Eventim Apollo London - Reviews

Eventim Apollo London
4.2 (176 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

TheDYS, 14/10/13
The Illusionists (14/10/13) - Great Show
Great show for all the family and particularly for my 9 year old son, the budding magician. Even better was the excitement of finding out it was being filmed for ITV. Excellent service by eventim, especially for a first time user and booking only the night before. An excellent time had by us all.
Chloe, 01/10/13
Really nice venue, the refit gives this impressive venue the right atmosphere. 5 bars in the entrance really helps in the interval as less time is spent queuing!
Sean Lock (01/10/13) - Shocking
Worst comedy show I have ever been to, not funny at all. Really disappointed as I had such high expectations when booking this as a present for my fiancé. If I was able to I would actually ask for a refund! The only positive thing I can say is how nice it is to visit The Apollo since it has been refurbished. Lovely venue shame about the lack of comedic material.
cowboy69, 23/09/13
staff we chatted to were nice and friendly, loved the building, a lovely venue, would def attend future shows.
LeAnn Rimes (23/09/13) - Another Great Show
After finally getting to see Leann in March at the C2C festival we couldnt miss this opportunity of seeing her again, we bought the VIP package off leanns website and it was worth every penny, having the opportunity to get up close to her was awesome.
Hiiii, 15/07/13
The Janoskians (15/07/13) - Amazing
I had an amazing night, there was a great atmosphere and the show was so much fun. The boys really got into the show which just made it more amazing! Went with one of my best friends and had the best night ever!
Lynette, 12/07/13
Jonathan & Charlotte (12/07/13) - Superb performance
I came from Queensland, Australia for a week PURELY for the concert, no other reason. Jonathan and Charlotte are unbelievable! I loved Jonathans solos, as he sings from the feet up, he feels the songs not just sings the words. I disagree that he has to move about and not be static, its his voice I came to listen to not him moving around the stage, Pavarotti didnt ,nor Bocelli, Domingo or Carreras when performing outside of an opera production.

Charlottes voice has changed since her BGT and the first album days, it seems more trained, stronger, and more polished. Her solos were just beautiful, and on a par with Lea Salonga.The little girl was good, but her songs were very samey and way too old for a little girl to be singing about, Id have preferred her to sing songs age appropriate.

We were close by the side exit to the right of the auditorium, and I cant say I noticed any disturbances by anyone wearing passes, and talking . May have been security? My eyes were on stage the whole time though, I was oblivious to anything else but Jonathan and Charlotte. It was a life changing experience for me to watch them perform, and especially Jonathan who, in my opinion is a once in my lifetime musical phenomenon.

