Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.3 (368 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Ruth, 01/09/14
Kate Bush (01/09/14) - Everything I dreamed of and more..
The perfect marriage between Music and Theater. I was so pleased that Kate pushed herself creatively. She could have easily simply stood and sang a list of her top hits but she didnt. The performance bought her songs to life through the use of light, projection, performance, a fantastic set and of course her wonderful voice. An extremely multi-sensory performance that helped each and every audience member to become immersively involved within her abstract World. An incredibly, unforgettable evening!
Georgie 2386, 01/09/14
Kate Bush (01/09/14) - A great venue for such a historic come back event!
I bought tickets for the stalls row G and was ecstatic to find myself 3 rows from the stage for Kate Bushs opening night! It was a fantastic performance in a great venue and the tasteful refurbishment added to the ambience for such a great evening.
Tony Steeles, 01/09/14
Kate Bush (01/09/14) - Sublime!
I knew it would be brilliant - but this brilliant? There really is no other artist like Kate Bush and she doesnt disappoint. Surely our greatest songwriter - now our greatest live performer!
David Bar-Tal, 01/09/14
I would like to mention that the fan stall was a bit crowded and messy, maybe another post would make it a better experience.
Kate Bush (01/09/14) - A 3-hour of an amazing journey
There are not enough words to describe my experience. And this is not being overly enthusiastic, I assure you. Kate has been in my life for nearly 25 year; of which I enjoyed her music -- learned to listen, think and feel. The Ninth Wave (Hounds of love actually) was the first CD I owned, and my most favourite. PART II of the show is dedicated entirely to it - with flawless voice (if you close your eyes, as I did, from time to time, you would think they were playing the original), brilliant performance by all, extraordinary band -- I felt as if I was lost at sea with Kate. Im sorry there are no more concerts, I would have gone to at least one more :( Hope the DVD will be out soon. Thank you Kate, for being.
Andrew, 01/09/14
Kate Bush (01/09/14) - Kates a godess
I have never seen - and will never again see - anything half as brilliant. Kate lights up our lives.
Tee @MiddxMinxx, 30/08/14
Kate Bush (30/08/14) - Magical Kate Bush!
I was thrilled to see Kate Bush’s amazing opening show on Tues 26 August. Seeing Kate dancing barefoot with her child-like look of awe and wonder was magical and beautiful. The drowning woman was well staged and imaginative, but the subject matter was distressing and often weird. I was disappointed not to hear a few more songs from the first part of her career, but finishing with Cloudbusting was wonderful. Overall it was an awesome spectacle and I’m so happy that I got to see this real icon of British music.
Neil, 28/08/14
Kate Bush (28/08/14) - Fabulous!!
The most fantastic concert you are ever likely to see. Exciting, different, perfect. Worth every last penny and I am so glad that I was fortunate enough to get a ticket. If you get any chance to go, dont miss it. a once in a lifetime experience. Thank you Kate, I can die a happy man!!
Elisa, 12/08/14
Derren Brown (12/08/14) - Best event !
Next year Im gonna come back for sure ! It was great ! Derren did some incredible things like always
Hendrik, 08/08/14
The venue is easy to reach either by private or public transport. Good selection of restaurants in the area.
London Goes SA (08/08/14) - Great event
Lots of fun, unique show with good selection of SA Afrikaans performers and programme length ok. Ticket prices a bit steep, which probably meant half full venue. But, I was a happy customer and thoroughly enjoyed a bit of SA music. Claire Johnston bringing some 80s Mango Groove was fabulous and a very welcome late surprise addition. Oh, and boerewors rolls would have been nice ;-).
Svenja, 05/08/14
Derren Brown (05/08/14) - Unbelieveable amazing!
I was in the show INFAMOUS from Derren Brown. From the beginning until the end it was just amazing. Derren is the most astounishing person i have ever seen. The show was about 2 hours and a 20 minutes break. Derren shows his skills and works a lot with the audience. I couldnt stop thinking: what was that?! and how did he do that?! I came extra from germany to see his show and i dont regret it. This man is a genious and it was a very great evening and an amazing show.
Hannelie Bauer, 05/08/14
There was no sign by the ladies toilets to say watch the step. Health and safety risk as you come in and suddenly there is a step. When entering the security told us to throw our water away. When asked why they said it was a projector and we said we would remove the caps as we wanted to finish our water. That is what other venues like Wembley Arena asked us to do. Yet when we got inside they were selling water at £2.50 per bottle. Why should we waste like this so they can make money.
London Goes SA (05/08/14) - Fantastic Performance by the artists
Big thank you to all the South African artists that came all this way to entertain us. Great show and atmosphere. Hope they have it again next year.
