Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Kate Bush
30/08/14
Spellbinding in every way from MarQue UK, 02/09/14
We booked row F tickets so knew we would have a great view, what we didnt realise was that there was no row A-D for the Kate Bush performances! We were about 10ft away from her for the entire show!! As a huge Kate Bush fan since 1978 I was quite overwhelmed for the first half hour or so... I just could not believe that I could be so close to such an iconic person... and she was singing to me! (well there were 4000 other people there but she did keep catching my glazed eyes!) There were no filler acts, she just came straight on at 7.45 and kept going (with a 20 minute break) until 11.00pm... Talk about good value for money! 27 pitch perfect songs and the most enchanting of staging anyone could ever hope to see live. Theres no way I could start to describe individual highlights as I would run out of space and superlatives. Its now three days after the show and both me and my partner still feel numb. I would go as far as to describe it as a life event for both of us which we will never forget. The most incredible thing - as she is so widely known for being terrified of performing live - was that she looked totally relaxed from the first minute, she was loving it herself and often looked moved by the reaction from the audience, she was funny and dropped in a few cute gestures when chatting to the audience... I wouldnt be surprised if we saw her on stage again in the future, now she has proven to herself that she can do an incredible show without the exhausting dance routines and expectation to sing her early high-key hits that would be almost impossible to replicate at 56 when she recorded her early hits at the age of 16! Indeed, there were many of my favourite songs that were not included, like Moments of Pleasure, Under the Ivy, Mrs Bartolozzi, This Womans Work etc... Maybe her next tour should be at The Albert Hall with full orchestra? Wouldnt that be amazing!! The entire night was magical, the brochure was outstanding quality and actually a bargain at £15, you would pay that for any book made to such a high standard, and the T Shirts at £25 were just what you would expect to pay, and again of good quality. Kate is obviously keen to make sure that everyone feels they get value for money... and they certainly did!
Kate Bush
26/08/14
Kate Bush absolute legend!!! from Toby W., 02/09/14
Seeing Kate Bush live was a dream come true for me. Shes one of a kind and a true artist. Worth every penny!!
Kate Bush
29/08/14
Amazing from Debbie in Reading, 02/09/14
Kate was phenomenal - Way better than my expectations, so happy to have the chance to witness this show! A experience that will stay with me forever.
Kate Bush
26/08/14
Starts slow and uneventful and then... from Rt68, 02/09/14
Britains greatest ever female artist had a lot to live up to after her Tour of Life some 35 years ago, and with gossip of floatations tanks, life sized birds, helicopters and shipwrecks, it was with a feeling of disappointment and to much furrowed brows sitting around me that this most elusive of performers began her Bedore the Dawn comeback gig with six songs featuring none if the aforementioned, a very straightforward singer-and-band opening set, no theatrics, very ropey lighting and a feeling of is this it? For three hours?!. Oh, and Kate wears a very 1980s tassly jacket. Never recommended, really :-0 Even Running Up That Hill sounded stodgy and wasted in this opening section (a song so visual performed very ordinarily). Its only after this section that things really start moving. The Ninth Wave section is inspired... Yellow confetti explosions, a lighting rig spotlighting the audience and swooping down billowing smoke as if looking for someone list at sea. Bush comes to life here, the beautiful Watching You Without Me performed in an underwater living room, the frantic exhilarating Jig of Life, and the heartbreaking Hello Earth all prove why this lady remains the worlds best. Genius. The second half of the show is a track by track run through the 2nd disc of Aerial, Kates gorgeous 2005 album. A Sky of Honey comes to life in a live surrounding hampered only by an artist wooden puppet that goes on. And on..... the joke wears thin on this one and by the time somebody dressed as the puppet comes on to leap around the stage weve all gone past caring. Kates son Bertie sings anew song Tawny Moon, and sounds a little too theatre, a little too am-dram school production. Towards the end of this piece we see Kate gradually change into a blackbird.... for the track Aerial she dons a huge black wing and then finally, fully birded up, she rakes flight. Its magic and quite unlike anything youve ever seen it will see again. The final two songs start with Among Angels from 50 Words for Snow. This should have been This Womans Work, it would face brought the house down. And whilst this is a note perfect performance, its just not that great a song to end a set with. Throughout Kates voice is perfect, hardly showing a trace of nerves. Finally we get Cloudbusting, and its a faithful, lovely rendition. And after genuine heartfelt thanks shes gone. The enigma has disappeared. Anyone without tickets for this show should rectify that fact. And soon. This show doesnt all work, but when it does, its jaw-dropping.
