first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.4 (132 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

sothstand Geordie, 03/03/14
The signage directing your customers to seating needs to be addressed. One suggestion would be to have seat numbers indicated with block numbers ie low numbers to the left and high numbers to the right. This system appears to work very well at Phones4You in Manchester.
The Australian Pink Floyd Show (03/03/14) - Brilliant show
Have listened to this music for over 40 years and this is the first time I have seen Aussie Floyd. What an amazing tribute to the writing of Pink Floyd. First heard Dark Side Of The Moon in the rather short lived Sony Quadraphonic system; a great pity more of there early stuff hadnt been done in this format. However 5.1 systems nowadays make up for this.
Gary 58, 03/03/14
The Australian Pink Floyd Show (03/03/14) - Superb Show !
Tribute bands can get a bad press but The Australian Pink Floyd must be the best at what they do , Superb musicians and singers combine to pay homage to the music of Barrett,Waters,Gilmour,Mason and Wright and do not let anybody down......the chosen set list ticked all the boxes and the Lights/Lasers and Visuals add superbly to what is a top class show.....highly recommended
Angie, 03/02/14
Good views great acoustics,very clean, very helpful staff, only spoilt by long queues for ladies as usual in these big arenas.
Strictly Come Dancing Live Tour (03/02/14) - Loved It
This was my 4th time at Strictly with 3 friends and it did not disappoint. We thought it was very slick. Great venue. Very clean.
tiger, 29/01/14
Strictly Come Dancing Live Tour (29/01/14) - What a great night
This was a great night we both really enjoyed the event. Great seats and view. The set was fantastic and the standard of dancing first class. As regards entertainment factor first class second to none. Highly recommended.
BevCav109, 25/01/14
Brilliant venue....absolutely spot on.....just the right size....parking across the road, just watch the parking charges though, best to enter car park AFTER 6 or you will be charged an extra coupla quid...
Strictly Come Dancing Live Tour (25/01/14) - Fantastic night
This is the 5th time we have been to see Strictly and it gets better every yr!! It is one of the best nights of our year...I took my Son 8 and my Daughter 10, they loved every minute, we had front row seats and were high fived by some of the dancers as they made their way to the stage....and afterwards Robin signed my Sons book and had his photo taken with them both....if you want entertainment and love Strictly, you MUST go to the tour, you will go year after year....like us x
Xtina Aucky, 15/01/14
BBC Sports Personality of the Year (15/01/14) - Fantastic
What a wonderful evening we had. Its a superb arena with great acoustics. The presenters did a good job of moving around the arena interviewing many different sports personalities. The atmosphere was electric. Will definitely go and see many more events here.
Bramley Rhino, 27/12/13
only small complaint was that the arena became very stuffy before the show started. it did become more bearable after the show started
BBC Sports Personality of the Year (27/12/13) - Fantastic event
A great night watching a live TV show. The warm up was interesting and the show itself was very good
1weetwood, 26/12/13
I have visited the venue several times and can simply say it is fantastic. My one gripe is the bars do not have enough choice and only half are ever open.
Peter Pan - The Never Ending Story (26/12/13) - Not Peter Pan that we know
Some will find the show very good, but sadly, not our family. The songs were all sung with a classical edge. Hook sang Opera and Smee wore a dress. This really dissapointed us and i noted that quite a few near us left at half time. My son was bored throughout. Im sorry to say that i would not recommend.
Richard Barrett, 24/12/13
It was far too hot inside the arena. There is no excuse for a brand new arena not being able to control the temperature. The bar stopped serving alcohol when the event started. Some of the staff serving were slow. There are a few places with bare walls and visible ducting which just looks like it is unfinished. On the plus side there is excellent lighting, good quality video screens for spectators at the back and comfortable seats.
BBC Sports Personality of the Year (24/12/13) - Could Do Better
Never having been to a similar event, it was everything I thought it would be. There was a tremendous atmosphere with excellent compares. The whole evening seemed well rehearsed. The bag containing programme and torch was a nice touch.
Debro, 24/12/13
Food and drink expensive but all in all the venue is fab. We need to get the big names in like Jay Z, Beyonce, Justin Timberlake and Rihanna.
BBC Sports Personality of the Year (24/12/13) - BBC SPOTY
Fabulous. The audience was brilliant. The seating was comfortable and the whole layout of the arena is great. The sound is exceptional and I certainly would not hesitate to go there again. Oh and the staff are all knowledgable and helpful. Disabled access was good as well.
Bev, 23/12/13
Boyzone (23/12/13) - Boyzone - a big disappointment....