My favourite duet was falling slowly and my memorable moment was Jonathan singing O sole Mio. I now eagerly await the second album coming out in October. I still play the first album every day.
THUNDERIDER, 05/07/13
My first visit to Hammersmith Apollo & thought parking would be a problem as the venue doesnt have its own parking, but it worked out on the night ok.
ZZ Top (05/07/13) - ZZ TOP HAMMERSMITH
We saw ZZ TOP a few years ago at the Download Festival, they were brilliant then. At Hammersmith they were FANTASTIC, so lets hope they tour the UK again very soon but with a few more venues so more of their fans can get to see them : ). Gimme all your lovin was my fav song of the night!!!! I loved Franks drum kit, AWESOME!!!
Bea Gee, 02/07/13
Jonathan & Charlotte (02/07/13) - Wonderful Experience
This was not a concert but a wonderful experience - exceeded all expectations. They have come a long way since BGT - very polished & professional. They are singing live & not just a few songs, they were just amazing. All songs from their Together album and some from their 2nd album due out in Oct. There were also a few wonderful surprises in their repertoire! If you did not have tickets - big mistake - any opportunity you can, go & hear these kids. They had fans who travelled from Australia, America, Canada, Germany, Denmark, Saudi Arabia & more. Stage setting was tasteful, no distractions - no smoke which I hate - just class. Loved everything they sang but particularly some of the solos - O Sole Mio was superb. Their version of The Prayer was an amazing finale to a wonderful tour.
Pru, 02/07/13
Didnt use the toilet facility. The theatre seats were uncomfortable and because thety are joined together and quite flexible, you can feel all the fidgeting from someone else which is very disturbing. The theatre itself although good for the show seemed quite scruffy. But it was good to see the ice cream seller, back to the old cinema days that I remember from childhood. Plenty of staff in the bar to serve you, no long waiting times.
Jonathan & Charlotte (02/07/13) - JONATHAN & CHARLOTTE
Jonathan and Charlotte were brilliant, moved me to tears. Loved the Les Mis medley. It was great to see Jonathan so animated when he sang his own solos, he needs to generally move about more, not be so static. Support accordian act etc was good except he didnt introduce his band? Rude! Would rather not have had the 12 yr old girl there. Spoiled it for me. Also there was alot of movement from people seemed to be with the show / technical guys in black. Plus even more disturbance from people with passes round their necks, up and down, moving about from seat to seat and row to row to chat with other pass holders, in and out of the side door, leaving the door open causing light disturbance. Very annoying, taking away the special mood!!! If they were family they should know better, whoever they were they need to have more respect for Johnathan and Charlotte performing and their audience trying to enjoy what they paid to come and see and listen to!.
Kat from Cardiff, 02/07/13
Just amazing, it was such a perfect place to go for a show, really near the tube station , would highly recommend a night out here
ZZ Top (02/07/13) - MEGA GIG
We have seen ZZ Top on numerous occasions and they are still on top of my favourite list of artists. They are amazing as always and such good fun, always come out of the gig on a high as they are so brilliant
Knumpty, 02/07/13
The Apollo, or as we ALL still know it, the Hammy O, is a wonderful old venue, and its appeal has as much to do with its heritage as it does anything else. It IS however still in London and therefor it has all the usual London problems. Ie No parking, very expensive, etc etc
ZZ Top (02/07/13) - ZZ Top, Still Rocking
Well, unlike the Stones, who are a sad parody of themselves, there are still some ageing rockers who have still really got it!! That little ol band from Texas as they call themselves absolutely took the Hammersmith Apollo apart. From the high tempo rock of the eightees, back to the early mississippi blues from the 60s and right up to the new releases they played the lot! The crowd whooping and hollering the whole time, a true party atmoshpere. In a way its sad that here in the UK we only get to see Mr Gibbons et al once every 10 years or so, but by golly they do make up for it when they Visit!
Debster, 01/07/13
access into standing is a bit restricted, and people dont move on down, even though there was plenty of room further in, so view poor if you get stuck at the very back, despite sloping floor. Im small so I wiggled my way in and down to level with the front of the circle, here the sloping floor meant that even someone as short as me could see well.
ZZ Top (01/07/13) - DOWNRIGHT AWESOME!
brilliant gig, as fresh as when I saw them first at Hammersmith Odeon in about 1982! No gripes about ZZ Top, they were superb. Only gripe about venue is that the entrances to stalls/standing area are very narrow causing bottlenecks
Jerry, 01/07/13
The seats were VERY uncomfortable, with almost no leg room at all, apart from that the venue is fine
ZZ Top (01/07/13) - Weird beards rule!
What a great show, I particularly liked the way they utilised the on stage video screens to show clips from their old promo VTs mashed up with other interesting & visually arresting material. They know the No1 rule about rock & roll gigs is to have FUN, and to see them pick up pink furry guitars for a storming version of Legs was hilarious. Only complaints I have is it was kind of a short set, about an hour & fifteen minutes I think....and the fact they omitted to play their fantastic version of Viva Las Vegas....other than that, 5*s to the Top for a fab evening!
