Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.4 (512 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Julia, 17/11/14
Dave Gorman (17/11/14) - So so
Expected much more, seems like the content was for mass produced fan base to make sure everyone got the humor (jokes were too obvious)
jbevans, 17/11/14
Billy Idol (17/11/14) - simply fab
best looking 59 year old ever !!!! He has lost nothing of his voice and charisma either and him and Steve Stevens are almost like Jagger and Richards, great combination of songs new and old and really old (from Generation X days)
steve, 14/11/14
note above comments ..maybe keeping the bar closed during performance time would be better but not for the venues revenue ...but there lies the dilemma... nice touch by the way of creating an an enclosure outside of the venue during the interval !
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (14/11/14) - fantastic night
After waiting 40 years to see the man live what a thrill! Yusuf/Cat gave the most wonderful show and retained all the magic and power of his fantastic creative work and performing abilities while connecting with his audience in the most positive and relaxing way. Congratulations to Alun too and the band who were superb !!! ok now for a couple of negatives ...understandably it was clearly stated that photography and recording was not allowed...pity many members of the audience could not respect this ..causing the ushers much work whizzing about (as discreetly as poss) . Also why do people need to leave their seats as early as 10 minutes into the performance {presumably for a refill) ...all very distracting and unfair to the artist and fellow concert goers. (Rant over :-)) ) Looking forward to seeing cat outside of London next time !
Nadine, 12/11/14
Sam Smith (12/11/14) - What Happened with the Acoustics?
My partner and I have between us seen a number of artists at the Apollo Hammersmith /eventim and it is one of our most favoured venues. However we came to see Mr Sam Smith on 7th November and were bitterly disappointed with the quality of the sound. We were only standing in the stalls fairly close to the back, in front of the bar and it may have been our location with the circles being directly above us but even still, the sound reverberated in our chests in an annoying and not pleasant manner. It truly felt that the sound/mics/speakers had not been adjusted to Sams vocal which was such a shame as we were actually pleased when his set had come to the end and we left swiftly. We stayed because we hoped that it would be adjusted but it never was. We only hope that when we return in February for Jason Mrazs return to Hammersmith that it is so completely different.
Bill, 11/11/14
Only downer was the District line not running and missing the last train out. Our fault, should have payed closer attention to the time.
Video Games Live (11/11/14) - Great music and funny too!
Attended not knowing fully what to expect. Well put together show with a fair amount of throw back game music for those of us who were playing 30+ years ago. The filler group, Random Encounter, were a lot of fun. Rockin accordion, who knew?
Barans, 11/11/14
More seating could be provided in the theatre foyer, or we could be let in to the auditorium seating earlier. Since there is no re-entry (why?) I eventually sat on the stairs, if I had known I would have gone for a drink somewhere else first, will next time.
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (11/11/14) - Cat Stevens
I had given up hope of ever seeing the great man live, but it was well worth all the travelling and lack of sleep! Spellbinding from start to finish. Three encores and then we did not want to leave! Pity I was not allowed to even get a quick snap on my phone though...(with no flash!) like I am going to sell that! I have my memories though...they cannot stop me storing those...yet! Curious to know what they are going to do with all the video they shot at the venue though.
Tim H, 11/11/14
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (11/11/14) - Brilliant Yusuf!
Having been a fan of Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam for more years than I can remember it was a joy to at last finally see and hear him for real. A wonderful show, wonderful voice and very tight band behind him; playing a superb selection of old and new songs. Great too to see one of his oldest collaborators Alun Davies there too. The Venue was very plush and easy to reach via the tube network for me. Acoustics were great. I hope he returns here again one day soon. So my sincere thanks to everyone involved and of course particularly to Yusuf, without whom....
2211dee, 11/11/14
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (11/11/14) - Brilliant
Cat Stevens was absolutely brilliant. Didnt want it to finish. Was a big fan in the 70s and had every album. Wasnt sure what to expect but he was brilliant. Would def see him again.
Rob R, 10/11/14
It is a great venue, comfortable seating reflecting its ex-status as Londons premier concert hall, but now overtaken by bigger venues such as O2. Entry was a bit chaotic, shuffling through busy bar areas to get into the circle. Its a bit tired, but wouldnt take too much to lift it further. But I do wish you had a better booking system Eventim, I find yours very frustrating!
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (10/11/14) - Great opportunity to see a legendary performer
This was a well presented set combining old, familiar favourites with his new album. Nicely staged set with moody, subtle lighting rather than a dramatic, spectacular light show. It was a very laid back performance, which was well appreciated by the audience and I think deserved another encore song. If I have any criticism of the set it is that all of the new material was bunched together at the beginning of the 2nd half. I think it would have been better to have input some of this into the middle of the 1st half. I think some were disappointed about the duration of the new material in one lump and concerned that some of the favourites which he started with would be sacrificed. It was a shame that his new album wasnt released a little earlier to get a chance to familiarise oneself with his new material before the show. It wont stand the test of time of his classics, but is nevertheless very listenable. Yusuf/Cat Stevens - Thanks for the opportunity to see you perform some old favourites.
