first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue first direct arena Leeds

Eric Clapton
22/06/14
All Time Great from Mad Phil, 05/07/14
What a show on my first visit to the new Leeds Arena! Top class music played by top class musicians. We were treated to many of his classics - hes been around for 50 years, so he couldnt play them all in a 90 minute set!. Different class. Say no more.
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
Awesome from Martin J Scott, 04/07/14
Just to be in the same building as Eric was amazing, but to hear him play and sing just blew me away. Eric Is God!!!
The Eagles
23/06/14
Great event!! from Peachy, 04/07/14
Best concert ever! Fabulous musicians. 31 songs ..the numbers just kept coming & coming. Brilliant venue as well.
The Eagles
23/06/14
Amazing show from Fifi, 04/07/14
Fantastic musicians and a brilliant show. The acoustics were very good and I would go again if I had the chance.
The Eagles
23/06/14
Amazing!!! from Alberts mum, 04/07/14
The History of The Eagles 3 hours of hits sounding just as good as they did in the 70s. Amazing night of music loved every minute!
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
No audience commuinication from Jaysholme, 03/07/14
EC hardly talked to audience eg introducing his band, just did his guitar playing then obviously wanted to get back to his hotel
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
Wonderful Night :) from Max, 03/07/14
Eric Clapton played not only popular songs, that was interesting! Moreover almost all songs were played in blues style. That was something new for me. The thoughts that Eric Clapton stopped progressing were blown away. Do want to thank him for that gig! Hope that was not the last concert of Eric Clapton I have visited.
The Eagles
23/06/14
Fabulous !! from Mr A C Dykes, 03/07/14
To see The Eagles live was a fabulous experience. It was, however, very disappointing that we were not allowed to take a photograph which would be a lasting memoir of a great evening. They need to think of the fans who have paid @ £150 to see them. All the staff at the Arena were polite and helpful. All in all it was a fantastic evening.
The Eagles
23/06/14
One of the best Concerts We have at... from Les Artios Davison, 03/07/14
Absolutely Fabulous, Plus First DIRECT ARENA, LEEDS, UPGRADED OUR SEATS, so we had a fantastic view, front row on the balcony, The concert was staged brilliantly, Fabulous night from 8-00pm until 11-30pm.
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
Could have done better! from Lesley Reall, 03/07/14
We eventually get a chance to see the great Eric Clapton and wish hed tried harder. Whilst musically he could not be faulted, it was a disappointing show. To start with: the support act whilst ok were on stage far too long being an hour in total; at no point during Erics short 1 1/2 hour stint did he introduce his co-musicians; apart from a solitary thank you after singing Wonderful Tonight, Layla and Tears in Heaven, Eric at no time interacted with the fans who had paid on average £60 to see him.
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
NOT AS EXPECTED from Slybones, 03/07/14
Eric failed to connect with the audience - no chat - not even an introduction to the members of the band. One hour thirty five minutes set too short for an artist of this stature and popularity (over two and a half hours from Paul McCartney!) Bad accoustics in the auditorium detracted from enjoyment.
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
Good concert, but....... from Peter, 03/07/14
I have seen EC several times, the first was in 1978 when no less than Muddy Waters was supporting him. This concert was as I expected, the music and guitar playing was very good, but there was absolutely no acknowledgement of the audience apart from good evening and thank you between songs. The rest of the band also seemed a bit down (even Paul Carrack. who normally likes a bit of banter). I know they have been touring the world, and even Clapton admitted that he is feeling the strain these days. The acoustic set in the middle was really good, and some of the notes were played so powerful and sharp, that they seemed to hit you. There were no apparent sound problems unlike the previous night at Glasgow. So, a good concert but I wish the he and the band would at least make an effort to look like they are glad to be there.
The Eagles
23/06/14
Brilliant - Best Concert Ever!!! from HippyChick, 03/07/14
A group of 8 attended the concert of a variety of ages. All of us are pretty regular gig / concert goers and without fail eveyrone agreed it was one of the bets if not the best concert ever seen. The whole production was really well thought out and put together and the way the guys came out onto the stage in the sequence they joined the band was such a clever touch. Glen and Don were in fine singing form, Bernie and Timothy showed why they were asked to join and Joe Walsh - well what can I say - mad as a box of frogs but what a Legend! Every song was a masterpiece and all the old favorite. Its been a long time since i laughed and cried at a concert so thank you guys - it was emotional!