HalzN, 25/06/13
Rodriguez (25/06/13) - Finding Sugarman
Having grown-up listening to Rodriguez I was overjoyed when I found out that he would be performing in London and I could not miss the opportunity to see the Legend live. At the age of 70 hes in pretty good form despite his eye-sight. His voice still sounds as good as it did when he recorded his initial albums. It was obvious when he was on stage that he was doing what he loves and he was enjoying every minute of it. I am delighted to have seen him performing live!
S G Davis, 24/06/13
Bill Bailey (24/06/13) - Peerless comedy !
My first visit to see Bill Bailey live, although Ive been a fan for some time. The show was a masterclass in intelligent comedy without the need to resort to the endless swearing that so many comedians seem to think is essential. Highly recommended.
Martini3278, 23/06/13
The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses (23/06/13) - From Hyrule to the Sky
The Legend of Zelda Symphony of the Goddesses is the best concert I have ever been to. This concert, showing a lot of stuff about the series, is a must for every hardcore Zelda fan. From the depths of the dungeons in Hyrule, you set sail to the Sky above. Blockbuster games like Ocarina of Time, Wind Waker and Twilight Princess will show their best, sad, funny moments on the screen. It is unfortunate that the latest installment of the series (Skyward Sword) was not taken into the program (it is included in 2nd Quest), but by seeing all the cool moments and with the music played by the orchestra, a new Zelda feeling arises. Tissues are necessary for the most of the people going there, tears will flow, trust me. This experience will beat all previous ones with a night going skyrocket in your best night of my life list. For the 3DS owners among us, dont hesitate bringing your device with you, many will do the same and have some fun meeting hundreds of Mii in a few hours. Overall experience of the night: ***** Music: ***** Video Quality: ***** Merchandise: *** (It would have been nice to see some CDs and/or DVDs available for purchase) Conclusion: Every hardcore Zelda fan must go there, if you only played Zelda because you had to or you didnt feel much while playing it, this would not move you in any way. The tickets are quite affordable and if it is higher than you expected, IT IS WORTH IT!!!
Martini3278, 23/06/13
The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses (23/06/13) - From Hyrule to the Sky
The Legend of Zelda Symphony of the Goddesses is the best concert I have ever been to. This concert, showing a lot of stuff about the series, is a must for every hardcore Zelda fan. From the depths of the dungeons in Hyrule, you set sail to the Sky above. Blockbuster games like Ocarina of Time, Wind Waker and Twilight Princess will show their best, sad, funny moments on the screen. It is unfortunate that the latest installment of the series (Skyward Sword) was not taken into the program (it is included in 2nd Quest), but by seeing all the cool moments and with the music played by the orchestra, a new Zelda feeling arises. Tissues are necessary for the most of the people going there, tears will flow, trust me. This experience will beat all previous ones with a night going skyrocket in your best night of my life list. For the 3DS owners among us, dont hesitate bringing your device with you, many will do the same and have some fun meeting hundreds of Mii in a few hours. Overall experience of the night: ***** Music: ***** Video Quality: ***** Merchandise: *** (It would have been nice to see some CDs and/or DVDs available for purchase) Conclusion: Every hardcore Zelda fan must go there, if you only played Zelda because you had to or you didnt feel much while playing it, this would not move you in any way. The tickets are quite affordable and if it is higher than you expected, IT IS WORTH IT!!!
Tam, 20/06/13
Bill Bailey (20/06/13) - a masterclass of genius
Had seen jack Dee at the apollo the previous month, when I heard that Bill Bailey was coming, I booked immediately, was I disappointed no way, the set up of the stage was very stylish and christmassy. But from the moment Bill Bailey came on to the stage, it was a great evening of comic genius, from the downton Abbey theme song done in a Jamaican style to the Dub-Step Religious song, And Bill Baileys usual ramblings about abbreviated words, best evening Ive had so far this year, he had the crowd in the palm of his hands, he even started poking a few people with a stick jokingly of course :) happily the performance I went to is going to be the one released on DVD which I already have pre-ordered, Bill Bailey is an exceptional comedian; and I would recommend anyone to go see him.
lauren and demi, 18/06/13
The Janoskians (18/06/13) - Best night of my life
The janoskians concert was amazing it was so good, the ideas on stage were so original. the staging was good, although the timing wasnt that great but in the end it was worth it. they put on an entertaining show and i never got bored once.
Ben Howard Fan, 18/06/13
Ben Howard (18/06/13) - Gorgeous Show!
Went to see the lovely Ben Howard last week. It was a gorgeous show with all of the beautiful songs from The Every Kingdom album. It was lovely to see him live, he's a great guitarist, really talented. Come back soon!
George Manford, 18/06/13
Bill Bailey (18/06/13) - Great show!
Went down to the Hammersmith Apollo for Bill Baileys Qualmpeddler show last night - had a great time! We loved the music and the ending was inspired. Would love to see him live again.