RL, 10/11/14
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (10/11/14) - Amazing concert, amazing memories
Great concert, full of memories and amazing songs of all times. I think the timing was right and that it was punctual. The inclination of the scenario, however, is not the best. But, in general, it was pretty good.
Jordan, 10/11/14
Sam Smith (10/11/14) - Great performance Sam.
Couldnt of wished for more - Sam catered for all his fans and his voice couldnt of sounded any better, great quality, just like listening to a Cd at home.
Dene Rosewarn, 10/11/14
Fantastic nights entertainment, Cat Stevens/Yusef Islam lived up to and beyond expectations. The venue was great, as were the staff and tickets affordable. Thank you very much, Dene Rosewarn
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (10/11/14) - Absolutely fantastic evening, in spite of drama !
Hi, I attended the Tuesday the 4th date with my wife and Daughter. We all really enjoyed the show which was a life long ambition fulfilled to see Cat/Yusef who in our opinion is one of the most iconic singer/songwriters alive today. We can not speak highly enough of the staff either, who came to my aid when I collapsed around 10 minutes into the second set after the interval. Sofie the medic was wonderful, as was the lady on the doors to the gents which had been closed due to a blockage. I am ok luckily, and I got to see the rest of the show after taking in some supplied water and rest on the exit steps. So thank you, and we will be back. All the best, Dene Rosewarn.
Hassan Bachani, 10/11/14
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (10/11/14) - THE VOICE OF A GENERATION
The voice was beautifully preserved throughout and the melody was gorgeous to say the least!! Brilliant and highly professional performance. Loved it :D
Matt B, 10/11/14
Very impressed with the venue! Great sound and atmosphere. Friendly staff and a superb stage to accommodate the amazing set. Exemplary!
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (10/11/14) - Superb Show!
A truly splendid time had by all - those of us in the audience and on stage. From the solo start to the three standing ovation encores, this was the perfect show in every way. Beautiful set and excellent sound plus a magical performance from Yusuf and the band. Note perfect and full of humour also, it was a wonderful evening.
Helen, 10/11/14
We came by train so cant score the parking. Our taxi had difficulty stopping to pick us up afterwards due to the road works outside.
Yusuf Islam / Cat Stevens (10/11/14) - Fabulous!
What a brilliant show, Yususf was in fantastic voice and performed a wide mix of old and new numbers. The stage set looked lovely and the lighting effects were great.
Tony G, 07/11/14
Plenty of bar staff - an important element of the evening. However, it is a large venue and the Grand Circle is a long way from the stage.
Pink Martini (07/11/14) - As always a great show
This band is quite unique and can always be relied on to provide a great evenings entertainment. Its a pity the audience dont realise that chatting amongst themselves is not the done thing - but you cant blame Pink Martini for that.
Will, 05/11/14
Hans Zimmer (05/11/14) - Fantastic Concert
A fabulous night watching the great Hans Zimmer. Great venue, well organised at the Apollo did not even have to queue to get in. We were lucky to get tickets well in advance and the theatre was full. The seats we had on the left hand side were great and we had a good view of the stage. The acoustics and music were brilliant. Cannot wait for the next concert by Hans Zimmer!
BCFC Tim, 04/11/14
Excellent acoustically, the Apollo is a great venue for gigs of this stature. Only real fault is that there are no food facilities and way too much bar capacity. People jumping up and down for drinks and later to relieve themselves becomes highly irritating.
Steve Hackett (04/11/14) - A Flower?...
Absoulutely stunning. I have seen Steve many times since first watching Genesis in 1974 and this was an immensely powerful show, with an outstanding group of musicians. Nad Sylvan sounded unnervingly like Peter Gabriel throughout. Fountain of Salmacis and The Musical Box exemplified this with the latter bringing the huge audience to their feet. The whole show was a high spot and rolled back the years, but with more power than originally. The Knife was as brilliant as it was unexpected and even predated Steves time with the band. His wonderful guitar solo on Firth of Fifth has never sounded better but best of all was the flawless Suppers Ready, still majestic after all this time. To those who think this was just a trip back to yesteryear, wrong. It was a showcase of stunningly good rock music that had the hall in raptures and endures undimmed. I am now off to California to see it all over again in December. Thanks to Steve and his superb band!
Jockabroad, 04/11/14
Parking nearby is always a pig. Local street parking is OK after 6.30pm on weekdays but you have to hunt round for a space.
Pink Martini (04/11/14) - Fabulous band
Thoroughly enjoyable evening. Plenty staff at the bar and plenty security staff on duty. The venue was warn and clean and the seats more comfortable than most West End theatres. Support band The Von Trapp family were good but were only on stage for 30 min. Pink Martini were simply fantastic. China Forbes ( lead vocalist) has a world class voice that just gets better and better, and a support band that are all individually brilliant and together even better. Go see!
GR10, 03/11/14
Steve Hackett (03/11/14) - Superb as always
Great band, great lights, great sound and a terrific set of many old Genesis favourites. Ive seen Steve lots of times and this performance scores 10. Just like the rest. Havent been to the Apollo in a very long time, but its charm remains, just like the Genesis back catalogue that Steve still loves playing.