Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Kate Bush
27/08/14
Unbelievable , unforgettable experi... from Jenfav, 03/09/14
A totally magical concert, 100 times better then I thought it would be, no words can describe this epic concert. Kate certainly knows how to put a show on. She has blown away all others.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
An event like no other from Deano, 03/09/14
I dont get excidted much these days but the chance to see a hero from my childhood really gave me that Golden Ticket feeling! I loved the venue, loved the crowds shared respect, admiration and enjoyment of the concert and just was carried away by the whole amazing spectacular. Kates voice was beautiful as is her imagination. Both of the theatrical album pieces were spellbinding - I cant stop thinking about it - thank you so much Kate!
Kate Bush
29/08/14
Huge anticipation but big disapoint... from Roisin McCrory, 03/09/14
Having been a huge Kate Bush fan since the age of 11 or 12, I was sooo excited to hear and subsequently get some tickets for her first concert in 35 years. Also, as it was in a very intimate venue I was anticipating a really intimate and once on a life time experience having spent a considerable amount of money on flights and accomodation to travel from Northern Ireland. The venue itself was great. Full of lots of character and in a very handy location to our hotel also in Hammersmith. I enjoyed the first half of the show, and it was as big a thrill as I thought to see Kate in flesh. Although I was rather annoyed when the lady in front told me to stop singing along! The second half was so surreal and obscure that I had no idea what was going on. The music choices all centred around Ariel, and in my opinion are not Kates strongest era. Also the stage direction and content were abstract even to me, having been an art student and still involved in the Arts. I appreciate that you cant necessarily expect an artist to include all their biggest songs and music, however after such a long time and a massive build up I was very, very disappointed. The worst thing for me was the reaction of the other audience members. They were in awe, and did not participate in the show at all. My husband and I were told to be quiet twice by another audience member. I am a big, big fan who is an active member of her fan club, but felt that the second part of her show was very self indulgent. I decided to spend a lot of hard earned money on the tickets, accomodation and flights, and although I have no regrets in having done so I just fell very let down. A fact that I am reminded of each time a friend asks how the show was! So, Kate if you are reading this please remember why your fans love you and fell such a strong connection with you. I will of course go back to listening avidly to your music, but have fallen out of love a little bit with the woman herself.
Kate Bush
27/08/14
Exquisite from Gary Horrocks, 03/09/14
Kate Bush was exquisite. Astonishing, exciting, poetic, inspired, joyous, beautfic, splendid. I fell in love with Kate with Wuthering Heights and have adored and respected her ever since. She has carried me and uplifted me all my life. My gorgeous incidental friend. I am as high as a kite with admiration for a meticulously conceived three hours of sheer joy. I will never recover from Among Angels. I sobbed when I first heard it and am sobbing now. I adore her with all my heart. Thank you Kate
Kate Bush
27/08/14
an experience beyond any imaginatio... from Huibert, 03/09/14
Arriving Wednesday at the Eventim Apollo I was tired and curious of what the KTFellowship would bring me and my dear friend. When inside the beautiful restored theater that started as a cinema in the 30s I felt home. This is it. The night after the premiere. As soon as Kate entered the stage 4000 man stood up as one and and energy filled the roon giving Kate a smile she could not hide..She than set of in a three hour..show presenting us 29 songs in visual that we only know of by audio or video clip. My mouth fell open and I started to wiggle a little. Absorbing all the was passing by. Did not go to the toilet. And at the end I was knocked down completely that would last another full four days. Now I am getting to my senses and make myself prepared to try and see another show from this extraordinary Lady of which there is only One who does it completely her way. And she did to a perfect extend. Thank you Kate for being around in my life for so long. And thank you Event im for helping her to fulfill her desires. Kind regards Huibert Krabbendam
Kate Bush
30/08/14
The Best Show Ever from Jeremy Lovell, 03/09/14
As a long standing Kate Bush fan, it was more than just a surprise to hear that she was to play live. This was accepted as something that would never happen. Delighted to have bought 2 tickets for the first Saturday performance (fourth in all) I was looking forward to this concert with far greater excitement than any other in my life! Despite being desperate to know everything, I kept myself away from the news and the reviews so that I could be surprised as much as possible on the night. Im now so glad that I did this, if you are still to attend one of the remaining shows I urge you not to read on. The atmosphere was really buzzing as 7.45 approached. The superb 7 piece band started up and the place erupted as Kate made her way on to the stage. Choosing from The Red Shoes, Hounds Of Love and Aerial, we were treated to a superb opening of six songs. Ive never known an audience sit so quietly, then erupt with such fervour at the end of each one. This was fantastic, but werent we expecting even more than this? Then suddenly, as King Of The Mountain was drawing to a close, the percussionist took centre stage as the whistling wind turing into a raging storm. Oh right, now weve started! Ive always been a massive fan of The Ninth Wave, often overshadowed by the big hits from Hounds Of Love, but now it was finally having the performance it deserves. The mixture of live performance with video footage worked brilliantly, the arrival of a living room scene for Watching You Without Me was inspired and the helicopter tearing around overhead was completely exhilarating! Not to mention great usage of numerous trap doors on the Apollo stage! The only downside was that I would have liked to have seen more of the band, especially through Jig Of Life, but thats wanting my cake and eating it. Seeing Kate carried off stage by Fish People at the end of Hello Earth was completely mesmerising (how is it possible to move that slowly?). Completely gobsmacked by the wonder of it all, the stripped bare staging for The Morning Fog reminded us all where we were and it felt