What can I say, having seen Boyzone twice before I was expecting an amazing show but sadly that is not what I got. The show was slow paced, involved them singing lots of ballads with only a sprinkling of the old hits. This was not what the title 20 year anniversary celebration led me to expect. Add to that a weird 10 minute section half way through when the boys sat round a table commemorating the life of Stephen Gateley, recounting stories and looking at old clips that which completely killed the small amount of atmosphere they had managed to generate up to that point. I will always be a fan but I wont be wasting my money on another concert.
JLSters, 23/12/13
Everything good arena seating excellent, plenty of toilets and water fountains so you can fill up water bottles. Stewards very helpful and friendly. Front row only able to stand How lucky were we.
North East Live: JLS & Special Guests (23/12/13) - Fantastic Farewell Show
Front Row at Leeds Arena. Show Fantastic Band Great. Arena amazing and good acoustic. JLS emotional !!!!!!!!!!!
Jim Guy, 23/12/13
This was the first time I had been to the new Leeds Arena.The arena staff worked hard to get everyone in quickly which they did. I had bought top price tickets (£100 each inc fees)and was pleased to have got a pair of front row seats in block E just to the right of the stage. On arrival I was very disappointed to find that the view we had was obstructed by speakers and staging, all we could see was the faces of 3 members of the orchestra, Andre when he came to the front of the stage, otherwise all we saw was the top of his head and the backs of the percission section. I could have paid half the price and had a view of the whole stage from the tier 1 seating. There were empty seats in the tier 1 area right in front of the stage so we asked arena staff at the interval if we could move they said no as the tickets had been sold. People in both blocks A and E were complaining about the restricted view. Very disappointing will think twice about going to Leeds again
André Rieu (23/12/13) - Great concert, poor seating
This was the first time I had been to the new Leeds Arena. The concert was an early Christmas present for my wife who loves Andres music. The music was fantastic, as good as the TV concerts.The atmosphere were electric which made the event for both of us. One of the memorable moments was at the start when Andre and his orchestra entered through the arena. Andre himself passing in front of us with his big smile. As on his TV appearances Andre, and the orchestar include the audience in the whole atmosphere. The playing of White Christmas as artificial snow fell from the roof onto parts of the audience was magic and at the end when bucketfuls of snow dropped from the ceiling onto the audience below it turned them into snow people! Both of us cannot wait for a return tour and will be booking again with Eventim if possible
shepstwo, 23/12/13
André Rieu (23/12/13) - fantastic concert
Have got to admit it was one of the best shows my Wife and I have seen, non stop entertainment from start to finish,and what a finish,the 20minute encore was the Icing on the cake.Thank you Andre.
stephy, 16/12/13
great view from where we were. cant wait to use this venue again for other things. never used the parking as got the train to the event.
Boyzone (16/12/13) - AMAZING NIGHT!!!!!!
the first direct arena is an amazing place for anybody, great view. the night was amazing. loved every minute of it.
Kirsty150, 16/12/13
Boyzone (16/12/13) - Amazing
Took me back to being 16 again. Awesome. We could see everything clearly and was best concert Ive been to
Janice Adamson, 09/12/13
New Jersey Nights (09/12/13) - New Jersey nights
Group were very good, but sound was very poor up on level 2 Seats were very packed in together, was hoping for a little more room in the new arena
Amy, 09/12/13
Xmas Live (09/12/13) - FAB
This was an absolutely amazing event. All of the acts were brilliant the lineup was chosen, I want to see Mcfly, The Vamps and The Saturdays but everybody else was fab too, The seating area was clean and well set out, the lighting and the staging was set up well too. the staff were friendly although when buying drinks you werent allowed to have the lids and I my bottle got knocked over and ruined my coat which I though was a bit silly.
Debs, 09/12/13
New Jersey Nights (09/12/13) - Jersey Nights
Fantastic show, very enjoyable and uplifting. Brilliant singers and dancers. Defo 10/10. Could go and watch all over again!
Donna Jow, 08/12/13
Nickelback (08/12/13) - Fantastic Concert
First of all it was the first time we had been to Leeds First Direct Arena and was pleasantly impressed with the venue. Its not too big, city centre location, smoking areas, plenty of refreshment areas. Only two downsides, ladies toilets are quite small and it took us 1 and half hours to get out of the carpark after the concert!! Next time we are going to get the train or park away from the venue. Nickelback were fantastic and did not disapoint as we had seen them before at Sheffield so we knew what to expect. They are fantastic live and will definitely go see them again if they play at Leeds or Sheffield. Really enjoyed the supporting act too Skillett and we would go see them if they tour over here in the future.