first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.5 (184 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Clairelou73, 04/11/14
The Big Reunion - Boy Band Tour (04/11/14) - Amazing!
6th row from the front... amazing view of some amazing acts. Screamed our heads off and had a fantastic night! Roll on next time!
Lisa, 03/11/14
Il Divo (03/11/14) - Brilliant night
We had an amazing night. Il Divo were absolutely fantastic. Great seats. Cant wait to see them again soon!!
mick kelly, 03/11/14
The venue is excellent great sound and on the whole views of stage are very good have been a few times now and the theater shape to the venue adds to your experience
The Big Reunion - Boy Band Tour (03/11/14) - shocking
We werent expecting a night of great vocals or dance moves just to be entertained but the show was so so bad you had men singing!well they call it that but it was clearly very heavy on auto tune each band did two songs then just walked of stage like they bus had come Then an xfactor build up for the next lot The show set up,the groups and they whole night was a wash out The only saving grace was that they was an interval yes an interval at a gig !!!so we could leave and we did
Linda, 03/11/14
Did not use parking or on site services as too expensive. The staff were very helpful and ii would go again
Il Divo (03/11/14) - brilliant singing
Enjoyed this event very much but would have preferred them to sing in English more. It didnt last long enough thought only 1 encore was a bit stingy. The cost of the programme at £15 was far too expensive
TonyB, 03/11/14
First visit to what is an excellent hall and facilities in a good central location. Could have done with more staff in the hall helping with seating queries as the use or the same seating numbers in different blocks seemed to confuse quite a few people.
Il Divo (03/11/14) - One for the Ladies
First time at an Il Divo concert. A bit cheezy and unashamedly targeted at mature women. I found the singing a bit samey, usually starting with one singer then maybe another or duet/trio eventually building up to the crescendo finale of all 4 singing with a couple of key changes for effect. Was ok for most of the songs but they sadly murdered Youll Never Walk Alone with poor orchestration/arrangement, and need to understand that sometimes simple is best. The supporting artist Lea Salonga was excellent and easily the best musical theatre singer on stage, her solos were the highlight of the concert. Overall I found the concert enjoyable if a little underwhelming but was clearly aimed at their target audience who seemed to love every minute.
Ruth, 21/10/14
Been to the venue a few times, easy to reach, staff always helpful and the sound is always fantastic.
Caro Emerald (21/10/14) - sounded superb
Caro sang all the hits, encouraged he audience to join in too. She sounded absolutely amazing the band was fantastic to. Really entertaining, thoroughly enjoyed the evening.
Sow1, 21/10/14
No big screen. Only one hand dryer in toilets. Premier lounge very nice and food good. But £5 booking fee a joke
Caro Emerald (21/10/14) - Excellent music, shame we couldnt see her.
Fantastic concert by Caro but desperately needed a big screen, we couldnt see her face at all so it spoilt it really. Kris Berry the support act had a brilliant voice but god her music was depressing. The whole audience must have thought so as well as when she finally said she was going to liven things up they all cheered. Used the premier lounge prior to the show which was great but I do think they are taking the mickey charging £5 booking fee for that as well.
With cucumber, 21/10/14
We were in block 212 - row K. There was insufficient leg room for anyone over about 5 foot 4. I am astounded that this has been allowed to happen in a newly built purpose made venue. Not good! I know you can get up and dance, which we did, but its not the point...You cant do that at all events.
Caro Emerald (21/10/14) - Fantastic night
Fantastic entertainment. Caro Emerald was just as amazing live as she is on her recordings. I think enough is said above but I cannot file this post without writing 100 characters, definite believer in less is more
NEIL SMITH, 20/10/14
I LIKED THIS VENUE AS ITS SMALLER TO OTHER ARENAS IVE BEEN TO GIVING BETTER VEIWING TO ALL AND BETTER SOUND/ACOUSTICS
Caro Emerald (20/10/14) - AMAZING CONCERT
WHAT A GREAT PLACE FOR A CONCERT NOT TOO BIG FOR AN ARENA CARO EMERALD WAS AWSOME AND BAND 2ND TO NONE ACOUSTICS ABSOLUTE BRILLIANT , SO GOOD IVE JUST BOOKED TO SEE HER AT PHONES 4 U MANCHESTER
Jean Burton, 20/10/14
Caro Emerald (20/10/14) - amazing
Saw Caro Emerald she was amazing absolutely brilliant show what a talent the girl has. she sounds as good live as she does on her records, her band was great too. all in all a very enjoyable evening.
Reggie, 20/10/14
very quick to admit the customer, the venue is well laid out and access to all areas. The view from all seats is excellent, the acoustics are good. the merchandise is expensive as usual. The toilets ended up being queued as only 6 gents urinals in each segment of the arena.
