Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.1 (203 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Larraine Harper, 08/04/13
I liked the venue but unfortunately I was sitting on a broken seat. However I had a good view and this did not stop my enjoyment of the show. I could not give an accurant review of parking or on-site service as we did not use these facilities
Wallace & Gromit (08/04/13) - Fantastic day out
I went to see the Wallace and Gromit musical marvels at the Hammersmith Apollo with my son, daughter in law and grandson aged 12. We all thoroughly enjoyed the show. The new Wallace & Gromit film 'A Matter of Loaf and Death' was fantastic, very funny. We also enjoyed the music played by the orchestra. We had a very enjoyable day.
Olly, 27/03/13
Very nice place. Liked it alot! Easy to find, very friendly atmosphere. The staff also very friendly.
Louis C.K. (27/03/13) - amazing
Best stand up comedian. Amazing show, incredibly funny. Amazing that I have seen this guy live. Incredible expierience.
Linda K, 25/03/13
Louis C.K. (25/03/13) - Incredible night of uninterrupted laughter
Louis was so much better live than he is on screen. Perhaps its because hes so the Average Joe and most jokes were directed at himself, you've got to love his courage and insanely inappropriate monologues. I could honestly listen to him rant all day. Louis- London LOVES you. Hope you were telling the truth when you said it was one of your top gigs. I have to say your show was my favourite comedy stand up to date and Ill definitely try to catch you next time Im in NYC.
Badsensei, 19/03/13
Status Quo (19/03/13) - Frantic 4 Ride Again
Classic Quo played with extra pizzazz, Rossi's playing was superb. They were really tight and after the week they had had, you can understand why the vocals were shared. It was like the other two had never been away. One little surprise was that they did not play Caroline, but saying that the set was awesome.
Boffidge, 19/03/13
The Apollo does look a bit old now & could do with a lick of paint. However, the acoustics are first class. The bar & food was too pricey however, so thumbs down for that. Overall enjoyed the venue, much better than the big arenas (Wembley Arena, Birmingham Nec Etc)
Status Quo (19/03/13) - Frantic Four at it again!!
Really enjoyed both nights. Quo were awesome. OK they are getting on a bit so obviously not the same movement from them as in the 70s and early 80s, but they played an awesome set. I really hope they do an album and World tour, which I believe maybe on the cards. Only down side was that Alan Lancaster does not look steady on his feet. If he is ill I hope he makes a speedy recovery (I could be wrong with this though). His voice is still great though. Heres hoping that we will see them again soon. Jeff.
Andy, 19/03/13
The merchandising was as usual chaotic and understaffed. The queues at the end for the live CD were poorly organised with people pushing in.
Status Quo (19/03/13) - Worth the wait....
I first saw Quo in the late 70s at the Manchester Apollo - then nothing for ages. However a friend got me into them again and Ive seen every tour in the last few years. So I was really looking forward to seeing the classic line-up again.

The atmosphere inside Hammersmith Apollo was amazing - I haven't seen an audience so excited in a long while. The sound was good - didnt seem loud, but my ears were ringing afterwards. The light show was just right - they dropped the LED screens, which can be a bit distracting.

The setlist was great - obviously old songs, but made a change from the usual greatest hits (of which there are many).

