29/07/13) - Bruce Springsteen First Direct Arena Leeds
This was my first time at a Springsteen concert. WOW, what a fantastic gig. Dont know where the guy gets his energy from, on stage for 3 hours, song after song after song. He gave everything hed got, not bad for a 63 year old. He certainly knows how to work the crowd and involved them in the concert.
Bram0721, 29/07/13
Great venue. A few teething problems. Lovely to come out of a concert and not have to drive home via the motorways.
Bruce Springsteen (29/07/13) - Best Gig
What a fantastic Gig. Brilliant atmosphere. Over 3 hours of non-stop enjoyment. The whole concert was a memorable moment. Much more intimate than previous Bruce Springsteen gigs I have been to.
Bongo 60, 29/07/13
There was a limited choice of food. Staff were great! A very well designed building. Well be back again!
Bruce Springsteen (29/07/13) - Amazing as always!
Such a great venue for a concert. At last Leeds can be on the concert circuit. Bruce is still amazing at 63 and kept us entertained for almost 3 hours. We were on the third level and had a perfect view. He interacted so well with the fans who were standing and even crowd surfed back to the stage. Cant wait for my next visit to the arena.
Toni Britavis, 18/01/13
JLS (18/01/13) - Cant Wait
OMG!!! Got given JLS tickets for Christmas at the Leeds arena in December 2013! OMG! OMG! I go past every day and the arena looks amazing. Amazing Arena. JLS. Amazing!!!!!!!!
Lee S, 17/01/13
Elton John (17/01/13) - Cant wait for Leeds Arena
I cant wait for Leeds Arena to open! There's already some amazing events announced including Elton John, JLS, Micky Flanagan, Kaiser Chiefs, Miranda Hart and more! The venue looks spectacular too. #excitingtimes