first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.4 (63 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Debro, 24/12/13
Food and drink expensive but all in all the venue is fab. We need to get the big names in like Jay Z, Beyonce, Justin Timberlake and Rihanna.
BBC Sports Personality of the Year (24/12/13) - BBC SPOTY
Fabulous. The audience was brilliant. The seating was comfortable and the whole layout of the arena is great. The sound is exceptional and I certainly would not hesitate to go there again. Oh and the staff are all knowledgable and helpful. Disabled access was good as well.
Bev, 23/12/13
Boyzone (23/12/13) - Boyzone - a big disappointment....
What can I say, having seen Boyzone twice before I was expecting an amazing show but sadly that is not what I got. The show was slow paced, involved them singing lots of ballads with only a sprinkling of the old hits. This was not what the title 20 year anniversary celebration led me to expect. Add to that a weird 10 minute section half way through when the boys sat round a table commemorating the life of Stephen Gateley, recounting stories and looking at old clips that which completely killed the small amount of atmosphere they had managed to generate up to that point. I will always be a fan but I wont be wasting my money on another concert.
JLSters, 23/12/13
Everything good arena seating excellent, plenty of toilets and water fountains so you can fill up water bottles. Stewards very helpful and friendly. Front row only able to stand How lucky were we.
North East Live: JLS & Special Guests (23/12/13) - Fantastic Farewell Show
Front Row at Leeds Arena. Show Fantastic Band Great. Arena amazing and good acoustic. JLS emotional !!!!!!!!!!!
Jim Guy, 23/12/13
This was the first time I had been to the new Leeds Arena.The arena staff worked hard to get everyone in quickly which they did. I had bought top price tickets (£100 each inc fees)and was pleased to have got a pair of front row seats in block E just to the right of the stage. On arrival I was very disappointed to find that the view we had was obstructed by speakers and staging, all we could see was the faces of 3 members of the orchestra, Andre when he came to the front of the stage, otherwise all we saw was the top of his head and the backs of the percission section. I could have paid half the price and had a view of the whole stage from the tier 1 seating. There were empty seats in the tier 1 area right in front of the stage so we asked arena staff at the interval if we could move they said no as the tickets had been sold. People in both blocks A and E were complaining about the restricted view. Very disappointing will think twice about going to Leeds again
André Rieu (23/12/13) - Great concert, poor seating
This was the first time I had been to the new Leeds Arena. The concert was an early Christmas present for my wife who loves Andres music. The music was fantastic, as good as the TV concerts.The atmosphere were electric which made the event for both of us. One of the memorable moments was at the start when Andre and his orchestra entered through the arena. Andre himself passing in front of us with his big smile. As on his TV appearances Andre, and the orchestar include the audience in the whole atmosphere. The playing of White Christmas as artificial snow fell from the roof onto parts of the audience was magic and at the end when bucketfuls of snow dropped from the ceiling onto the audience below it turned them into snow people! Both of us cannot wait for a return tour and will be booking again with Eventim if possible
shepstwo, 23/12/13
André Rieu (23/12/13) - fantastic concert
Have got to admit it was one of the best shows my Wife and I have seen, non stop entertainment from start to finish,and what a finish,the 20minute encore was the Icing on the cake.Thank you Andre.
stephy, 16/12/13
great view from where we were. cant wait to use this venue again for other things. never used the parking as got the train to the event.
Boyzone (16/12/13) - AMAZING NIGHT!!!!!!
the first direct arena is an amazing place for anybody, great view. the night was amazing. loved every minute of it.
Kirsty150, 16/12/13
Boyzone (16/12/13) - Amazing
Took me back to being 16 again. Awesome. We could see everything clearly and was best concert Ive been to
Janice Adamson, 09/12/13
New Jersey Nights (09/12/13) - New Jersey nights
Group were very good, but sound was very poor up on level 2 Seats were very packed in together, was hoping for a little more room in the new arena
Amy, 09/12/13
Xmas Live (09/12/13) - FAB
This was an absolutely amazing event. All of the acts were brilliant the lineup was chosen, I want to see Mcfly, The Vamps and The Saturdays but everybody else was fab too, The seating area was clean and well set out, the lighting and the staging was set up well too. the staff were friendly although when buying drinks you werent allowed to have the lids and I my bottle got knocked over and ruined my coat which I though was a bit silly.
