Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.1 (203 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Aaron Rosenthal, 14/07/14
Hall & Oates (14/07/14) - Best gig ever.
I sweated a lot. Surely thats a good sign. They played all the hits, everyone was very happy, they had a saxophonist in a linen suit and a Gandalf beard called Mr Casual. I think if you asked for more, youre an idiot.
Allan Smith, 14/07/14
One of the best places to see a concert. I have been goint there since the 70s when it was the Hammersmith Odeon
Hall & Oates (14/07/14) - Fantastic!!
They were incredible! Played all the hits and the audience were also unbelievable! What a show! One of the best concerts of my life!
Keith Liberty, 09/07/14
Jack White (09/07/14) - Flippin brilliant gig
So full of excited anticipation as the days led up. First pub out of tube was perfect, drinking outside with a three piece plugged in band entertaining all. Actually met Jacks violinist Lillie Mae there! A fine handshake. Earlier Id been thinking that because of the curtains at the Apollo wouldnt it be great if Jack used the opportunity of not just a walk on entrance. Well he sure did, the sight and sound of him bursting through as they parted will I hope stay with me forever. What followed was bliss to the senses. What a man! What a band! Great stage-set, lighting, sound, view. Been recalling it ever since. Thanks Jack. Thanks Eventim.
Diki77, 09/07/14
This iconic venue in West London which to a man of my age will always be the Hammersmith Odeon. Its very walls emanate the rich musical history of all the bands who have graced its stage over the decades. I cant remember the last time I was here in terms of a date, but I can remember the noise!
Jack White (09/07/14) - Thunderous performance
It is a fair while since I have been in a more anticipatory crowd - the atmosphere was crackling with electricity and so was Jack when he danced on about 9.15 and started throwing shapes around the stage with his guitar to the fore. It was loud, distorted and heavy - and the crowd, as they say, went wild! I was in the seats at the back but no one sat down all night - the man delivered what the punters came for - pure excitement and a thunderous performance dripping with energy and feedback. If I had a criticism - such as it may be called - it would be that so distorted and chaotic was the guitar work at times that it was not always obvious which track he was playing - but then, who really gave a flying rusty duck! Great show.
Elle Q, 08/07/14
The seating had plenty of leg room which was refreshing and could see the stage clearly. The sound for the film was far too loud resulting in poor sound quality. There were not enough toilets. Drinks were over priced & queues to the bar were ridiculous.
Jay & Silent Bob (08/07/14) - Awesome evening!
Great event, format was brilliant with the opportunity to be the audience for Hollywood Babble-On as well as the animals film. Only criticism would be it was a shame there was an 11 oclock curfew as the Q&A at the end seemed very rushed.
S Jay, 08/07/14
The Apollo has vastly improved since my last visit, about 6 years ago. Lovely decor and easy to get around and to.
Jack White (08/07/14) - Electric! Jack White 3.7.2014
Fifth time I have seen Jack White. He never fails to please. The crowd there were so up for it and I think he and the band fed of the energy in the room. Jack White is a showman, a fantastic and collaborative musician. Live, he has very few equals. 2 hours of sheer pleasure for me!
Peter, 08/07/14
My wife and I were lucky enough to see Jack White live at the Apollo just after he released his second solo album, Lazaretto. The venue was very well organised, queueing was easy, getting drinks was easy and the toilets were clean. The show was out of this world not only because Jack White is a rock god but because the Apollo is the perfect venue to be entertained by your favourite artist.
Jack White (08/07/14) - Excellent all round
My wife and I were lucky enough to see Jack White live at the Apollo just after he released his second solo album, Lazaretto. The venue was very well organised, queueing was easy, getting drinks was easy and the toilets were clean. The show was out of this world not only because Jack White is a rock god but because the Apollo is the perfect venue to be entertained by your favourite artist.
