Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.3 (378 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Scooby, 15/09/14
There was only one thing that annoyed me and that was that people were getting up while Kate Bush was performing and coming back with drinks from the bar, can the selling of drinks from the bar be stopped while the concerts are on, it seemed that once one person went down others saw and followed. The venue itself is superb and the staff were friendly. Will definatly attend this venue again.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Dream come true
Ive waited 35 years for this moment to happen, was I disappointed? A resounding NO! The atmosphere in the Eventim was electric and when the show started and Kate walked on stage the audience exploded. I have seen many big concerts but I have never been to one where the artist received a standing ovation after every song! Kates voice was superb, ok she didnt dance like she used to but this show didnt need that, her stage presence was electric. The Ninth wave arrived with an explosion and didnt disappoint, it was worth the 29 year wait to see that section of The Hounds of Love album realised in full, the sets and the effects were theatre at its best. The second half of the show, A Sky of Honey, was just as theatrical with good visual effects, a wooden puppet and people turning into birds! The show ended with just Kate and a piano singing so beautifully Among Angels, I could hear a few people crying around me. Did the show stop there? No, there was one more, the whole of the audience sang and danced their way through Cloudbusting and then it was over! Ok there wasnt loads of the old hits apart from Running Up That Hill, Hounds of Love, King of the Mountain and a couple of album tracks, but that didnt matter, it wasnt a Greatest Hits concert and Im so glad ut wasnt, this was a show it was theatre, it was special. My only gripe was there was no songs from the The Sensual World album, thats only because its my favourite! Wish I had tickets to see this show again! Thank you Kate x
MrGreedy55, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - A Dream Come True!
After waiting so long to see our beautiful, magical Kate, I was thrilled to get a ticket, and I must say, I have never experienced anything like it! The atmosphere was electric and when she appeared the whole place erupted in cheers and tears. The show was unbelievable, and Kate sang beautifully! I am forever changed by the experience, and I love her even more now! Thank you Kate! xx
Toby, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Kate Bush absolute Legend!
This is the most inspired concert I have ever seen! I have been to many concerts/shows in my life but this live experience with Kate Bush shows in my opinion that she is the best contemporary singer/songwriter/producer this country has ever produced. Go Kate........
Gianni Spigno, 15/09/14
as a 1978 Kate Bush fan who had never seen the theatre, the place itself was a myth. I was with a friend architect who gave me additional info on structures and history for these sort of venues. As an architecture-enthusiast myself, this added an extra pleasure while waiting for Kate to eventually appear in front of my very eyes... blissful night.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - an Italian guys dream made into reality
I am an Italian Kate Bush fan since her 1978 debut in the charts and have been until now; eventually, I am even more than before. After seeing the show, and having listened to some of those songs for over 30 years, seeing a radiant Kate Bush in front of my very eyes was a once-in-a-lifetime dream come true. I am only too happy to hear there will be filming going on, and this will be the extra value which will allow me to relive this over and over. Cheers everybody!
Torben Bille, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Best. Show. Ever!
Had the highest expectations, but was still blown away. Been a fan for many a moon, but had not seen this coming.
Flappsthebat, 15/09/14
You have amazing staff that helpful, friendly and hard working. I have pet peeve about plastic glasses but these were ok. The building is beautiful and has been loving kept with good housekeeping. My only gripe would be the brochure not Bering checked but the staff behind the counter are not fortune tellers and worked very hard to serve people in order. Quickly and fairly. I felt very secure at the venue
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Wow ( even though she didnt play that)
Kate was strong and confident and performed a show that was based on her work not her hits. The staging rivalled, if not bettered the west end! Her voice was clear,strong an even more beautiful than a recording gives justice too. Special mention has to go to Burtie his confidence and presence on stage show this man is a talent in own right and we will be seeing a lot more of him I hope! The only minor grumble was my beautiful brochure of the show did not have the pages cut. I didnt check it till after I left london as I dont want spoil the show. This a minor glitch just check your pages if you get one then enjoy an experience of life time and one you will never forget!
Fox, 15/09/14
The queue at the gents was longer than the ladies - never seen that before but the venue was well organised.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Wow!
I had only waited to see Kate for 35 years so expectations were very high but she did not disappoint. The show contains my favourite pieces of her work but the stage show takes it to another level - highly creative and theatrical but the band are simply outstanding. The most original, influential and talented musical genius. Not enough wows can describe it.
B Baker, 15/09/14
The queue went down quickly and the staff were friendly the atmosphere was great overall a great experience would definitely come here a gain
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Absolutely Fanbloodytastic
Ive been a fan of Kates since I nicked my dads The Kick Inside ( I was about 16 I think) and played it continuously eventually driving him mad. I took my wife with me who liked Kate but was no fan . we saw the most amazing show and we were quite close to the stage - I even got emotional when she came on stage I was quite overawed - standing ovations after every song loved the 2nd half too, spent a fortune on memorabilia. My wife is now a fan she has had me take the tickets ,confetti and poster to be framed!! What can I say the show was brilliant Kates voice was awesome and the song choices were great I was not disappointed by the lack of Babooshka or Wuthering Heights as I had heard they were not sung anyway . And everyone seemed to not to use cameras and such as requested by Kate which I thought showed a great deal of respect from her fans. Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant
Mark, 15/09/14
Very friendly door staff! and perfect stage for the style of show. Great view even from the back and wings. Lovely atmosphere almost old fashioned style and setting. Great!
