first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.4 (132 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Carolyn Gowers, 02/12/13
Could not give more than 3 stars for parking as I walked from my hotel but noticed the usual car park congestion on leaving.
Andrea Bocelli (02/12/13) - Andrea Bocelli in Leeds
Absolutely fabulous concert. Andrea had excellent orchestra and guest artistes. Travelled to Leeds from Berkshire and this concert was worth every mile !
TommyP, 02/12/13
Nickelback (02/12/13) - Excellent
The whole event was amazing and the venue is incredible!! The security and first aid staff were amazing also when needed on the night! The lighting at the venue was good and the sound quality was brilliant!
Jan, 26/11/13
Andrea Bocelli (26/11/13) - Andrea Bocelli. Leeds Arena
This evening was something I had waited for a long time. He is so amazing, his voice is beautiful and especially when singing with Heather Headley. I have watched performances on the television but to see him for real was just brilliant. If anyone likes Andrea as much as I do they should try to get to see him live. I sat there stunned on Sunday at the way the audience applauded him and standing at every song ending. Thank you Andrea for such a wonderful evening.
Woody, 19/11/13
Depeche Mode (19/11/13) - you rocked
Great venue and bars around the venue a plenty, Depeche Mode rocked the house, hope they come again next year
chris744, 19/11/13
Depeche Mode (19/11/13) - Incredible show!
That was unbelievable and unforgettable evening. Depech Mode and their outstanding performance, left me with open mouth! I was shocked! I always know they are great band with great songs, but when youll see them live youll never forget it!
Ricardo, 18/11/13
Great staff, acoustics, facilities, location and access. The drink is quite pricey but to be expected when its a captive audience.
Stereophonics (18/11/13) - Top band, top arena
The Stereos rocked the First Direct Arena on Friday. Always had their music but never seen live - changed the music forever. Kelly Jones is one amazing singer and guitar player ....... and piano despite him denying it! Will be at the FDA again soon.
Guy, 18/11/13
The venue gave you perfect viewing and sound no matter where you were stood/sat. It was well organized with no long queing. Toilets were clean, food and drink was reasonably priced. Excellent venue. would recommend
Stereophonics (18/11/13) - Outstanding
From start to finish, every song was played to perfection, effortlessly. It was also nice to hear Kelly interacting with the audience. Probably the best concert I have been. Venue was spot on!
Nettie, 18/11/13
Depeche Mode (18/11/13) - amazing gig
I have been a fan for many years, it was a truly amazing gig, such a great night. I have been playing Delta Machine loads since its release, so glad they also added some of their classic tracks, everyone of my friends who went appear to be of the same opinion.
frankie smales, 18/11/13
what a great evening and the atmosphere was out of this world and with pure energy and the roof got blown off with euphoria. five stars.
WWE Live (18/11/13) - wwe live at first direct arena
the night was excellent and the atmosphere was pure euphoric energy with great rapturous delight and the whole experience of wwe was like no other and if I had the chance I would definatley venture it again that why im giving it a five star rating.
James Smith, 18/11/13
WWE Live (18/11/13) - Fantastic evening
loved the evening, Leeds Arena has an amazing atmosphere. The superstars on show gave great value, overall would recommend this family night out.
Frank V, 28/10/13
Chap with the refreshments inside the arena near our seats looked bored rigid and was almost invisible. I very much doubt that he would have sold very much yet so many people found difficulty finding their seats that they stayed sat where they were during the break.
Cirque Du Soleil (28/10/13) - Act superb - admin teething problems
I would recommend the event to anyone - exciting and very professional. The admin before the start of the event could be improved. There were numerous elderly people who struggled to find their seat and received little or no help from the staff. The arena was also very dark, making the seating problem worse. I dont think the staff were deliberately unhelpful, but a bit more supervision would have paid dividends to make it a location that people would return to again and again
Graham, 28/10/13
This fantastic new Leeds venue shows that fact that its been purpose built for the modern day. All amenities are well laid out and seating is designed so as to provide everyone with great experience.
Cirque Du Soleil (28/10/13) - Stunning!
Whatever your taste you wont fail to be impressed! If you think this show is like a traditional circus, think again! The skill of the artists and standard of choreography was amazing.
Fan, 28/10/13
The venue is quite small comparing to other arenas in the UK, but it makes things easy on the way out. We did not stuck in traffick which was great.
Cirque Du Soleil (28/10/13) - Great event
I have not been so impressed with a show in a long time and I am going to concerts and theatres quite regularly. That was something extraordinary!
derek, 21/10/13
Overall it was a fantastic evening,the staff I encountered were all polite & informative.the arena was easy to access & easy to leave.