like it was okay to breathe again. Entranced by the magic we had just witnessed, we all needed an interval! Refreshed and eager for more, the second half was devoted to A Sky Of Honey, the second CD from 2005s Aerial. The band had now moved side stage and we were all thrilled now to see Kate sat at the piano. As we were taken through the beautiful Prelude, a child-size wooden puppet entered the scene, discreetly accompanied by puppeteer. The ending of Prologue was extended to show off the superb sound of the band, before Kates son, Bertie entered in the role of The Painter (having been one of the five backing singers earlier in the show). I loved the ending sequence of Sunset, with the band members having gradually made their way forwards on the stage and there was an extra song added to showcase the talents of Bertie. The transition through sunlight, to sunset and then the dark of night perfectly sums up Kate Bushs music - at times so bright and beautiful, yet at others dark and menacing, but always completely captivating. This was great, even if not quite as great as The Ninth Wave, but there was still magic and surprises towards the end, as a tree crashed down through the piano, the wooden child broke free from the puppeteer and, to crown it all, Kate grew wings and took flight! What was left? After yet another standing ovation, the band left the stage only for Kate to reappear and sit solo at the piano. Maybe this was the time for an old song? Anyone hoping for something from The Kick Inside or Lionheart was to be disappointed as Kate played and sung beautifully through Among Angels, the only song of the evening from her most recent album, 50 Words For Snow. So few complaints about the whole experience, but Im sure we would have loved her to have stayed and played for longer. I was desperate for her to sing This Womans Work or Moments Of Pleasure, but the band were called back onstage for a rousing finale of Cloudbursting. And then there was the feeling you get when its 11.59 on Christmas Night, the event youve looked forward to like none other is about to be over. Kate Bush could have stood on stage and just smiled for 3 hours and wed have been happy. She could have carried on singing like the first six songs for 3 hours and wed have know wed witnessed something pretty special. As it was, we left bursting with excitement that we had been to the best show that anyone could ever wish to see. Yes I wanted to hear songs from The Dreaming and The Sensual World, but that would have to wait for another time - please!!!!!! Ive been to plenty of gigs where Ive left thinking that it was the best ever, this time Ive left knowing that it was the best ever. I would so love her to play live again, but if not, were left with the knowledge that this would take some beating!!
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Unbelievable! from Ron from Doncaster, 03/09/14
To actually see my musical idol, and hear my favourite music superbly performed live was nothing short of a religious experience (and Im an atheist!) which I never thought would ever happen. I was literally moved to tears. Thank you to Kate for making an unforgettable experience for her fans.
Kate Bush
27/08/14
Halfway there from PaulBear, 02/09/14
The first half was superb as her voice warmed up but the second half was quite dull with most songs from Aerial. The lack of songs from the Sensual World was a real shame.Im so glad I went though
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Five stars for the show, none for h... from Jehannum, 02/09/14
After being emailed several times by Eventim with the details of the hospitality package (turn up at St Pauls Church at 5:30pm, you will receive champagne, food hamper, etc.) I was surprised to be turned away at the door for having the wrong ticket. To their credit, Eventim had tried to contact me about their mistake, but too late. I dont have a mobile phone and was offline after I left Birmingham, so I didnt get the message. I had to go through the embarrassment of being taken to one side at the function room entrance while they checked and confirmed that I did not have the correct type of ticket. Because of the expectation of the hospitality package, I hadnt eaten, and had to find suitable refreshments before the gig. However, seeing Kate Bush was the important thing, and the show itself was brilliant.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Spellbinding in every way from MarQue UK, 02/09/14
We booked row F tickets so knew we would have a great view, what we didnt realise was that there was no row A-D for the Kate Bush performances! We were about 10ft away from her for the entire show!! As a huge Kate Bush fan since 1978 I was quite overwhelmed for the first half hour or so... I just could not believe that I could be so close to such an iconic person... and she was singing to me! (well there were 4000 other people there but she did keep catching my glazed eyes!) There were no filler acts, she just came straight on at 7.45 and kept going (with a 20 minute break) until 11.00pm... Talk about good value for money! 27 pitch perfect songs and the most enchanting of staging anyone could ever hope to see live. Theres no way I could start to describe individual highlights as I would run out of space and superlatives. Its now three days after the show and both me and my partner still feel numb. I would go as far as to describe it as a life event for both of us which we will never forget. The most incredible thing - as she is so widely known for being terrified of performing live - was that she looked totally relaxed from the first minute, she was loving it herself and often looked moved by the reaction from the audience, she was funny and dropped in a few cute gestures when chatting to the audience... I wouldnt be surprised if we saw her on stage again in the future, now she has proven to herself that she can do an incredible show without the exhausting dance routines and expectation to sing her early high-key hits that would be almost impossible to replicate at 56 when she recorded her early hits at the age of 16! Indeed, there were many of my favourite songs that were not included, like Moments of Pleasure, Under the Ivy, Mrs Bartolozzi, This Womans Work etc... Maybe her next tour should be at The Albert Hall with full orchestra? Wouldnt that be amazing!! The entire night was magical, the brochure was outstanding quality and actually a bargain at £15, you would pay that for any book made to such a high standard, and the T Shirts at £25 were just what you would expect to pay, and again of good quality. Kate is obviously keen to make sure that everyone feels they get value for money... and they certainly did!
