first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue first direct arena Leeds

Il Divo
31/10/14
One for the Ladies from TonyB, 03/11/14
First time at an Il Divo concert. A bit cheezy and unashamedly targeted at mature women. I found the singing a bit samey, usually starting with one singer then maybe another or duet/trio eventually building up to the crescendo finale of all 4 singing with a couple of key changes for effect. Was ok for most of the songs but they sadly murdered Youll Never Walk Alone with poor orchestration/arrangement, and need to understand that sometimes simple is best. The supporting artist Lea Salonga was excellent and easily the best musical theatre singer on stage, her solos were the highlight of the concert. Overall I found the concert enjoyable if a little underwhelming but was clearly aimed at their target audience who seemed to love every minute.
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
sounded superb from Ruth, 21/10/14
Caro sang all the hits, encouraged he audience to join in too. She sounded absolutely amazing the band was fantastic to. Really entertaining, thoroughly enjoyed the evening.
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
Excellent music, shame we couldnt s... from Sow1, 21/10/14
Fantastic concert by Caro but desperately needed a big screen, we couldnt see her face at all so it spoilt it really. Kris Berry the support act had a brilliant voice but god her music was depressing. The whole audience must have thought so as well as when she finally said she was going to liven things up they all cheered. Used the premier lounge prior to the show which was great but I do think they are taking the mickey charging £5 booking fee for that as well.
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
Fantastic night from With cucumber, 21/10/14
Fantastic entertainment. Caro Emerald was just as amazing live as she is on her recordings. I think enough is said above but I cannot file this post without writing 100 characters, definite believer in less is more
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
AMAZING CONCERT from NEIL SMITH, 20/10/14
WHAT A GREAT PLACE FOR A CONCERT NOT TOO BIG FOR AN ARENA CARO EMERALD WAS AWSOME AND BAND 2ND TO NONE ACOUSTICS ABSOLUTE BRILLIANT , SO GOOD IVE JUST BOOKED TO SEE HER AT PHONES 4 U MANCHESTER
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
amazing from Jean Burton, 20/10/14
Saw Caro Emerald she was amazing absolutely brilliant show what a talent the girl has. she sounds as good live as she does on her records, her band was great too. all in all a very enjoyable evening.
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
Wonderfull singer and backing group from Reggie, 20/10/14
The venue is superb and the leeds audience reacted well to caro and her band. Caro appreciciated the audience participation and came back for a prolonged encore, indeed apart from the support artist, then then she was on stage for just under two hours. Everyone was up for the night, however as usual there is always the couple who want to get up in their seats and dance within the first 10 mins and have no respect for the people who sit directely behind them, having paid the same money. It would be nice to be given car parking locations and costs
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
A great night! from fleetpete, 20/10/14
Ive been a someday fan for a while now; my wife however, is a real fan so, as it was her birthday last week it made sense to go. What a good decision that turned out to be, we had a fabulous night. Caro was everything (and more!) than we expected; absolutely blown away was our feeling at the end of the night. The band was excellent, the venue (Leeds First Direct Arena) was just right...all in all a perfect end to a birthday treat. We will definitely see Caro Emerald again!
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
Great Event from Kenc90, 20/10/14
Stunning evenings entertainment by Caro Emerald with fantastic audience participation on a couple of tracks
Caro Emerald
18/10/14
Caro Emerald is amazing!! from Lubylou60, 20/10/14
Caro Emerald was amazing in Leeds on Saturday. Shes as good live as she is on CD. What a fantastic voice. A great performer. The musicians in her band are individually impressive too. A really good night out. The support act was a little disappointing though. Although Kris has a great voice, shes not really right as a warm up act but would be good on CD Im sure.
Ed Sheeran
11/10/14
Great Gig but the sound is very poo... from Lee, 13/10/14
The Gig was great Ed really got the crowd going. But yet again we had to sit on the top floor of the Leeds Arena where the sound is terrible. If you goto this venue make sure the tickets are for no further than floor 2. On the top floor the sound is very muffled and bounces off the roof. If you pay full price to sit on the top floor you are wasting your money and you will very disappointed .
Ed Sheeran
11/10/14
Fantastic show from mini-mum, 13/10/14
Brilliant event- we love Ed! It exceeded my expectations! We loved everything about the event - loved singing along!!!
Ed Sheeran
11/10/14
Amazing show! from Timz, 13/10/14
Ed Sheeran was so fantastic, the show was super but the best part of our night was when he came outside after the show and surprised everyone. We manged to meet him face to face and even take a few pictures. Money well spent. Great show. Great time!
Ed Sheeran
11/10/14
Unforgettable from Dianne, 13/10/14
Just get a ticket and go! He is an amazing talent and great performer. Absolutely unforgettable night and now we are lifelong fans!
Ed Sheeran
11/10/14
Amazing!! from Charlotte Camplin, 13/10/14
Saw Ed Sheeran at Doncaster Dome in 2012 when he was just starting in the music industry. He was amazing then as hes amazing now!!! Ive been to many concerts but it was my first time at Leeds First Direct Arena. I was impressed with the arena as it wasnt too big, so even where I was sat on the second tier, I was still able to see the acts :) The staff was also every helpful in the arena and would go out of their way to help. I bought my tickets at the beginning of you year from Eventim and within a few weeks they had arrived :) all in all I really enjoyed the event and I cant wait to go to see The Script in Feb 2015!!
Matchroom Boxing
04/10/14
josh Warrinton Superb again from Crusoe, 06/10/14
Best boxing I have seen in my life time and the venue is ideal for the sport. The atmosphere was electric and it was definitely worth the money
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
30/08/14
Dont be fooled by the Meet & Greet ... from Wasim, 16/09/14
Overall, the show itself was amazing and RFAK really delivered a wonderful performance. The rating is in no reflection to him but to my bitterness at the supposed Meet & Greet package I purchased. I paid a total of just over £550.00 for 2 x meet & greet front row seated tickets. Whilst the seat were amazing, the meet and greet was anything but. After the show had ended, we were rushed into a room to take a photo with Rahat himself. There was no greet in the package. After the photo we were rushed out so another couple could take there picture. The whole experiance lasted 30 seconds. Considering how much i paid for this experiance, i thought the package would entail alot more than just a picture. My advice is to purchase seats as close to the front row as possible and save the extra costs associated with the meet and greet as it really is not worth it.
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
30/08/14
A fantastic event! from LiL @$h, 07/09/14
A brilliant concert with a mixture of songs sung including classics, modern, punjabi and Bollywood. second time i been to see him in Leeds and was just as good as the first time round. definitely worth it!
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
30/08/14
Absolutely electrifying experience from Mona, 02/09/14
His golden voice and the musicians magic filled the atmosphere at FD Arena with rapture. My only complaint was with the team managing mike volumes. I thought they do not have the experience of Asian classical music. Making adjustments to the volume would have made it mesmerizing throughout. It was too loud. So yeah, excellent music and singing but too loud. It isnt Rock guys it had subtle variations I would have enjoyed much more. Everything started dot on time. Rahat Fateh Ali khan seemed to be having a great time himself too. I have no clue how a person with a mild cold could manage such amazing music. A bigger fan after the show !
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
30/08/14
An average event from Kay, 02/09/14
1. The auditorium was almost to full capacity. 2. The presentation of show was below average 3. The camera control was very poor. The display on large screen was shaky. After spending so much of money one expects good camera to see on large acreen 4. Rahat Fateh was awesome though. However, I did not see any interaction or communication with audience. He sat and just continued to sang.