Caro Emerald (20/10/14) - Wonderfull singer and backing group
The venue is superb and the leeds audience reacted well to caro and her band. Caro appreciciated the audience participation and came back for a prolonged encore, indeed apart from the support artist, then then she was on stage for just under two hours. Everyone was up for the night, however as usual there is always the couple who want to get up in their seats and dance within the first 10 mins and have no respect for the people who sit directely behind them, having paid the same money. It would be nice to be given car parking locations and costs
fleetpete, 20/10/14
The venue was great, so much better than Manchester MEN! Good sound & great atmosphere...we will go back to this venue in the future. It is well placed, close to the town centre of Leeds, all in all a perfect venue for (I think) any band!
Caro Emerald (20/10/14) - A great night!
Ive been a someday fan for a while now; my wife however, is a real fan so, as it was her birthday last week it made sense to go. What a good decision that turned out to be, we had a fabulous night. Caro was everything (and more!) than we expected; absolutely blown away was our feeling at the end of the night. The band was excellent, the venue (Leeds First Direct Arena) was just right...all in all a perfect end to a birthday treat. We will definitely see Caro Emerald again!
Kenc90, 20/10/14
Caro Emerald (20/10/14) - Great Event
Stunning evenings entertainment by Caro Emerald with fantastic audience participation on a couple of tracks
Lubylou60, 20/10/14
Caro Emerald (20/10/14) - Caro Emerald is amazing!!
Caro Emerald was amazing in Leeds on Saturday. Shes as good live as she is on CD. What a fantastic voice. A great performer. The musicians in her band are individually impressive too. A really good night out. The support act was a little disappointing though. Although Kris has a great voice, shes not really right as a warm up act but would be good on CD Im sure.
mini-mum, 13/10/14
Staff really helpful- my daughter has autism & we would have struggled in the big crowds outside. I asked if we could use the disabled access to enter & get to our seats early- we were able to do this, with a member of staff showing us to our seats. All staff very friendly and happy to help us- very impressed. The venue was very clean
Ed Sheeran (13/10/14) - Fantastic show
Brilliant event- we love Ed! It exceeded my expectations! We loved everything about the event - loved singing along!!!
Timz, 13/10/14
The only negativies were the venue itself, they need more toilets as the lines were crazy long and they need someone stood inside each door to show people to their seats. We were walking around for awhile and even ended up sitting in the wrong block as it wasnt clearly marked.
Ed Sheeran (13/10/14) - Amazing show!
Ed Sheeran was so fantastic, the show was super but the best part of our night was when he came outside after the show and surprised everyone. We manged to meet him face to face and even take a few pictures. Money well spent. Great show. Great time!
Dianne, 13/10/14
More toilets for women, please - we are over the queues. This is inexcusable given that the arena has just been built and should have been considered at design stage.
Ed Sheeran (13/10/14) - Unforgettable
Just get a ticket and go! He is an amazing talent and great performer. Absolutely unforgettable night and now we are lifelong fans!
Charlotte Camplin, 13/10/14
Was my first time at the First Direct Arean. Thought it looked amazing from the outside with all the different coloured lights. The size of the venue was really good as it wasnt too big so you still felt connected to the artist. Cant wait to go back in Feb!!
Ed Sheeran (13/10/14) - Amazing!!
Saw Ed Sheeran at Doncaster Dome in 2012 when he was just starting in the music industry. He was amazing then as hes amazing now!!! Ive been to many concerts but it was my first time at Leeds First Direct Arena. I was impressed with the arena as it wasnt too big, so even where I was sat on the second tier, I was still able to see the acts :) The staff was also every helpful in the arena and would go out of their way to help. I bought my tickets at the beginning of you year from Eventim and within a few weeks they had arrived :) all in all I really enjoyed the event and I cant wait to go to see The Script in Feb 2015!!
Crusoe, 06/10/14
Matchroom Boxing (06/10/14) - josh Warrinton Superb again
Best boxing I have seen in my life time and the venue is ideal for the sport. The atmosphere was electric and it was definitely worth the money
Wasim, 16/09/14
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan (16/09/14) - Dont be fooled by the Meet & Greet package
Overall, the show itself was amazing and RFAK really delivered a wonderful performance. The rating is in no reflection to him but to my bitterness at the supposed Meet & Greet package I purchased. I paid a total of just over £550.00 for 2 x meet & greet front row seated tickets. Whilst the seat were amazing, the meet and greet was anything but. After the show had ended, we were rushed into a room to take a photo with Rahat himself. There was no greet in the package. After the photo we were rushed out so another couple could take there picture. The whole experiance lasted 30 seconds. Considering how much i paid for this experiance, i thought the package would entail alot more than just a picture. My advice is to purchase seats as close to the front row as possible and save the extra costs associated with the meet and greet as it really is not worth it.