Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.3 (378 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Kevin Hill, 29/09/14
Kate Bush (29/09/14) - Two magical evenings: from Kev.
I would like to agree with almost everybody else who has left a review here, namely, it was so worth the 35 year wait we all had. Firstly, I went to two shows (02/09 and 23/09), so I was luckier than most. Both were hospitality packages at £414. The event at St. Pauls church was brilliant both nights I went: the food was very good and the whole staff were very helpful, and thank you, Phoebe, for remembering my name after a 3 week gap, ha, ha. As for the concert, it was pure magic: 3 hours of proving what an absolute genius Kate is. Even the lack of tracks from the first 4 albums did not diminish the shows in any way. Someone else on these reviews said she `tore up the rule book for concerts: I agree entirely with that statement. I hope Bertie talks her into doing this again. Soon! Great band, great venue (though I also agree it was very hot in there) and 35 years of hurt finally came to an end. Thank you for the memorable concerts, Kate. xx. Most people have to be elderly to become a `National Treasure: you have proved it since Wuthering Heights first came out.
Tina Dagostino, 29/09/14
Kate Bush (29/09/14) - Unique and unforgettable
The sheer beauty of it all took my breath away. The live versions of gems like Top of The City, The Morning Fog, Prologue and all the others masterpieces so, my god, so heartbreakingly beautiful... you could feel her heart in her voice. It was gig, film and theater all in one... mind blowing! I can only say Thank you, Kate, from the bottom of my heart.
Karis, 27/09/14
Kate Bush (27/09/14) - AMAZING.
WOW. I really struggled to get Kate Bush tickets so when I managed to get two I was so over the moon. I got stalls tickets and I could see everything in such great detail. Kate is absolutely beautiful and mesmerising. This was not a concert, this was a work of art. A beautiful experience that moved me to tears of deep emotion and joy. I am in my twenties and was so pleased to see and meet other younger fans of Kate too and learn from the original fans from her earlier days which was an experience in itself. The performance was pure theatre and reflects Kates vision and theatrical style. I never thought I would ever get to see her live or in person, thought I was definitely born in the wrong generation. Her announcement of a tour was a shock and brought hope and joy to many Kate fans across the world. This was a once in a lifetime experience that I will forever be deeply grateful for. If I died tomorrow so be it, because I got to see Kate Bush live and fulfilled a life dream I never thought would happen. This Womans Work is the most amazing stuff youll ever experience musically. So very happy. Thank you Kate, we love you.
Mike the Pedant in Warwickshire, 25/09/14
I havent been before, but it looks good, presumably owing to the refurb work. Quite crowded at interval; bar queue short, but £2.50 for water was steep. Couldnt see stage past the giant sat in front of me in the upper circle.
Kate Bush (25/09/14) - More a theatrical performance than a rock gig
One lengthy set piece would be fine, and The Ninth Wave was magnificent; but two was a bit much, when it precluded playing anything at all from the first 4 albums. Anyone unfamiliar with Aerial would be baffled by the second half of the show. Quite self-indulgent to do the entire Sky Of Honey suite. The band were tight, but essentially reproduced the sound of the record, rather than reinventing it live. Good to see Kate Bush perform live though, a once in a lifetime chance I think.
Murphy, 25/09/14
Kate Bush (25/09/14) - When dreams come true....
Before The Dawn was unlike any other gig I have ever been to, in fact it cannot be called a gig or a show - it is an experience. Kate Bush was wonderful. From the moment she stepped on stage the outpouring of love and respect from the audience was tangible. Her voice is still impeccable, matured from the days of Wuthering Heights it carries such clarity and sensuality it gives goosebumps. The band and backing singers/performers were also immaculate. Not wanting to give away any spoilers, the staging and effects were breath-taking, surprising and at points eerie, it all flowed beautifully. The venue was perfect for the event. It manages to have a homely feel and all the staff were friendly and helpful. From every aspect it was a wonderful night definitely as magical as I hoped.
Minty, 23/09/14
Kates performance was enhanced by the size of the venue. I went twice both times in the circle. Great views and amazing sound. Obviously Kate was brilliant! I am short and my view was relatively unhindered by taller fans sitting in front. The leg room wasnt brilliant and it was hot but not enough to spoil the event. The staff were exceptional polite and helpful. I would definitely see another event here and I would definitely see Kate again!
Kate Bush (23/09/14) - Intimate venue. Fabulous gig.
A fabulous performance by the KT Fellowship. The band were fabulous, Kates performance was intimate and magical. Her voice was powerful and left me speechless. Berties performance of Tawny Moon I loved and the band played it brilliantly. Kate has changed the face of music again with this innovative and imaginative production. Sing it on, bring it on. More more more!
benbooafrica, 23/09/14
Great venue second only to the RAH, easy to get to, well organised, love the art deco bar areas but air conditioning could do with an upgrade as it gets hot and humid as the night wears on.