Kate Bush
26/08/14
Kate Bush absolute legend!!! from Toby W., 02/09/14
Seeing Kate Bush live was a dream come true for me. Shes one of a kind and a true artist. Worth every penny!!
Kate Bush
29/08/14
Amazing from Debbie in Reading, 02/09/14
Kate was phenomenal - Way better than my expectations, so happy to have the chance to witness this show! A experience that will stay with me forever.
Kate Bush
26/08/14
Starts slow and uneventful and then... from Rt68, 02/09/14
Britains greatest ever female artist had a lot to live up to after her Tour of Life some 35 years ago, and with gossip of floatations tanks, life sized birds, helicopters and shipwrecks, it was with a feeling of disappointment and to much furrowed brows sitting around me that this most elusive of performers began her Bedore the Dawn comeback gig with six songs featuring none if the aforementioned, a very straightforward singer-and-band opening set, no theatrics, very ropey lighting and a feeling of is this it? For three hours?!. Oh, and Kate wears a very 1980s tassly jacket. Never recommended, really :-0 Even Running Up That Hill sounded stodgy and wasted in this opening section (a song so visual performed very ordinarily). Its only after this section that things really start moving. The Ninth Wave section is inspired... Yellow confetti explosions, a lighting rig spotlighting the audience and swooping down billowing smoke as if looking for someone list at sea. Bush comes to life here, the beautiful Watching You Without Me performed in an underwater living room, the frantic exhilarating Jig of Life, and the heartbreaking Hello Earth all prove why this lady remains the worlds best. Genius. The second half of the show is a track by track run through the 2nd disc of Aerial, Kates gorgeous 2005 album. A Sky of Honey comes to life in a live surrounding hampered only by an artist wooden puppet that goes on. And on..... the joke wears thin on this one and by the time somebody dressed as the puppet comes on to leap around the stage weve all gone past caring. Kates son Bertie sings anew song Tawny Moon, and sounds a little too theatre, a little too am-dram school production. Towards the end of this piece we see Kate gradually change into a blackbird.... for the track Aerial she dons a huge black wing and then finally, fully birded up, she rakes flight. Its magic and quite unlike anything youve ever seen it will see again. The final two songs start with Among Angels from 50 Words for Snow. This should have been This Womans Work, it would face brought the house down. And whilst this is a note perfect performance, its just not that great a song to end a set with. Throughout Kates voice is perfect, hardly showing a trace of nerves. Finally we get Cloudbusting, and its a faithful, lovely rendition. And after genuine heartfelt thanks shes gone. The enigma has disappeared. Anyone without tickets for this show should rectify that fact. And soon. This show doesnt all work, but when it does, its jaw-dropping.