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Excellent!!
The best concert I have been to in years. Kate delivered more than expected both with visuals and performance. Her voice stronger than ever and note perfect!. Apollo venue made it an even more intimate experience with friendly staff.
Denise & John, 15/09/14
The Apollo is a beautiful venue with atmosphere galore. But with a full house the heat and humidity is overwhelming.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - A big kiss to Kate from Denmark
Were still blown away by the amazing performance by one of the greatest living artists. What a stage presence - what a show. It was truly a night to remember. Thank you Kate from three of your Danish fans.
Harry Hemus, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Before the Dawn - Kate Bush
What a unique and remarkable performance by Kate. The musicians, the ensemble and the whole support team were really quite superb ... Not much more to say, other than to reflect I was there ! To achieve a spectacular presentation, in an intimate environment like the Apollo was fantastic
Joanni, 15/09/14
People were allowed in after Kate performed her 4th song, disrupting the experience of those who took their seat on time and disrespecting the performers in the process. No one should be allowed in after the show has started. Same goes for people who took their time after the interval to get back to their seats with their drinks, second part of the show already running.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Kate Bush was breathtakingly stunning
Kate Bush was outstanding, a dream that came true after over a two decades wait for such event. Excellent performer, powerful singer, no mistakes whatsoever: she definitely did live up to the expectations of us fans. An unforgettable experience. The venue etiquette not so great.
Devoted Fan, 15/09/14
Very nice intimate venue. Staff were friendly and helpful. We didnt eat here so cannot comment but the bar service was very efficient.
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Fantastic!
Brilliant show. Well done to Kate and her team for giving us such a wonderful night. So emotional to see you Kate. I loved every minute. Please do it again soon!
Dynorod, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Magical
What a once in a lifetime experience ! Magical,theatrical and surreal Kate had the audience spellbound throughout. Act 1 saw the Ninth Wave from Hounds Of Love my personal favourite and Act 2 was mainly from the Cd Aeriel.Even a sing a long to Cloudbusting at the end.Lovely audience amazing night.
caren, 15/09/14
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - AMAZING KATE
Before the Dawn! It was the most amazing brilliant show i have EVER seen!!! im still in shock, and NEED the dvd recording to rewind and witnes again in detail what the hell just happened! wow wow wow UNBELIEVABLE!!!!
Dominique, 15/09/14
The atmosphere, organisation, security, the meal and the pre-concert in the St-Pauls church (hospitality package). And of course the exclusivity and historical aspect of the event itself : The return of Kate BUSH on scene ! There was such an expectation, but no desillusion at all ! More than a dream I would say ! God bless you marvellous Kate !
Kate Bush (15/09/14) - Absolutely fantastic !
What an emotion ! I NEVER feel something like that, and I will NEVER feel such an emotional moment in the future... Ive attended some great concerts, mytical too, but one like that was so different... I was overwhelming by the charisma of Kate, and all the spectacle (its much more than a simply concert). Great organization too (I had an hospitality package), the pic-nic in the St Pauls church was absolutely delightfull ! I dream about the venue of Kate in my country, BELGIUM...
Shane Taylor, 13/09/14
Did not park there or eat there. Had a meal provided by the venue in the church opposite and it was excellent.
Kate Bush (13/09/14) - Absolutely Brilliant
Saw Kate Bush concert on 9th September. It was everything and more that I had read about. Her voice was brilliant and her concept for the concert was very brave. But nothing less than I expected from Kate Bush. Her son sang his song and the talent runs in the family. If I could get more tickets I would see it again. I had tickets that came with a meal provided in the church across the road. I had normal concert tickets, but the bank (Halifax) lost them for me. Another story. After that we could only get very expensive tickets, as said with a meal provided. We decided to pay the money just to see Kate Bush live. It was well worth it. I will add the meal organised by Eventim was very good. The food and drink was excellent. The staff working at the meal were excellent as well. This made for one of the best night of live music I have seen.
Tony Hazzard, 12/09/14
Kate Bush (12/09/14) - What a great show!!!
After 35 Years, Our Kate has returned to the stage. I always said to myself that if she ever decided to do one more show that I would find a way to see it. She may not have done any of her earlier work but the 9th Wave and Sky of Honey Concept suites that were preformed were pure magic. I brought my Girlfriend with me to the show and she wasnt a fan before the show but she is now that she has experienced it. There was a small delay in the show due to technical problems and it would have been nice to get an extra song or 2 in the encore but overall it was a lovely evening and worth the price. Glad I was able to travel all the way from Winnipeg Canada to see it.
Adrian, 11/09/14
Kate Bush (11/09/14) - once in a lifetime!!
although Kate didnt do it but WOW WOW WOW!!!! there are not enough superlatives to describe tonights experience, a once in a lifetime event worth every penny and then some!!! a truly epic encounter of the emotional kind, draining every ounce of emotion, riding the waves of love and devotion directed at the stage. It was a long wait, 35 years is just too long, but finally a dream has been granted!!!
alexg, 11/09/14
Kate Bush (11/09/14) - Kate in Perfect Form
The first half of the show simply blew me away it was fantastic ..the second half was slightly laboured .. and did not have the same pace / energy ..I would have preferred more of the first half ....less of others and more of Kate ...Still a great show ...glad i witnessed..