Kate Bush (23/09/14) - Lived Up To Expectations and Then Some!
We lived overseas when Kate did her tour in 1979 and must admit as the years went by we had given up on ever seeing her live so it was with great excitement when she announced her dates at the Apollo but then despair as we failed to get any tickets when they went on sale in March. However the moral of the story is never give up as in the last two weeks we managed to get tickets from Eventim to see her on not one but two nights 10th & 19th. People raise their eyebrows when the hear we went to see her twice in close succession but without giving anything away to those who are still to see the performance (and I choose that word carefully) Before The Dawn is not just a concert it is an experience which you could watch any number of times and still see something different or new - that is the magic of Kate, no ordinary performer/song writer - an original one off backed by a great band of musicians and singers Thanks Kate for making the long wait so worth while but please dont make it another 35 years before we get to see you again!
Dave, 21/09/14
I liked the Apollo a lot. Didnt rate the parking because I dont drive. For acoustics and sight lines I only gave two stars because while the sight line where I sat was a four star rating considering the distance, the acoustics at the venue were absolutely awful! I think it might have something to do with the way the sound man set up the PA system. It was too loud when the tempo of the music started picking up with very-very bad, almost ear damaging levels of splashy treble and very little bass. I could barely understand her at all sometimes! At least where I was sitting. I had to cover my ears when it started getting loud! I have a friend who is a professional sound man and he wouldnt of stood for this - sorry. But apart from that (quite important) gripe it was an enjoyable evening at a very nice venue.
Kate Bush (21/09/14) - Kate Bush at the Apollo
It was great seeing KB perform live after all these years. The first time Ive actually seen her live and in the flesh. Her voice was as good as ever. The sets were great with the video part being particularly well implemented here and the puppetry amusing. The Ninth Wave section of the show was the best part I think. There were only a couple of negatives. Firstly and Im not the only one who thought this from what I was hearing from others. It would of been nice if she had performed more of her better known songs from the back catalog. There were a few but not enough - Wuthering Heights wasnt performed at all for instance. I know she might be a bit fed up with it, as its from so long ago, but it did jump start her career back in the day and is still the song shes best known for. The other problem I had was with the sound quality at the event, it was just awful! Ive gone into more detail on that subject in my review of the Apollo itself below. But despite those two gripes I thoroughly enjoyed myself and it was worth every penny!!
Wilfried, 20/09/14
Kate Bush (20/09/14) - We were lucky to be there
Hi we came from Paris last weekend to see the show and my only regret is that I could no go again! One week after I am still on my cloud :))) the show was totally unbelievable, Kate has still her amazing voice, it was amazing to hear all those songs on live... There is no adjective to qualify my feeling how it was so uncredible. I was a little bit frustrated because the public didńt move when Kate danced. I hope we have been able to communicate to Kate how we love her. She is unique...
Lewis, 19/09/14
A beautiful venue. The atmosphere was electric, fantastic seats too. Cannot fault it! The merchandise stand was a bit crazy but apart from that everything else was fabulous.
Kate Bush (19/09/14) - Amazing, fabulous, incredible, stunning!
When Kate announced these shows, I had no idea what to expect. I neednt have worried. Before the Dawn was like an outer body experience. The minute Kate walked on stage she had the audience in the palm of her hand. She OWNED that stage and hearing gems such as Hounds of Love and Running Up That Hill live was simply incredible. The technical fault that lasted for half an hour didnt dampen my spirits either. The Ninth Wave segment was breathtaking, funny and emotional. Same with A Sky of Honey, two beautifully crafted pieces of art. The encore was emotional yet uplifting. Every single person in the Apollo sang along to Cloudbusting. Simply stunning and fantastic! The Apollo itself is a beautiful venue, and the atmosphere was ELECTRIC! Kudos to everyone involved in this once in a lifetime event.
bunny, 19/09/14
Kate Bush (19/09/14) - awesome
an outstanding performance and show. Never seen anything like it in my life.So glad to have experienced it. Everything in the show went well, Kates voice was amazing and pitch perfect. The venue was great and staff helpful but it was very hot in there! Just wish I could go again.
Anne, 18/09/14
Kate Bush (18/09/14) - WOW!
The staff at the hospitality event were very welcoming and helpful. The vegetarian hamper was delicious, especially the desserts! The church created a great and interesting atmosphere The show itself was fantastic and amazing, well worth the wait!
Jeremiah, 18/09/14
Kate Bush (18/09/14) - Wonderful Return
Before the Dawn was an amazing performance by Kate Bush and her band. Im glad I had the chance to see this in such an intimate setting. I doubt Ill ever see such an interesting mix of music and theater again. Bravo to all the performers!