The performance was solid - I was hoping they wouldn't be under rehearsed and they weren't. It was good to see Alan Lancaster taking lead vocals straight away - he has a good voice. They seemed much heavier than the current Quo line-up and the repetitive song construction of the later material wasnt so obvious (don't get me wrong, I like the new material as well, except for Marguerita Time and Living on an Island). Overall a great concert and will probably be in my top 5 of the year.
birdland, 19/03/13
My Bloody Valentine (19/03/13) - Noise Orgasm!
Saw them for the 7th time, but this was the best MBV show in history. They remain a monument of cutting edge noise rock.
Ole, 19/03/13
Status Quo (19/03/13) - GREAT EVENT!!
Status Quo reunion-show at Hammersmith Apollo was fantastic! The guys really proved they are a awesome Rock`N`Roll- band! I could have gone to all of the three shows they had in London this weekend without getting tired. Cheers from Ole, Norway
Brown Eyed Girl, 16/03/13
The Jacksons (16/03/13) - Ab Fab
Great Music......It was a night to remember. Loved it. Real entertaining and a nice tribute to Michael without being over the top. Thank You!
Bianchi Boy !, 13/03/13
The Darkness (13/03/13) - There is only one Justin (and it aint Bieber !)
Truly awesome! Thank god they have reformed! Shame the evening had to end. Peerless guitar from Dan, wonderful showmanship by Justin. A pity they werent doing consecutive nights otherwise I would have gone straight out for a ticket for the next show.
heather campbell, 13/03/13
the only downside was that i bought two signed programmes and i went toilet and left them with my sister and someone stole them,and was told because only one of us were there with the programmes,there was nothing they could do about it,and i saved up for 4mths to buy them,and now me and my sister have nothing.very dissapointing.
The Jacksons (13/03/13) - excellent
The best ever danced the whole night, and was amazed at their energy, as they're no spring chickens. Best performance ever, would definitely see them again.
Tom Mann, 12/03/13
The Darkness (12/03/13) - They get better every time I see them
Ive seen the darkness 4 times now. And this was the best. They really do get better every time that I see them. The band were so in tune with each other and united in putting on a great show. Justin Hawkins guitar talents are out of this world. Hes a brilliant frontman. He had the whole crowd ringing out of his hand! Brilliant intro to the gig. It showed everyone that they are more than a band, they are a family. The Crowd chanting darkness...darkness in between every song was very moving. In true darkness fashion, they ended with love on the rocks. Dan carried his guitar soloing brother on his shoulders into the crowd. Once they were back on stage Justin really got down with his audience. Giving them little melodies to sing back at him, which they did nearly as good as him. This was all happening whilst Justin stood on top of some giant speakers. I think he must of really been feeling the love from the crowd. He eventually jumped down from the speakers and went crowd surfing. To which the crowd decided that they would try and kidnap a modern day rockstar!! Best moment of the gig in some ways! Ok, take me back now guys he said as he realised this probably wasnt such a good idea after all. The stewards someone managed to rescue him and like the professional that he is, he carried on and finished the song. Fantastic ending to a brilliant show. Fantastic night. I really hope the darkness will be around for a very very long time to come. Boy do we need em!
Casethebase, 12/03/13
Amon Tobin (12/03/13) - Amazing, will be seeing him again.
Never seen anything like it, the visuals were incredible. Just amazing technology, finally something you come away from not being disappointed from.
peter murrell, 12/03/13
Nice and compact as we could still see performers without the need for a screen! Wife extremely pleased with her birthday gift. One little moan (though I do understand the reasons...to a point), the unpermitted use of slrs. I am sure I saw members of staff with their own SLR cameras whilst I specifically read they were not allowed. My compact digital/phone proved insufficient due to the low-light having kept to the House Rules but felt rather disappointed to see staff flaunting theirs in our faces. I wish I had taken the opportunity to bring mine (24-85mm) but knowing me would have been searched and read the riot act. I guess if spotted using it it would have left staff with an interesting dilemma? Hmm...
The Jacksons (12/03/13) - The Jacksons - Apollo Hammersmith
Five Stars for the performance. One of the most memorable moments being the opening to Can You Feel It. Certainly got the crowd hyped and generally stayed that way throughout the show. Lighting was particularly minimal but impressive as it did not distract from the performers/performances (as if The Jacksons need it!) as they engaged the crowd.
Fara Agza, 12/03/13
Amon Tobin (12/03/13) - Great night of Audio Visual awesomeness
Great venue and event hampered only by the very late start of the artist. Sound quality was good seemingly even in the sticks where we were at. Though a lot of the performance was ruined by fans who mistook the venue for a bar.
Fern Percival, 12/03/13
The Darkness (12/03/13) - Fabulous as ever
Few bands have the capacity to whip their crowd into a frenzy quite like The Darkness. They appeal to all ages..I can vouch for as my 18 year old daughter was with us. My 15 year old son and his two mates were also there but wouldnt be seen dead with us so we respectfully stayed a bit further back from the front. I love the Apollo, you never feel too far away from the stage and there is always a good atmosphere with the added bonus of a bar inside the auditorium. The Darkness have to be my favourite band to see there, they literally ignite the place, every inch of you is a great way to open the show and get your hands of of my woman set all ages a-pogo!! Thank you Justin and Dan for your jaunt around the place..apologies for my daughter pinching your bum! :-) Thanks for a great night..heres to many more.
ijoioeriojef, 12/03/13
Amon Tobin (12/03/13) - great music, terrible lines of sight
As a shorter gentleman (170cm), I had to spend most of my event on my toes so as to see the stage. Given it was a video show, and the shallow slope of the standing area, it would have been better to keep the seats in. A friend who came with me left after half an hour since she could see nothing and got bored.
Carter, 05/03/13
Kanye West (05/03/13) - Brilliant
A great gig, the surround vision was amazing. The abrupt ending was a little disappointing though. The lack of anything before hand be it a support act or even just music to get the atmosphere going. And to be honest the actual ticket price was a bit of a joke, 75 quid is extortionate!
vix, 04/03/13
Brought back memories from about 30 years ago. A nice old theatre, with fairly comfortable seats and very conveniently opposite a station.
Stand Up For Shelter (04/03/13) - Good night out
Im not really a lover of comedy stand up but I really enjoyed the evening, particularly Tim Minchin. It was nice to be part of a fund raiser as well!27
Honey Haguli, 04/03/13
The venue is big but the viewing from top rows is not that good especially when people are standing, sadly I set at row W on Circle couldnt see the best but what can u do xx Still had a brilliant night xx The stuff were really lovely, acoustics were just ok could use a better sound for the back rows - I worked in a local theater for over 8 years of my life so i know some stuffs about music in a big venue as this one. Parking wasnt available which is why i used the tubes best way and avoiding Rush hours you can only park in the Novotel hotel next to it
The Big Reunion (04/03/13) - Bringing The Top 90s Bands To The 2013!
Born in 1986 - I'm a 90s kid - wanted to say what a lovely brilliant night it was. No one in the arena sat for one second! All the bands did a great work on with the songs and performance although I have to say 5ive rocked the house and the Circle Floor was bouncing like crazy! Welcome back lads xx