first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue first direct arena Leeds

Ant and Dec
06/08/14
Funny! from Kim Miller, 18/08/14
Really liked the sketches the impromptu crisp sketch was very funny. Nice mix of music and comedy. Love the fact they get everyone involved (not just the front row seats) a gentlemen right at the back managed to win the ads which I thought was great.
Ant and Dec
13/08/14
A great night from Gareth, 18/08/14
The whole night was great from start to finish. Action packed and always something going on for the audience to get involved in.
Ant and Dec
12/08/14
great event from yvonne, 18/08/14
Had a brilliant time. My daughter Louise won the ads competition in Leeds. A night to remember. Artists were fab.
Ant and Dec
12/08/14
WOW!!!! from Crazy Cat Lady, 18/08/14
Great night had by all. Although we were in the Gods, we had agreat view. just like TV show, with lots of audience participation.
Ant and Dec
12/08/14
Fantasic show from Mac, 18/08/14
Absolutely amazing. One of the best shows ever seen. Laughed throughout. Ant & Dec certainly know how to put on a show. Keith Lemon was great.
Pearl Jam
08/07/14
Fantastic concert from Foxy76, 15/07/14
Pearl Jam were out of this world and utterly amazing . The venue performed okay , a few things could have been better. Entrance to venue was slow Merchandise stands had little stock Drinks and food over priced Great view even from top tier
Pearl Jam
08/07/14
Band came on late from Nicky Sorby, 14/07/14
We received an email to say that the concert woukd finish for 11 oclock. So we decided to use public transport. It was frustrating however because the band came on late which meant we could not stay until the end of the show because we would have missed the last train back to Manchester. All the hits I really wanted to listen to I missed. Very disappointed.
Pearl Jam
08/07/14
3 hours 40 minutes of pure brillian... from Dave Paisley, 14/07/14
Down to earth set and as ever Pearl Jam produced a memorable night, it was evident that The Who connection had not been lost on Edd who appeared to revel in the atmosphere and the closeness of the crowd to the stage. Pearl Jam are the real deal and probably the purest rock band touring at present. Superb.
Pearl Jam
08/07/14
Quality and Quantity from Hirdyo, 14/07/14
At almost 3.5hrs Pearl Jam really know how to put on a show. Playing a mixture of obscure album tracks, popular anthems and a selection of The Who classics there was something for everyone to enjoy (and listening to the capacity crowds reaction they did). Eddie Vedder did everything he could to get everyone involved, be it his mission to collect every flag in the crowd to trying to get Jeff Ament to sing ABBA he certainly knows how to. Top night from a top band. Lets hope they live up to their promise and return to the UK soon.
Pearl Jam
08/07/14
Pearl Jam absolutely ROCKED! from Jess, 14/07/14
You had to be there to know what Im talking about but pretty much that was the best rock concert EVER! Thank you Eddie, you are a legend!
Team Presentation Opening Ceremony
03/07/14
A good evening from Mrscrawley, 11/07/14
I didnt know what to expect but this was a great event. They kept it moving and it didnt feel like 2.5 hours.
Team Presentation Opening Ceremony
03/07/14
Amazing Event from kateb1949, 10/07/14
Great to see all the members of the TDF Teams, and put faces to names. Not all magazines and TV programs review, interview all members, only the leaders and main characters. Great night out!!!!!!!!!!!
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
A Lacklustre Performance! from John, 10/07/14
Never having been able so see Mr Clapton before (although I have seen his compatriots in Cream at other times) I was very much looking forward to seeing the great man himself. What a disappointment! Although he had a great band with him - they were full of life, enthusiasm and musicianship - the great man just seemed to be going through the motions, despite his virtuosity on the guitar. He began with a couple of potboiler 12 bar blues (one recalled his longstanding affection for the blues) which did nothing to raise the crowd. The best section was that in which he took to his acoustic guitar, when something approaching emotion seemed to stir. This was just an interlude however, as the remainder of his electric set didnt build on this. He played a few favourites, but probably not many that his undoubted fans were hoping to hear. He hardly said a word all through, didnt introduce the band, and only acknowledged after a fine performance of one of his own songs. He played for only 90 mins, and the highlight of the evening was the performance of the support band - Hunter and the Bear. They showed him how to bring an audience to life, playing some great numbers! Fortunately, we saw The Eagles on the next evening. What a contrast - interested, communicative, lively and some great music. My brother had seen Mr Clapton a little while ago in Melbourne (Oz) and had made similar comments to mine. I had hoped he had just been jet-lagged there, and that we would see a different side - but it was just more of the same! We wont bother to line his pockets next time he tours!
Team Presentation Opening Ceremony
03/07/14
Great to see the cyclists from plod, 08/07/14
Poor sound system meant most conversations on stage were difficult to follow. Was at front in most expensive seats and apart from the great position did not find it great value.
Team Presentation Opening Ceremony
03/07/14
Overpriced for what is normally a f... from Terence Lowe, 08/07/14
Team presentations at the Tour de France have up until this point been a free event. So, for 65 GBP + an extra booking fee (per ticket) you would hope to be getting something spectacular apart from a comfortable seat! Unfortunately this was not the case. As a fan of the Tour and of cycling in general I hope that this is not a case of how things will be hosted in future. Cycling fans are not bothered about official tour songs and tag on artists to make it look like you are getting good bang for your buck. Please keep these events free, just like the spectating on the streets. I would not recommend attending a similar event in future and suspect that the money generated from the presentation went some way to address budget shortfalls for hosting the race in the first place. Im also fed up of being charged a booking fee per ticket when in actual fact I only make one booking on a website that has no human element - why is that? Disappointed.
Team Presentation Ceremony
03/07/14
Brilliant from Tess, 08/07/14
Fabulous welcome to the cyclists for Le Tour de France Grand Depart. Opportunity to see the teams and their reactions to the Yorkshire welcome was not to be missed. Gary Verity and Christian Prudhomme were also good to see together, sharing their passion for the event. Very moving.
Team Presentation Opening Ceremony
03/07/14
Fab - u - lous from Ern & Sue, 08/07/14
The best night of our lives. From the start to the finish non stop brillance. You and the whole of Yorkshire have set standreds that the rest will find hard to follow. Well done and Thank You to you all.
Team Presentation Opening Ceremony
03/07/14
once in a lifetime event from jo, 08/07/14
We travelled from Ireland to see the tour de france in Yorkshire. From the tour makers who gave us great directions to the amazing opening ceremony we were certainly impressed. The only small negative point was the band that played at the end, we wondered if they had been hired to empty the stadium ? We listened to three songs and as they prepared to play another song looked around and realised everyone else had left and decided to do the same. We would have given tbe ceremony 5 stars but the band managed to deflate what was an electric atmosphere
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
Good guitarist, but spoke not a wor... from Nicky, 05/07/14
My husband and I went to see Eric Clapton on Sunday. 22nd June. It was our 25th wedding anniversary celebration and my husbands 68th birthday. Erics guitar playing did not disappoint. It was as clever as usual and extremely slick. However, we did think he could have introduced the band, or even thanked them. We had no idea who they were until we looked it up on the internet after the show. We thought it was rude not to say hello and it would have been helpful to have introduced the songs or said a bit about them. We enjoyed the venue though. We would certainly visit the First Direct again.
Eric Clapton
22/06/14
All Time Great from Mad Phil, 05/07/14
What a show on my first visit to the new Leeds Arena! Top class music played by top class musicians. We were treated to many of his classics - hes been around for 50 years, so he couldnt play them all in a 90 minute set!. Different class. Say no more.