Debs, 09/12/13
New Jersey Nights (09/12/13) - Jersey Nights
Fantastic show, very enjoyable and uplifting. Brilliant singers and dancers. Defo 10/10. Could go and watch all over again!
Donna Jow, 08/12/13
Nickelback (08/12/13) - Fantastic Concert
First of all it was the first time we had been to Leeds First Direct Arena and was pleasantly impressed with the venue. Its not too big, city centre location, smoking areas, plenty of refreshment areas. Only two downsides, ladies toilets are quite small and it took us 1 and half hours to get out of the carpark after the concert!! Next time we are going to get the train or park away from the venue. Nickelback were fantastic and did not disapoint as we had seen them before at Sheffield so we knew what to expect. They are fantastic live and will definitely go see them again if they play at Leeds or Sheffield. Really enjoyed the supporting act too Skillett and we would go see them if they tour over here in the future.
Carolyn Gowers, 02/12/13
Could not give more than 3 stars for parking as I walked from my hotel but noticed the usual car park congestion on leaving.
Andrea Bocelli (02/12/13) - Andrea Bocelli in Leeds
Absolutely fabulous concert. Andrea had excellent orchestra and guest artistes. Travelled to Leeds from Berkshire and this concert was worth every mile !
TommyP, 02/12/13
Nickelback (02/12/13) - Excellent
The whole event was amazing and the venue is incredible!! The security and first aid staff were amazing also when needed on the night! The lighting at the venue was good and the sound quality was brilliant!
Jan, 26/11/13
Andrea Bocelli (26/11/13) - Andrea Bocelli. Leeds Arena
This evening was something I had waited for a long time. He is so amazing, his voice is beautiful and especially when singing with Heather Headley. I have watched performances on the television but to see him for real was just brilliant. If anyone likes Andrea as much as I do they should try to get to see him live. I sat there stunned on Sunday at the way the audience applauded him and standing at every song ending. Thank you Andrea for such a wonderful evening.
Woody, 19/11/13
Depeche Mode (19/11/13) - you rocked
Great venue and bars around the venue a plenty, Depeche Mode rocked the house, hope they come again next year
chris744, 19/11/13
Depeche Mode (19/11/13) - Incredible show!
That was unbelievable and unforgettable evening. Depech Mode and their outstanding performance, left me with open mouth! I was shocked! I always know they are great band with great songs, but when youll see them live youll never forget it!
Ricardo, 18/11/13
Great staff, acoustics, facilities, location and access. The drink is quite pricey but to be expected when its a captive audience.
Stereophonics (18/11/13) - Top band, top arena
The Stereos rocked the First Direct Arena on Friday. Always had their music but never seen live - changed the music forever. Kelly Jones is one amazing singer and guitar player ....... and piano despite him denying it! Will be at the FDA again soon.
Guy, 18/11/13
The venue gave you perfect viewing and sound no matter where you were stood/sat. It was well organized with no long queing. Toilets were clean, food and drink was reasonably priced. Excellent venue. would recommend
Stereophonics (18/11/13) - Outstanding
From start to finish, every song was played to perfection, effortlessly. It was also nice to hear Kelly interacting with the audience. Probably the best concert I have been. Venue was spot on!
Nettie, 18/11/13
Depeche Mode (18/11/13) - amazing gig
I have been a fan for many years, it was a truly amazing gig, such a great night. I have been playing Delta Machine loads since its release, so glad they also added some of their classic tracks, everyone of my friends who went appear to be of the same opinion.
frankie smales, 18/11/13
what a great evening and the atmosphere was out of this world and with pure energy and the roof got blown off with euphoria. five stars.
WWE Live (18/11/13) - wwe live at first direct arena
the night was excellent and the atmosphere was pure euphoric energy with great rapturous delight and the whole experience of wwe was like no other and if I had the chance I would definatley venture it again that why im giving it a five star rating.