Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue Eventim Apollo London

Derren Brown
26/07/14
Unbelievable! from Rich, 30/07/14
Derren has done it again! We went to see him on 26th July 2014 and as a group of 22 of us. The show was fantastic! A must see!
Hall & Oates
11/07/14
at long last! from long time fan, 29/07/14
Ive been a fan for so long & never had the opportunity to see them live before. Managed to buy tickets early so had very good seats. This concert was better than many Ive been to there in that fewer people needed to constantly go in & out for drinks & toilet, which usually spoils events at the Apollo. Hall & Oates did not disappoint, voices & musicianship still great, only negative point was that I would have liked a 2 hour show rather than barely 90 minutes, such a long back catalogue & so many great numbers not performed. Overall an excellent night.
Derren Brown
26/07/14
A great evening from Philip, 29/07/14
Derren lived up to what I had expected. Ive watched most of his TV stuff and so it was great to see him in action live. His mind reading skills were awesome. Id recommend anyone who likes this kind of show to go and see him.
Jack Johnson
20/07/14
Too hot to handle from Red Kite, 29/07/14
Jack Johnson gave a great performance at the Apollo - and his mate from Hawaii was a decidedly better than average support act. But the lack of air con in the venue made it a real endurance test. Being in Row Z probably didnt help, but several people around us just had to leave. It was just too much...
Derren Brown
26/07/14
Absolutely amazing! from Camilla, 29/07/14
Derren Brown was amazing on stage and captured the audience with personal stories from his childhood, humor and of course mind boggling tricks. The show was very impressive and left us speechless for the remainder of the evening. It wasnt until the next day we were able to really discuss what we had witnessed Big thumbs up from here and we cant wait to rewatch it on tv :-)
Jack Johnson
20/07/14
In between dreams come true! from Ryanpannell, 29/07/14
Absolutely incredible event! I have always wanted to see Jack Johnson but unfortunately he is a hard ticket to come by, other than a 30 minute set at a festival I saw last year. That just made me hungry to see him for a whole night and he didnt disappoint! Even though the genre is very laid back, the atmosphere was electric, I couldnt stop singing and dancing throughout. His pianist and best friend Zach Gill was smiling ear to ear the whole time and he had a fantastic voice and great energy! The most memorable moment was when he sung Breakdown. More on a personal level because this song brings back good memories, but hearing it sung live was the highlight for me! If only I could travel to Hawaii to see him perform a lot more often!
Jack Johnson
20/07/14
Excellent Jack, let down by venue from P&J Bristol, 29/07/14
Brilliant performance by Jack and his splendid band - but seriously let down by the appallingly high temperature at the venue (apparently the air conditioning was faulty) which meant that many people left before the end of the concert. All should be reimbursed with half their ticket privces by way of compensation.
Derren Brown
26/07/14
Great Entertainer Shame About the V... from Mandy, 29/07/14
Great Drinks and beautiful venue - just a shame it was so uncomfortable due to lack of air conditioning Derren Brown was brilliant
Hall & Oates
11/07/14
The oldies do rock! from Cubby, 16/07/14
As soon as the duo arrived, everybody were on there feet, dancing to hit after hit. Everybody sang there hearts out to their favourites, maneater, private eyes, rich girl etc. The most memorable moment of the evening came after the duo sang Shes gone. Everybody in the audience, already standing, gave a two minute ovation, something that the duo were stunned, and surprised, but were very appreciative. For 100 minutes, us middle aged fans(and the younger members of the audience ) were swept away in our own bubble of pure musical bliss and nostalgia. A place where only great musical artists can take you.
Hall & Oates
11/07/14
Best gig ever. from Aaron Rosenthal, 14/07/14
I sweated a lot. Surely thats a good sign. They played all the hits, everyone was very happy, they had a saxophonist in a linen suit and a Gandalf beard called Mr Casual. I think if you asked for more, youre an idiot.
Hall & Oates
11/07/14
Fantastic!! from Allan Smith, 14/07/14
They were incredible! Played all the hits and the audience were also unbelievable! What a show! One of the best concerts of my life!
Jack White
03/07/14
Flippin brilliant gig from Keith Liberty, 09/07/14
So full of excited anticipation as the days led up. First pub out of tube was perfect, drinking outside with a three piece plugged in band entertaining all. Actually met Jacks violinist Lillie Mae there! A fine handshake. Earlier Id been thinking that because of the curtains at the Apollo wouldnt it be great if Jack used the opportunity of not just a walk on entrance. Well he sure did, the sight and sound of him bursting through as they parted will I hope stay with me forever. What followed was bliss to the senses. What a man! What a band! Great stage-set, lighting, sound, view. Been recalling it ever since. Thanks Jack. Thanks Eventim.
Jack White
03/07/14
Thunderous performance from Diki77, 09/07/14
It is a fair while since I have been in a more anticipatory crowd - the atmosphere was crackling with electricity and so was Jack when he danced on about 9.15 and started throwing shapes around the stage with his guitar to the fore. It was loud, distorted and heavy - and the crowd, as they say, went wild! I was in the seats at the back but no one sat down all night - the man delivered what the punters came for - pure excitement and a thunderous performance dripping with energy and feedback. If I had a criticism - such as it may be called - it would be that so distorted and chaotic was the guitar work at times that it was not always obvious which track he was playing - but then, who really gave a flying rusty duck! Great show.