GaryW66, 08/07/14
Jack White (08/07/14) - Top of his game
Jack White. Hammersmith Odeon 3rd July 2014. So after a four week gap between gigs we are back in the swing of things at the hallowed venue, Hammersmith Odeon. It was the scene of my first ever gig, Whitesnake in 1981 and indeed 18 of next 25 gigs I ever went to were here. It may have changed its name many times in the past 30 years but it will still be Hammy O to me and my favourite venue. This year’s moniker is the Eventim Apollo and it welcomes Mr Jack White. I have seen Jack in many of his guises, The White Stripes, The Raconteurs and solo and he has never failed to deliver so expectations were high. It’s hot and sweaty outside but that feels positively balmy compared to the heat generated by the 5000 souls inside. There’s a feeling that Jack is a little unhinged at the moment playing a secret gig the night before with the audience dressed in hospital gowns and he being pushed away in a hospital bed. This on top of his falling into the drum kit at Glasto. I dunno but have always felt that he’s a man on the edge and that’s probably what makes him so interesting creatively much like Ryan Adams and Conor Oberst. I won’t bore you with running through the set but for me there were obvious highlights, Three Women, Hotel Yorba, Ball and Biscuit and a different take on Steady as She Goes. Working without a setlist he went wherever the mood took him supported by a superb band led by the charismatic drummer who can’t sit for too long, has his drums pointing in a jaunty angle and has a penchant for the cow bell. The violinist is accomplished and can actually be heard amongst the electric mayhem going on and has a unique high pitched voice that compliments Jack’s well. This complemented by Mandolin, Theremin, pedal steel, organ, keyboard, upright base. All that’s missing is Evelyn Glennie and her glockenspiel. The night moves from acoustic albeit heavily amplified with mandolin to full on delta blues taking in Rock/Rap. Indeed a lot of the songs especially the new ones are delivered in a real punchy staccato style, the lyrics spat out in a Rage against the Machine mode which for this young listener aint a bad thing. It’s an energetic show and Jack does his best rock god impressions that don’t look cheesy or contrived. He’s obviously enjoying this and makes some barbed comments about Glastonbury and distance to the audience. Two hours later it’s all over closing with the football terrace friendly Seven Nation Army. We leave and I’m in desperate need of rehydration and some new ear drums please. Five stars to wake up London on a hot steamy night. Sleep comes much later thanks to the ringing in the ears.
eddie, 08/07/14
Lovely building and lots of bar space. Always feels relaxed and calm when I have been there. Well organised and clean. Great acoustics.
Jack White (08/07/14) - Full of energy and amazing guitar playing!
Jack is a great performer, and clearly lives and breathes guitar. He reminds me a little of Jimi Hendrix. Just wish he had stopped in between songs, as it was not always clear where one ended and another started!
Sher, 08/07/14
Jack White (08/07/14) - Jack was amazing, venue ticketing sucks
I paid nearly £80 for two tickets standing in the Upper Circle on my birthday to see my favorite artist. Purchased directly from Eventim Apollo. When I got there they told me my tickets were to stand single file against the wall upstairs. It was beyond a joke. Literally people standing up the stairs along the wall. Luckily we grabbed some seats that were empty and the people didnt show up so my birthday show wasnt ruined.. It should be made clear at the point of purchase that this is the case. I wouldnt have paid more than £5 to stand against an upstairs wall. This type of ticketing practice should be against the law. Consumers have no recourse under T&Cs. Shame on you Eventim Apollo. Five star rating is for Jack Whites performance, not the experience.
Redomelette, 03/07/14
Penn and Teller (03/07/14) - Penn and Teller as weve seen them before
There are no doubts that Penn and Teller are a couple of the greatest magicans around and certainly an show I have wanted to see for a long time. However, the show which included much material I had seen them perform before on the internet and on their recent UK TV show left little in the way of surprises. There was no flow to the show as they went from bit to bit with no linking material. The highlight however was getting to shake hands with the performers after the show as they took the time to greet every audience member would wanted to have a photo or get an autograph. The show did not did not dempen my enjoyed for the pair, just my likely hood of seeing another one of their live shows. The tickets are not cheap I was hoping there would be more fresh material that was not so readily available.