Paulo Amorim, 18/09/14
Kate Bush (18/09/14) - AMAZING
Totally worths two trips from Brazil to England within a month. I had been to the opening night on Aug-16th and returned to 2 more shows, on sept-9th and sept-12th. The opening night was absolutely amazing and I thought Id would never feel such emotion again, but her performance has grown so much as the days go by that the last performance Ive seen impressed me lots more than the first one! Kate is more confident, more relaxed at stage - shes now showing all she is! Wish I could get more ticket to see it one more time, closer to the end of the show.
Peter musty, 17/09/14
Kate Bush (17/09/14) - An unforgettable evening
What a wonderful evening we had and it started with the hospitality. Neither of us knew what to expect so when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. We thought we were going to a church hall but instead we were shown to this beautiful church which was tastefully decorated. The hampers were lavish and very filling. All the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Thank you very much.
LisaPops, 17/09/14
Not enough womens toilets like the rest of the world! Bars and merchandise stands would have benefited from more staff. Beautiful sound quality and graphics.
Kate Bush (17/09/14) - I put this moment ... here
It was a night I will remember forever and one of the highlights of my 51 years on this earth. Seeing Kate Bush walk out on stage (from the 6th row helped tremendously) right there in front of me, actual Kate Bush! - smiling with joy and singing exquisitely, brought tears of disbelief and delight that would not quit. Its hard to add to the superlatives offered by so many other appreciative fans, but it was a phenomenal, spine-tingling, heart-warming event bursting with creativity and vision. Kate was fully in command of her art and that was wonderful to see after the acres of newsprint speculation about her return after 35 years of absence from the stage. Something that aided my enjoyment (as if it needed any help!) was the TOTAL absence of smart phones or cameras held aloft during the show. Not a single glow of a screen marred my experience, something that has become unheard of on the London gig scene in the last 5 years or so. Kate asked her fans not to put any devices between themselves and their experience, and it worked. Arguably most Kate Bush fans seeing her live after 35 years probably would have kept the digital distractions to a minimum, but the total respect and rapt attention to the stage made my enjoyment all the sweeter (and made me even sadder and angrier about the opposite experience which has practically ruined most of the concerts I have attended in recent years). So thank you everybody, and bring back old-fashioned focus and attention I say! I feel incredibly blessed to be one of the lucky ones who got tickets to this (yes I have to say it) once in a lifetime experience. Thank you Kate.
LizLucy, 17/09/14
Kate Bush (17/09/14) - Simply brilliant
Am amazing event that will remain a rare treat for all her fans and live forever in our hearts and that room in my mind. Am still blown away - she is an artistic genius, an acoustic goddess.. I could go on. The audience were also amazing, they were electric! Not a phone or camera in site once Kate was on stage. Id like to thank Eventim for putting tickets back up on sale as otherwise I would not have made it and now I know what I would have missed! Thank you Kate for giving us this gem.
Mark, 17/09/14
Kate Bush (17/09/14) - Fantastic
As with so many others, I never expected Kate to tour again...but lo and behold we got tickets to row E for Saturday 13th September. What a delightful surprise to find out we where on the the front row :-). What an incredible show and hats off to Kate, her family and all the crew. She was so warm and appreciative to the crowd and her voice is as beautiful as it ever was. It was fantastic and left us hungry for more. I would lobe to see the show again and really hope the rumours that the performances 16th and 17th Sepember are being recorded for release on DVD......there will be a disc with my name on it ...lol
Tim Lloydsmith, 17/09/14
Cant rate the parking as I came up on the train, but it was a brilliant venue, having sympathetically restored Art deco architecture, and great acoustics and it added massively to the atmosphere of the night. Well chosen by Kate. (Of course)
Kate Bush (17/09/14) - One of the best nights of my life....
And I am 53, so I have chalked up a few in my time....cannot really add much to what everyone else has said about the show - all the reviews have it nailed.. As well as being an artist beyond compare - Kate is also a lovely person, she has shown many kindnesses to her fans in the past. The combination of her friendliness, incredible voice, powerful and moving work, brought to life by being staged so lovingly - made this an unforgettable experience! Oh and Eventims service was very good too. Big lasting smiles here :-):-)
Gill, 17/09/14
A lovely place to see a band, small and intimate just about the right size so you can hear and see the artist. Some places I have been to especially in Birmingham they are just too big and you dont get the right atmosphere - small is much better!
Kate Bush (17/09/14) - Brilliant
Saw kate bush 12 September it was a wonderful night I will remember for ever, brilliant seats 3 rows from the front on the end where she passed by has part of the show just wonderful and very emotional.