Kate Bush
27/08/14
Mesmerising from Dazmo2, 02/09/14
I go to many concerts and shows and have done since 1989. I have waited my whole life for this amazing artist to announce any live show of any kind I would be able toy attend. Got tickets via fan club presage on Eventim. Managed to secure excellent seats in centre stalls. The night of the show finally arrived. Kate was superb. Her voice was amazing. The stage set was breathtaking. It was an amazing show. Both concepts of the Ninth Wave and The Sky of Honey were visually WOW. After the show I have to say I felt 2 things. I am and have been for many years a fan. The show was stunning, visually vocally and would not have missed this once in a lifetime opportunity. On the other hand i can see why some fans may have been disappointed regarding the lack of hits as it were. Only because this is and will probably be the only ever time Kate does this, but clearly with her vast albums and career she could not do everything and can relate to the fact that we may never now hear some of these amazing hits live or see then visually performed. This is not a crticism but just an observation. Loved the show and cannot wait to attend the second show we have on 17th Sept 2014. Thank you Kate for giving your fans this opportunity. We loved it very much. Worth the wait.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Truly Amazing. from Gary & Tim, 02/09/14
I wasnt sure if this was going to live up to the hype. I neednt have worried. I was blown away by the whole set. From the musicianship to Kates vocal, from stage show to effects. We were treated to a mammoth artistic treat. I didnt even miss the early hits, so engrossing were the 3 hours. Please do more live shows Kate. Music and the arts need you.
Kate Bush
27/08/14
Speechless from DBTrain, 02/09/14
There will have been many, many reviews about this concert. It was simply extraordinary - Kate Bush was always going to do something left of centre, eccentric, artistic, creative, bonkers and she didnt fail to deliver. OK, so she didnt do the hits which though slightly disappointing at the time, didnt matter considering the sum of all the parts of this event. Her vocal was superlative, the band tight, her presence electric, the setting and the theatrics ranging from the beautiful to the frustrating - everything was considered and beautiful... As you can tell, words elude me. I can criticise elements - the pace at times, the dreadfully mawkish solo by son Bertie being the only crushingly low point - as well as the attention to detail in the costume, set etc which didnt quite translate to the balcony - but this is nit picking - and its Kate Bush who in once asking us to be kind to her mistakes freed herself artistically and creatively because when they infrequently happen, we do, we do. Before the Dawn encapsulates perfectly everything you ever thought about Kate Bush as an artist, an enigma, a muse, a contradiction, and as someone who I have obsessively loved her all my life, she delivered, and delivered, and delivered. If you are lucky enough to have tickets, you will by now know what to expect - ignore the backlash, no-one realistically expected Wuthering Heights, surely, take this for what it is - a sonic and visual feast.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
A true master at work from Darren, 02/09/14
I had been looking forward to watching Kate Bush since I got the tickets. As the date got closer I got more and more excited. Boy was I not let down. From the moment she started the hairs on my arms were standing tall. When she blasted out hounds of love so early in to the set, her voice dominated the Apollo. The band and performers also deserve special praise. The sound from the band all night was incredible. The time she sang running up the hill brought back so many happy memories. It is hard to explain yo people just how good the whole show was. The ninth wave was incredible and when I kept looking at my partners Dad he was lost for words, for me that says it all. Kate Bush has and always be streets ahead of any other performer. I for one am glad I got to witness this icon at work as she did not disappoint. This was no conventional music gig this was a show that had so much attention to detail.
Kate Bush
29/08/14
Believe the hype. from Som Morton, 01/09/14
I was almost sceptical of the hype surrounding the gigs, I felt that the overwhelming reviews were a product of the authors own excitement purely from being at such an exclusive event. However, as the lights went down and Kate took the stage, the crowd took to their feet with such passion and joy that it was impossible not to be overwhelmed with the gravity of the occasion. After a few songs to get everyone warmed up, the stage changed dramatically before the very eyes of the audience as she began to show us what shes been working on during her 35 year break, and it came across with breathtaking results. The 3 hour long show continued with more twists and turns, shock, drama, happiness, combined with intense beauty and theatrics which created a wonderfully unpredictable stage show unlike anything Ive seen in my life. You really have to see it to believe it, and honestly, 5 stars is not enough.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Magical from Southroad3, 01/09/14
Still cant believe weve been to see the Kate Bush gig, it all seems a bit surreal . The whole show was just something very special, I think everyone who attended will have similar feelings, its an event that will go down in Rock History Im sure. Fans would have been more than happy if Kate and her band had just performed her songs but Kate and her team had other ideas. Adding theatre to the music was a master stroke, a very bold move but one which worked and worked well. I have not heard of any negative reviews of her shows so far and there have been lots of them. Read any review of the show to get a feeling for what was performed. On a personal note all I can add is that Im so glad I decided to buy tickets, my son is a big fan which was the main reason for going, another friend of mine came along as well. We all agreed that it had been a Magical night, and we were lucky to be in the audience.