The Eagles
23/06/14
Fantastic Concert shame about the v... from Angie Mc, 03/07/14
The concert was absolutely fantastic unfortunately our view was blocked by a black wall on the right hand side of the stage. I had paid top price for tickets and didnt expect my view to be restricted! Quite a few people were moved from the same area after complaining. Unfortunately we arrived just before the start and the staff wouldnt or couldnt deal with our complaint. I have been in touch with the venue who have now dealt with my complaint and also passed it on to the touring production team, I am still waiting for a response from them. The Eagles lived up to all expectations it was just a shame the view was restricted, not what you expect for top price seating!!!
The Eagles
23/06/14
The History of the Eagles in full! from Rob, 03/07/14
The Eagles came and performed a history of their greatest hits and more, a show that included 27 songs from their extensive back catalogue and lasted 3 hours with a comfort break in the middle. The main songwriters of The Eagles, Glenn Frey and Don Henley, talked to the audience, built up a rapport and explained the background to some of the songs, and introduced band members one by one as they joined them on stage, including a man well known to law enforcement agencies and hotel owners around the world, Joe Walsh. This was a very polished performance and a totally well thought out show, with video backdrop to the songs and a subtle set lighting, giving us, their fans, exactly wanted we had come to hear in an arena where the sound is superb. Totally brilliant, loved all of it! Set list: Saturday Night, Train Leaves Here This Morning, Peaceful Easy Feeling, Witchy Woman, Doolin-Dalton, Tequila Sunrise, Doolin-Dalton/Desperado (Reprise), Already Gone, The Best Of My Love, Lyin Eyes, One Of These Nights, Take It To The Limit, Wasted Time (Reprise) Pretty Maids All In A Row, I Cant Tell You Why, New Kid In Town, Love Will Keep Us Alive, Heartache Tonight, Those Shoes, In The City (Joe Walsh song), Lifes Been Good (Joe Walsh song), The Long Run, Funk#49 (James Gang cover), Life In The Fast Lane. Encore: Hotel California, Take It Easy, Rocky Mountain Way (Joe Walsh song), Desperado. Latest news in USA Today is that this tour has grossed $145 million so far and has just announced it will go to Australia and New Zealand in Feb/March 2015. A fantastic show!
The Eagles
23/06/14
Absolutely Brilliant from Bramley Rhino, 03/07/14
Fantastic 3 hours of Entertainment. Fully lived up to our expectations. The Eagles put on a great show spanning their entire catalogue.
The Eagles
23/06/14
Superb Concert from Alan, 03/07/14
One of the best concerts I have ever attended. They sang all there songs - well known and not so well known - and were on stage for about 2 and 3/4 hours. The atmosphere was fantastic and the acoustics were brilliant, Only downside was the arena got very hot.
The Eagles
23/06/14
Fantastic! from Annie54, 03/07/14
The concert was absolutely fantastic. No gimmics, no support act, it was all about the music and the songs. Joe Walsh was brilliant. At three hours long we certainly got value for money too!
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
The bare minimum from Alpal, 03/07/14
I was really disappointed with EC at the Leeds gig. He didnt really put any effort in. A few songs, boring versions, nothing very special at all. I am a long time fan and wanted him to do so much beter than this mediocre performance
Eric Clapton
21/06/14
Eric Clapton from Kenneth, 27/06/14
Eric Clapton gig at Leeds Arena was brilliant while it lasted. But again for some reason (like Glasgow, night before) EC did not finish the concert. We were told gig to finished (by e-mail) at 10.45pm.) Allow people to book taxi or lifts. He went off stage with no explanation, but just to wave to the crowd at 10.10pm. The lights did not go on in the arena for a few minutes as I suppose the management thought he was going to come back on. The audience were amazed lights come on, and people walked out. During the performance, the audience saw the typed list of music on the piano. (through video screen). It contains 3 songs that where never played, biggest one was to be the last one was Layla. How on earth can you leave that out? I was seated floor level, seeing as I paid £80.00 should think so. The only problem with that was seeing, as bar open all the time people where constantly walking in front of me, to go to the bar and then of course to the toilets. Was slow hand annoyed at people walking on and off the area all night, who know? As I say brilliant while it lasted but you can’t treat fans like that. I don’t know how many gigs are left in this tour, but other fans will have got to know about Glasgow and maybe Leeds and think twice about spending there well-earned cash.