Kate Bush
27/08/14
Mesmerising from Dazmo2, 02/09/14
I go to many concerts and shows and have done since 1989. I have waited my whole life for this amazing artist to announce any live show of any kind I would be able toy attend. Got tickets via fan club presage on Eventim. Managed to secure excellent seats in centre stalls. The night of the show finally arrived. Kate was superb. Her voice was amazing. The stage set was breathtaking. It was an amazing show. Both concepts of the Ninth Wave and The Sky of Honey were visually WOW. After the show I have to say I felt 2 things. I am and have been for many years a fan. The show was stunning, visually vocally and would not have missed this once in a lifetime opportunity. On the other hand i can see why some fans may have been disappointed regarding the lack of hits as it were. Only because this is and will probably be the only ever time Kate does this, but clearly with her vast albums and career she could not do everything and can relate to the fact that we may never now hear some of these amazing hits live or see then visually performed. This is not a crticism but just an observation. Loved the show and cannot wait to attend the second show we have on 17th Sept 2014. Thank you Kate for giving your fans this opportunity. We loved it very much. Worth the wait.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Truly Amazing. from Gary & Tim, 02/09/14
I wasnt sure if this was going to live up to the hype. I neednt have worried. I was blown away by the whole set. From the musicianship to Kates vocal, from stage show to effects. We were treated to a mammoth artistic treat. I didnt even miss the early hits, so engrossing were the 3 hours. Please do more live shows Kate. Music and the arts need you.
Kate Bush
27/08/14
Speechless from DBTrain, 02/09/14
There will have been many, many reviews about this concert. It was simply extraordinary - Kate Bush was always going to do something left of centre, eccentric, artistic, creative, bonkers and she didnt fail to deliver. OK, so she didnt do the hits which though slightly disappointing at the time, didnt matter considering the sum of all the parts of this event. Her vocal was superlative, the band tight, her presence electric, the setting and the theatrics ranging from the beautiful to the frustrating - everything was considered and beautiful... As you can tell, words elude me. I can criticise elements - the pace at times, the dreadfully mawkish solo by son Bertie being the only crushingly low point - as well as the attention to detail in the costume, set etc which didnt quite translate to the balcony - but this is nit picking - and its Kate Bush who in once asking us to be kind to her mistakes freed herself artistically and creatively because when they infrequently happen, we do, we do. Before the Dawn encapsulates perfectly everything you ever thought about Kate Bush as an artist, an enigma, a muse, a contradiction, and as someone who I have obsessively loved her all my life, she delivered, and delivered, and delivered. If you are lucky enough to have tickets, you will by now know what to expect - ignore the backlash, no-one realistically expected Wuthering Heights, surely, take this for what it is - a sonic and visual feast.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
A true master at work from Darren, 02/09/14
I had been looking forward to watching Kate Bush since I got the tickets. As the date got closer I got more and more excited. Boy was I not let down. From the moment she started the hairs on my arms were standing tall. When she blasted out hounds of love so early in to the set, her voice dominated the Apollo. The band and performers also deserve special praise. The sound from the band all night was incredible. The time she sang running up the hill brought back so many happy memories. It is hard to explain yo people just how good the whole show was. The ninth wave was incredible and when I kept looking at my partners Dad he was lost for words, for me that says it all. Kate Bush has and always be streets ahead of any other performer. I for one am glad I got to witness this icon at work as she did not disappoint. This was no conventional music gig this was a show that had so much attention to detail.
Kate Bush
29/08/14
Believe the hype. from Som Morton, 01/09/14
I was almost sceptical of the hype surrounding the gigs, I felt that the overwhelming reviews were a product of the authors own excitement purely from being at such an exclusive event. However, as the lights went down and Kate took the stage, the crowd took to their feet with such passion and joy that it was impossible not to be overwhelmed with the gravity of the occasion. After a few songs to get everyone warmed up, the stage changed dramatically before the very eyes of the audience as she began to show us what shes been working on during her 35 year break, and it came across with breathtaking results. The 3 hour long show continued with more twists and turns, shock, drama, happiness, combined with intense beauty and theatrics which created a wonderfully unpredictable stage show unlike anything Ive seen in my life. You really have to see it to believe it, and honestly, 5 stars is not enough.
Kate Bush
30/08/14
Magical from Southroad3, 01/09/14
Still cant believe weve been to see the Kate Bush gig, it all seems a bit surreal . The whole show was just something very special, I think everyone who attended will have similar feelings, its an event that will go down in Rock History Im sure. Fans would have been more than happy if Kate and her band had just performed her songs but Kate and her team had other ideas. Adding theatre to the music was a master stroke, a very bold move but one which worked and worked well. I have not heard of any negative reviews of her shows so far and there have been lots of them. Read any review of the show to get a feeling for what was performed. On a personal note all I can add is that Im so glad I decided to buy tickets, my son is a big fan which was the main reason for going, another friend of mine came along as well. We all agreed that it had been a Magical night, and we were lucky to be in the audience.
Kate Bush
29/08/14
Wow! from Sarah G, Norfolk, 01/09/14
It was amazing to see Kate Bush live on stage - I had thought it would never happen and was so pleased when the concerts were announced. Nothing would have kept me away. She was amazing, her voice was crystal clear, the songs were wonderful, the theatrics were great - and it was a bonus to see her son Bertie on stage with her. I hope shell now get a taste for live performance and will do more shows (in small venues) in the years to come.