Kate Bush
29/08/14
Wow! from Sarah G, Norfolk, 01/09/14
It was amazing to see Kate Bush live on stage - I had thought it would never happen and was so pleased when the concerts were announced. Nothing would have kept me away. She was amazing, her voice was crystal clear, the songs were wonderful, the theatrics were great - and it was a bonus to see her son Bertie on stage with her. I hope shell now get a taste for live performance and will do more shows (in small venues) in the years to come.
Kate Bush
26/08/14
The end of my circle from The Great WaaZoo, 01/09/14
The concert of the 26th was beyond words. Even sitting im my chair, looking at the stage, it was still going through my head This is NOT going to happen!! No Way !! But it did. And how, above and beyond any expectations. Breathtaking, in awe, I felt like the happiest kid in the world. Every other concert Ill go to, ever new record, reel to reel tape, even cd or dvd, theyll be great, Ill love it and be happy, but this has drawn the circle to a close.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Spellbinding from Sonja, 01/09/14
I never thought in my wildest dreams that I would ever get to see Kate Bush live & after 35 years my dream became reality,I couldnt believe it.It was not until I had that ticket in my hand & I was through the doors that it started to sink in & I think that goes for most of the fans there on that night.I had goosebumps when the lights went down,moments before Kate appeared on stage.From that moment on,she had everyones attention & for the next 3 hours we were under her spell...focused on the stage & all the special effects & the forever changing backdrop scenery.I really loved seeing Albert Bertie McIntosh on stage with his mother, one part of the event which brought tears to my eyes - but not the only one!The whole evening,from start to finish was magical # mesmerising# enchanting# captivating#fascinating# amazing#stunning#wonderful#outstanding and I am so glad that I was able to be there to experience such an exceptional performance.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
An astonishing experience from J. R. Wood, 01/09/14
This was not a concert. Far from it. It was instead the most spectacular of artistic performances that I have ever had the privilege to experience. And it was just that: an experience. Anyone expecting to go along to see Kate Bush play the Hammersmith Apollo clearly doesnt understand who she is. Anyone complaining that she doesnt perform anything from her earlier albums, again, doesnt understand who Kate Bush is. It would be a little like saying, that Mona Lisa painting was alright, but why didnt he paint a nice vase of flowers? Bush is an artist and her performance of Before the Dawn was an incredible experience that drew the audience into the astonishingly imaginative world of her music. Without giving away too many details, the use of live action, projection, filming and imaginative sets and performances created a truly immersive experience that was not only entertaining but, at times, truly emotional. This was an experience to treasure and one that I will never forget.
Kate Bush
27/08/14
Well worth the money. from Spencer Grandiek, 01/09/14
We bought the overnight arrangement which was quite expansive. The fact the we come from the Netherlands made it easy travel because the hotel was included. All together the tickets (train, plain, subway, theater) we bought costed over £1000,- but for a once in a lifetime performance it was well worth the money.
Kate Bush
29/08/14
amazing from Anouk Horstink, 01/09/14
it was truely amazing, and well worth coming from Holland to see my hero. Not a false note, and still gorgeous. beautiful theatre too. If I have to mention something, it was very hot in the foyee, but of course the buildings from 1930.
Kate Bush
26/08/14
Wow from Francoise, 01/09/14
Kate has outdone herself. I just feel so grateful being able to experience her show. It was just so wonderful to see what meaning she gives to her albums. Count me in for any next time, hopefully within a shorter time.
Kate Bush
29/08/14
Kate Bush from Simon Symonds-Burke, 01/09/14
As a life long fan of Kate Bush as soon as I heard she was going to be performing live after too many years I just had to get a ticket and as a memeber of the fan club was lucky enough to get one! I then spent months getting more and more excited. I dont want to give anything away about the show so I wont discribe anything that happend but i will say I was so so impressed it was completely fantastic and I was totally blown away. I have dreamed of watching Kate Bush on stage all my life and as she walked out on stage I was moved to tears then as she began to sing I was transported back to being 5 or 6 and the first time I heard her sing and I must say she was completely amazing words can not convay how amazing it all was it rally is the best show I have ever seen.
Kate Bush
26/08/14
Beyond my wildest expectations!!! from Chris Flisher, 01/09/14
Absolutely fabulous experience witnessing Kates return to the stage after 35 years. Too marvelous for words...
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Perfect from Tatu, 01/09/14
The performance left me absolutely speachless. About the venue I had some concerns, how things would work with full house, but there was no problems. Staff was very helpfull and friendly , all the queing for entering, bars, toilets, merchandice etc went by very fast and smoothly. Great performance and perfect venue for it