Jay & Silent Bob
01/07/14
Awesome evening! from Elle Q, 08/07/14
Great event, format was brilliant with the opportunity to be the audience for Hollywood Babble-On as well as the animals film. Only criticism would be it was a shame there was an 11 oclock curfew as the Q&A at the end seemed very rushed.
Jack White
03/07/14
Electric! Jack White 3.7.2014 from S Jay, 08/07/14
Fifth time I have seen Jack White. He never fails to please. The crowd there were so up for it and I think he and the band fed of the energy in the room. Jack White is a showman, a fantastic and collaborative musician. Live, he has very few equals. 2 hours of sheer pleasure for me!
Jack White
03/07/14
Excellent all round from Peter, 08/07/14
My wife and I were lucky enough to see Jack White live at the Apollo just after he released his second solo album, Lazaretto. The venue was very well organised, queueing was easy, getting drinks was easy and the toilets were clean. The show was out of this world not only because Jack White is a rock god but because the Apollo is the perfect venue to be entertained by your favourite artist.
Jack White
03/07/14
Top of his game from GaryW66, 08/07/14
Jack White. Hammersmith Odeon 3rd July 2014. So after a four week gap between gigs we are back in the swing of things at the hallowed venue, Hammersmith Odeon. It was the scene of my first ever gig, Whitesnake in 1981 and indeed 18 of next 25 gigs I ever went to were here. It may have changed its name many times in the past 30 years but it will still be Hammy O to me and my favourite venue. This year’s moniker is the Eventim Apollo and it welcomes Mr Jack White. I have seen Jack in many of his guises, The White Stripes, The Raconteurs and solo and he has never failed to deliver so expectations were high. It’s hot and sweaty outside but that feels positively balmy compared to the heat generated by the 5000 souls inside. There’s a feeling that Jack is a little unhinged at the moment playing a secret gig the night before with the audience dressed in hospital gowns and he being pushed away in a hospital bed. This on top of his falling into the drum kit at Glasto. I dunno but have always felt that he’s a man on the edge and that’s probably what makes him so interesting creatively much like Ryan Adams and Conor Oberst. I won’t bore you with running through the set but for me there were obvious highlights, Three Women, Hotel Yorba, Ball and Biscuit and a different take on Steady as She Goes. Working without a setlist he went wherever the mood took him supported by a superb band led by the charismatic drummer who can’t sit for too long, has his drums pointing in a jaunty angle and has a penchant for the cow bell. The violinist is accomplished and can actually be heard amongst the electric mayhem going on and has a unique high pitched voice that compliments Jack’s well. This complemented by Mandolin, Theremin, pedal steel, organ, keyboard, upright base. All that’s missing is Evelyn Glennie and her glockenspiel. The night moves from acoustic albeit heavily amplified with mandolin to full on delta blues taking in Rock/Rap. Indeed a lot of the songs especially the new ones are delivered in a real punchy staccato style, the lyrics spat out in a Rage against the Machine mode which for this young listener aint a bad thing. It’s an energetic show and Jack does his best rock god impressions that don’t look cheesy or contrived. He’s obviously enjoying this and makes some barbed comments about Glastonbury and distance to the audience. Two hours later it’s all over closing with the football terrace friendly Seven Nation Army. We leave and I’m in desperate need of rehydration and some new ear drums please. Five stars to wake up London on a hot steamy night. Sleep comes much later thanks to the ringing in the ears.
Jack White
03/07/14
Full of energy and amazing guitar p... from eddie, 08/07/14
Jack is a great performer, and clearly lives and breathes guitar. He reminds me a little of Jimi Hendrix. Just wish he had stopped in between songs, as it was not always clear where one ended and another started!
Jack White
03/07/14
Jack was amazing, venue ticketing s... from Sher, 08/07/14
I paid nearly £80 for two tickets standing in the Upper Circle on my birthday to see my favorite artist. Purchased directly from Eventim Apollo. When I got there they told me my tickets were to stand single file against the wall upstairs. It was beyond a joke. Literally people standing up the stairs along the wall. Luckily we grabbed some seats that were empty and the people didnt show up so my birthday show wasnt ruined.. It should be made clear at the point of purchase that this is the case. I wouldnt have paid more than £5 to stand against an upstairs wall. This type of ticketing practice should be against the law. Consumers have no recourse under T&Cs. Shame on you Eventim Apollo. Five star rating is for Jack Whites performance, not the experience.
Penn and Teller
22/06/14
Penn and Teller as weve seen them b... from Redomelette, 03/07/14
There are no doubts that Penn and Teller are a couple of the greatest magicans around and certainly an show I have wanted to see for a long time. However, the show which included much material I had seen them perform before on the internet and on their recent UK TV show left little in the way of surprises. There was no flow to the show as they went from bit to bit with no linking material. The highlight however was getting to shake hands with the performers after the show as they took the time to greet every audience member would wanted to have a photo or get an autograph. The show did not did not dempen my enjoyed for the pair, just my likely hood of seeing another one of their live shows. The tickets are not cheap I was hoping there would be more fresh material that was not so readily available.