Rod Stewart (21/10/13) - rod stewart
The Concert in Leeds on sept 24th 2013 was,as ever,top drawer.for anyone who has not been to see him live just make sure you go if you get the chance.you will not regret it.
Jazzi, 14/10/13
It was really clean, tidy, smart and new. It was quite warm as well but not boiling. There was seating at the back (a lot of it) and there was actually a lot of floor standing area. At time it was a but hard to see but not a lot. Overall, a class venue and would deffo recommend
BBC 1Xtra Live (14/10/13) - Amazing!!
This even was sooo gooood OMG. Chronixx, stylog, wretch 32, azealia banks and rudimental were the acts performing and they were all insane! Unfortunately, the A in azealias name wouldnt light up, however, they took about 5-10 minuets sorting it out and played other music which was really good and worth the wait. Overall it was an amazing night, cant fault it one bit! Insane event and would deffo recommend it and go again :)
Col, 11/10/13
Jesus Christ Superstar (11/10/13) - Fantastic show but poor organisation at the arena
Our seat had been cordoned off and so we had to join a huge queue to swap the tickets. We werent told this however until we asked someone why our seats werent available. So we had 10 minutes to swap the tickets before the show started. We were not happy :( We did however get a seat just in time and the show was fantastic. There was also disturbance at the start of the show as members of the audience started vaulting over the seats to try to get a better seat further forward.
Fabgav, 08/10/13
Sadly the venue performed worse than the artist did as they refused to serve drinks to the many hundreds waiting to be served at the bars (blaming the act saying he only allows the bars to be open for set times) I tried twice to obtain a drink both before and at the half time break only to still be queuing when bar staff closed the bars to numerous complaints. I find it incredulous that this brand new First Direct sponsored venue in Leeds was incapable to serving its visitors or had thought to provide any vending machines to complaint a very poor bar service. This was only made worse as I am a registered disabled person, so not being able to buy a drink at all during my entire visit was wholly unacceptable. I noticed many customers were complaining to staff who simply were not interested in providing any kind of service at all. The venues management needs to take a serious look at this situation as many patrons will NOT return if this attitude to customers continues.
Micky Flanagan (08/10/13) - Dissapointing Performance & Facilities
Clearly Micky Flanagan leaves his best material for TV where the sensors require him to produce better performances than this one. The material was too blue by far and of low quality, the contents of which were often repeating himself with too similar themes in each side of his 2 sets. Sadly the venue performed worse than he did as they refused to serve drinks to the many hundreds waiting to be served at the bars (blaming Micky saying he only allows the bars to be open for set times) I tried twice to obtain a drink both before and at the half time break only to still be queuing when bar staff closed the bars to numerous complaints. I find it incredulous that this brand new First Direct sponsored venue in Leeds was incapable to serving its visitors or had thought to provide any vending machines to complaint a very poor bar service. This was only made worse as I am a registered disabled person, so not being able to buy a drink at all during my entire visit was wholly unacceptable. I noticed many customers were complaining to staff who simply were not interested in providing any kind of service at all. The venues management needs to take a serious look at this situation as many patrons will NOT return if this attitude to customers continues. As for Micky Flanagan our party of 6 was not impressed at all and will not be re-booking to see such a poor and ill thought out set of sketches from what should have been a more professional display of balanced comedy.
Deborah, 07/10/13
Jesus Christ Superstar (07/10/13) - Jesus Christ Superstar .....
Awesome...........Absolutely fantastic. Tim Minchin, as Judas, stole the show, Superb superb, superb ! Fabulous voices , amazing singing. Loved it from beginning to end. A truly brilliant show. Well worth seeing.
PippaD, 05/10/13
All style perhaps not as much substance Im afraid. Looks the part (if you like that kind of thing) but left feeling disappointed by the arena experience. No atmosphere up in the gods and Rod Stewart was the size of an ant, even on the not so big screens.
Rod Stewart (05/10/13) - Rod liked the acoustics - Im not so sure!
Arena was rather soulless. In the upper reaches of arena where sound wasnt great, couldnt hear a word support act was singing. Heard Rod better when he sang acoustically otherwise the band seemed to drown him out. Big screens not very big! The couple next to us had binoculars which seemed like a good move. Was hugely underwhwlmed by the arena and wont rush back!
K Green, 03/10/13
The arena is a great venue and we look forward to seeing a band/show there again soon. The acoustics are great the seats are comfortable your not squashed in like at other venues
Micky Flanagan (03/10/13) - Amazing Micky
We saw Micky Flanagan at the first direct arena & he was absolutely fabulous. Such a great stand up act we were both In tears of laughter all the way through the show, would definitely go and see him live again, cant wait for the DVD to come out.