Bakes, 18/06/14
Greatly improved from one of our last visits. Now a clean, venue with excellent sound and good sight lines.
Pat Metheny Unity Group (18/06/14) - Outstanding
A great concert, with Pat and his band playing with intensity, power, variation and togetherness. Having first seen him back in 1985 at the same venue it was a delight to see him and his band perform material from his whole back catalogue, for so long and with what appeared like a couple of extra encores to the planned ones. What a true giant and master of the guitar Pat Metheny is and his present band have such variety and skill to complement and extend him. Only negative, no Lyle Mays on piano.
Angie Lalanne, 18/06/14
Pat Metheny Unity Group (18/06/14) - Metheny is a guitar genius.
I have loved Methenys music for 25 years and havent seen him since Juan-les-Pins in 1989. His music has always had a huge effect on me, and as I have got older, this effect has magnified; it takes me to places no other music can and has a huge nostalgic effect too. The Apollo was a lovely venue, quite intimate, good seating, not too loud, easy to get in and out, great transport and easy parking at Novotel. Watching and hearing him work his magic with that guitar was an experience I will never forget. His live music sounds as good as the recordings, better in fact. I am not a Jazz fan, but I love Metheny. Awesome.
Mike Harvey, 18/06/14
Pat Metheny Unity Group (18/06/14) - Excellent
A wonderful experience which enabled me to understand and appreciate the quality of Pat Metheny and his band
P Ince, 18/06/14
New look Apollo is really lovely, gorgeous building beautifully renovated. Bars really great, plenty of bars and staff all lovely.
Soul & Funk Spectacular (18/06/14) - BEST NIGHT EVER!!
This was an awesome night, we had the best fun the joint was totally jumping. Brilliant fun. Please put on more.
John D Carrion, 04/06/14
Julie Andrews (04/06/14) - Wonderful Event!
We all really enjoyed this experience but were dismayed that the programmes were sold out 20 minutes before it started and that the paper to submit questions were gone before we had any chance to submit one. It seemed to be done on the cheap and for £80 per ticket, it was really not well received.
Lucy, 03/06/14
Loved the look of the venue,lots of history,beautiful lights and decor. The staff were very friendly and enjoyed themselves too!
New Kids On The Block (03/06/14) - Great night, fab venue!
This was my first time going to Hammersmith Apollo and I would book again as the venue was lovely! We could see the stage from where we were sitting. Loved the show bought back memories! Thanks for getting such a great boy/man band from the US to come to your venue!!!!
Abbie, 02/06/14
The venue was quite good. Problem was when drinks spilt it rolled right the way down and on to my bag shoes etc.
Elvis Presley On Stage (02/06/14) - Brilliant event!!!!
It was absolutely amazing. I took my mum and auntie as they love Elvis. It was just so great. The band was excellent. Could not fault the event. When everyone got up to dance it made the experience more memorable. We loved every bit. Should do it again as others I know would love to have been there but it was only for two days. Should come back again!!!!! Also their should of been a few places to be able to buy merchandise from as it was hard to get too.
mj, 02/06/14
I noticed the venue was painted green since my last visit but it still lacks glamour and ceremony for such a historic hall.The toilets also need a major revamp
Julie Andrews (02/06/14) - disappointing
Julie Andrews was amazing but the set and production was a let down. The audience was disconnected and not really a part of the event and hardly any questions were asked from the audience itself. An evening with implies interaction. At the end we waited outside the gates for a glimpse of Ms Andrews but were told after 2 hrs she had left via another exit. If we had known of this possibility we would have not waited so long.
APOLLO55, 02/06/14
Have always enjoyed going to shows/concerts at Hammersmith since the 80`s. Allways a good atmosphere, usually a good view wherever you sit and at a reasonable price.
Elvis Presley On Stage (02/06/14) - EXCELLENT SHOW
A most enjoyable show, my partner & I enjoyed it immensely! It was very clever the way the show was presented, with a live band it did feel like one was actually seeing Elvis on stage. We would definitely see it again!