first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.5 (184 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Rachelford7422, 01/12/14
The venue was great. First time at a concert here and most definitely the last. I brought my disabled mother and the service the staff have was exceptional.
James Blunt (01/12/14) - Phenomenal performance
James blunt....... Absolutely amazing. Words can not describe what your concert meant for me and my mother. You blew me away. I can not wait for you to tour uk again. It cant come quick enough. I cant fault your concert in any way at all. Big well done to the dunwells who were supporting you. Amazing up and coming band. Cant wait to hear them again either.
jamesforever, 01/12/14
James Blunt (01/12/14) - outstanding!
where to start?the whole evening was fabulous from start to finish.superb seats seven rows from the front,centre block.james performance had us spellbound.he was witty,humourous,full of energy,captivating and all topped off with,in my opinion,the best voice in the music industry bar none.all in all a fantastic concert at a fantastic venue.please do leeds again next year james.
Fletch87, 01/12/14
Too expensive - i mean £4.50 for a watered down pint of lager. Poor. I would say if you reduced your prices then youd have more custom and return gain further sales.
Slash featuring Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators (01/12/14) - Great gig but...
Brilliant night with all 3 bands... the only criticism Id say is with regards to Slashs lead channel.... it wasnt loud enough, you could barely hear his solos, it wasnt cutting through and over the rest of the band where necessary. Other than that - it was amazing.
NeilDD, 01/12/14
One of our seats was broken. Having mentioned this to a steward we were referred to an official who promptly arranged similar positioned seats elsewhere to our satisfaction. The problem was dealt with professionally and in a friendly manner, as you would wish for.
Slash featuring Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators (01/12/14) - Great Gig
This was a memorable gig and with the bones of two good support acts. This is the second time attending this venue and it is very well designed and laid out.
Faz, 01/12/14
Slash featuring Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators (01/12/14) - Amazing performance
Slash absolutely rocked the arena at Leeds we had an amazing time. Myles Kennedy and the conspirators where also amazing and interacted well with audience to get the house rocking more.
Adam Hardwick, 01/12/14
Bryan Adams (01/12/14) - Top Notch Effort
Top effort from the never aging Bryan Adams - He got the crowd involved, played all the classics as well as the newly added songs from the fantastic Reckless album - kicking off strong and carried all the way through - enjoyed it - maybe one of the better gigs I have been to (Singing and General music wise) - Bryan Adams and Keith Scott on Song as usual - Already looking forward to his next tour!
Terrier26, 01/12/14
Bryan Adams (01/12/14) - To much disruption
We had a great night watching & listening to Bryan Adams but the night was spoilt with the continuing movement of people not only on our row but others when they kept going out for a drink, coming back with full glasses in the dark, spilling some of the drink on the steps, which we think could be dangerous, then minutes later deciding to go to the toilet. We dont object to drinkers but cant they do without for a couple of hours and consider other people who want to watch the show.
Crazylegsfox, 18/11/14
WWE Live (18/11/14) - Wwe live
Great seats right next to where the wrestlers came out.atmosphere was unbelievable.really good venue.only down side was no randy orton!
Lorraine MacNay, 17/11/14
John Bishop (17/11/14) - LOVED IT !!
Had good seats. John was relaxed, natural and tremendously funny. An end to a really good evening that was for a special persons birthday.
Chris B, 17/11/14
WWE Live (17/11/14) - Waste of time and money
This wasnt my first time seeing wrestling but it may be my last especially a house show as this show was. Lineup that was promised was nowhere near the standard on the night (99 of the top talent was sent to Nottingham event on the same night or saved for Liverpool taped show the following evening). There were are pyrotechnics at the disney on ice show. This venue is not set up for wrestling and this showed. Im awaiting contact from the venue regarding a refund but Ive heard nothing yet.
Claire Shakespeare, 17/11/14
The venue is great, food and drink a little expensive but not too bad. Staff were pleasant, helpful and very knowledgeable. If you looked slightly bewildered they approached you to offer help.
WWE Raw (17/11/14) - Great Evening of Entertainment
The kids absolutely loved it, was a little disappointed that John Cena wasnt there but still enjoyed seeing some of there other favourites. I never imagined how great it would be and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.
Ginner, 17/11/14
Venue was great, had to use wheelchair access and the staff were so accommodating. Parking over the road was spot on. Seating was great where ever you sit you get a good view. Atmosphere created by the sound and lighting excellent and very organised on leaving the venue without a problem.