Alida, 04/08/14
London Goes SA (04/08/14) - great event! BUT BUT BUT
.... TOTALLY OVERPRICED - WE PAID £70 PLUS BOOKING FEE PER PERSON, OUR SEATS WERE UPSTAIRS, PEOPLE TOTALLY RUDE TO GET UP AND WALK AROUND DURING THE SHOW - ALL THE TIME!!! AND THEN THE LIGHTS - DONT THINK THEY WERE TESTED BEFORE EVENT - IT TOTALLY BLINDED US FOR SECONDS AT A TIME AND THEN YOU COULDNT SEE THE ARTISTS OR THE BAND. REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN THAT. THE ARTISTS WERE VERY GOOD, THANK GOODNESS FOR THAT!
Rob, 04/08/14
London Goes SA (04/08/14) - Bit disappointed
No one had informed us that they were starting at least 30 minutes early, tickets said doors open at 7, show starts at 8, we got there at 7:30 only to here they already started. The door staff were not helpful with directions to find our seats, and one could not see from the disabled area down stairs, Im glad we booked upstairs seats & I took my crutches instead of the wheelchair.The bar was also closed right after the show. I expected more for that price!
Wilma, 04/08/14
London Goes SA (04/08/14) - Brilliant!
Lekker!!!! It was a night out to remember and we hope there will be more SA performers hosted. It would have been nice to get alerts of any meets that the performers arranged where fans could meet them.
Kate, 04/08/14
The Eventim Apollo is the first theatre Ive visited since moving to London and it was wonderful. Despite the fact that the event was a sell out and I bought my tickets last minute (so didnt have a prime position) I had no problem getting involved in the show and could see perfectly.
Derren Brown (04/08/14) - Everything Id Ever Imagined
If you ask anyone who claims to know me well, theyll be able to tell you that I have been completely obsessed with Derren Brown since my last visit to England in 2010. I have seen every television presentation he has done, watched every recording of his lives shows, read his books, and am gradually working my way through his personal recommended reading list. After four years of wishing, I finally saw him live and it was everything Id ever imagined it to be. I cant talk about the show itself (typical DB rules I think) but I loved every minute of it. Yes, Im a massive Derren fangirl and a total geek for what he does, but it lived up to all of my expectations and left me wanting so much more - I think its safe to say youll be seeing my face around at his new show next year.
John Lester, 04/08/14
London Goes SA (04/08/14) - Brilliant show
An incredible show, top artists, great production and loads of fun. A nice blend of new songs and old favourites, difficult not to feel a little homesick. Worth every penny and cant wait to see London Goes SA again.
Rich, 30/07/14
Only downside was as it was a hot day it was sweltering in the theatre! You need better air conditioning!
Derren Brown (30/07/14) - Unbelievable!
Derren has done it again! We went to see him on 26th July 2014 and as a group of 22 of us. The show was fantastic! A must see!
MG, 30/07/14
From where we were sat (Circle) the rear right quarter of the stage was obscured, so we could not see all the projection on the back of the stage.
Derren Brown (30/07/14) - Good show - terrible event
We had been looking forward to Derren Browns Infamous show for months, having booked long in advance. The performance itself was fantastic, but unfortunately the event was all but unbearable due to the heat inside the Apollo. No notable mention was made in advance, or even during, that there was no air conditioning, or even fans, or even that cold water would be made readily available during the performance. Had it not been for the fact that it was the tours penultimate show, with no possibility of seeing it on a different night under better conditions, we would have complained and left.
long time fan, 29/07/14
The venue is a refurbished Art Deco style There are very good sight lines - except when other audience members stand, & being on the small side I then struggle to see. The sound is usually very good but last 2 shows there has been some distortion & difficult to hear words of songs e.g. sound balance doesnt seem right. Shame the refurbishment didnt include a lift to circle as stairs are steep.
Hall & Oates (29/07/14) - at long last!
Ive been a fan for so long & never had the opportunity to see them live before. Managed to buy tickets early so had very good seats. This concert was better than many Ive been to there in that fewer people needed to constantly go in & out for drinks & toilet, which usually spoils events at the Apollo. Hall & Oates did not disappoint, voices & musicianship still great, only negative point was that I would have liked a 2 hour show rather than barely 90 minutes, such a long back catalogue & so many great numbers not performed. Overall an excellent night.
Red Kite, 29/07/14
The temperature inside the venue unbearably hot. I have nothing else to say to fill up your 100 word minimum...
Jack Johnson (29/07/14) - Too hot to handle
Jack Johnson gave a great performance at the Apollo - and his mate from Hawaii was a decidedly better than average support act. But the lack of air con in the venue made it a real endurance test. Being in Row Z probably didnt help, but several people around us just had to leave. It was just too much...