John Bishop (17/11/14) - What a laugh!!!!
Not been to see John Bishop before. had a fab night laughed from start to finish. So entertaining and you could relate to the material. Great for all ages above 18.
Ken, 17/11/14
John Bishop (17/11/14) - Fantastic
The Supersonic tour was brilliant Thought my wife was going to die with laughter I used the RF headset to listen to the show and it was supurb
Ashley Patricia, 17/11/14
The venu was amazing couldnt of asked for a better place. They staff were all helpful very good arena
WWE Live (17/11/14) - Amazing!
This was one of the best experiences of my life. It is the second event I have been to at the arena and they have both been amazing. The saff are great. We couldnt of asked for better seating at wwe the prices were very reasonable aswell. Would defiantly recommend it to anyone! Obv the main event of the night wish was 2 on 1 Kane and bray wyatt vs dean ambrose, but all of the matches even the nxt championship match was good. People who I thought I didnt like watching on tv I found hilarious, its strange how you think you dont like people but when you see them live it totally changes your view on them! Like I said if your a wee fan I would highly recommend going to see the next tour! I certainly will be!
Cathie and Glen, 17/11/14
The drinks are masively over priced. If only 1 venue could be brave enough to do reasonably priced drinks it would be ground breaking £9 for 2 pints of not very good larger. We were on a 5 * cruise ship last week £7.70 for 2 pints of excellent Stella/Peroni/Carling in the proper Glasses
John Bishop (17/11/14) - Side splitting
He held us captive from begining to end, and still giggling at some of the stuff he came out with. BRILLIANT No topic is avoided and life is striped back to basics and made perfectly natural
Andyb, 17/11/14
John Bishop (17/11/14) - Great Show!
Would highly recommend this to anyone who asked me if they should go see John Bishop, was fantastic from start to finish
Beatris, 14/11/14
WWE Live (14/11/14) - AMAZING EVENT!
It was perfect. The tickets arrived on time and the event was amazing! Very very satisfied!! Me and my best friend saw all our favorite wrestlers. It was an amazing show from WWE. Very happy. We were on the second row all we could even touch them if we try. It was an unbelievable experience and I am very happy that everything turned out great !!!
Kay, 13/11/14
John Bishop (13/11/14) - On stage with the Bish!
Had amazing night watching John Bishop, which reached its first peak when I was taken on stage with him...... then a photo back stage I just love his 80s chat up lines! Long may the Bish reign.....
Nutter, 11/11/14
Car park was £5 after 6pm, we arrived 9 minutes prior to this & it cost us £7.20, would have been nice to have known this. Food expensive for what it was but service good.
John Bishop (11/11/14) - Age relevant new material!
Funny from the start - all new material which was so relevant to our group age! Just long enough with a break in between - would have shortened this to 20 mins instead of 30 but all in all good value for money & would definitely come to another event here as this was our first visit.
VonnyfromDonny, 05/11/14
First Direct Arena are to be congratulated for their excellent customer services. We were greeted outside the venue, taken straight to the entrance, escorted into the auditorium, offered a more appropriate seat with wheelchair space on the floor, then introduced to the floor manager and staff. From then and throughout the show, we received regular checks from the manager, who ensured everything was to our satisfaction from start to finish. The medics were also very helpful in the treatment room where we changed oxygen tanks. Then just before the end, the manager told us he would return and escort us to the lifts, which he did. Making the whole evening very easily accessible to us was a huge relief to me personally. The logistics of simply taking my very ill, wheelchair bound friend to see Il Divo was at best daunting. We had missed the show a week earlier at Manchester because of the difficulties faced, mission now accomplished - my heartfelt thanks to the floor manager and his staff !
Il Divo (05/11/14) - A superb show !
This was my first Il Divo live show and it was a fantastic experience from start to finish ! The group were excellent, performing songs from all the great shows on Broadway. Each of the guys sang individually, then together, and they were superb ! We were entertained by little anecdotes from each of them, along with a lot of humour and interaction with the audience. They made everyone there feel that they were speaking personally to each and every one present in the room. Some of the songs, particularly Somewhere over the rainbow were very emotional and delivered with such passion as to bring a tear to the eye...Supporting the group was the lovely Lea Salonga, whos fabulous voice is a great match to accompany the guys in the group.Time to say goodbye was delivered in spectacular style and it must be said, was as good if not better that the original ! Standing ovations were given throughout the show, then again at the end by a very appreciative audience. I look forward to seeing them again in the future, all in all - a very emotional affair !