first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

Selected fan reports for events at this venue first direct arena Leeds

Rod Stewart
24/09/13
rod stewart from derek, 21/10/13
The Concert in Leeds on sept 24th 2013 was,as ever,top drawer.for anyone who has not been to see him live just make sure you go if you get the chance.you will not regret it.
BBC 1Xtra Live
10/10/13
Amazing!! from Jazzi, 14/10/13
This even was sooo gooood OMG. Chronixx, stylog, wretch 32, azealia banks and rudimental were the acts performing and they were all insane! Unfortunately, the A in azealias name wouldnt light up, however, they took about 5-10 minuets sorting it out and played other music which was really good and worth the wait. Overall it was an amazing night, cant fault it one bit! Insane event and would deffo recommend it and go again :)
Jesus Christ Superstar
04/10/13
Fantastic show but poor organisatio... from Col, 11/10/13
Our seat had been cordoned off and so we had to join a huge queue to swap the tickets. We werent told this however until we asked someone why our seats werent available. So we had 10 minutes to swap the tickets before the show started. We were not happy :( We did however get a seat just in time and the show was fantastic. There was also disturbance at the start of the show as members of the audience started vaulting over the seats to try to get a better seat further forward.
Micky Flanagan
27/09/13
Dissapointing Performance & Facilit... from Fabgav, 08/10/13
Clearly Micky Flanagan leaves his best material for TV where the sensors require him to produce better performances than this one. The material was too blue by far and of low quality, the contents of which were often repeating himself with too similar themes in each side of his 2 sets. Sadly the venue performed worse than he did as they refused to serve drinks to the many hundreds waiting to be served at the bars (blaming Micky saying he only allows the bars to be open for set times) I tried twice to obtain a drink both before and at the half time break only to still be queuing when bar staff closed the bars to numerous complaints. I find it incredulous that this brand new First Direct sponsored venue in Leeds was incapable to serving its visitors or had thought to provide any vending machines to complaint a very poor bar service. This was only made worse as I am a registered disabled person, so not being able to buy a drink at all during my entire visit was wholly unacceptable. I noticed many customers were complaining to staff who simply were not interested in providing any kind of service at all. The venues management needs to take a serious look at this situation as many patrons will NOT return if this attitude to customers continues. As for Micky Flanagan our party of 6 was not impressed at all and will not be re-booking to see such a poor and ill thought out set of sketches from what should have been a more professional display of balanced comedy.
Jesus Christ Superstar
04/10/13
Jesus Christ Superstar ..... from Deborah, 07/10/13
Awesome...........Absolutely fantastic. Tim Minchin, as Judas, stole the show, Superb superb, superb ! Fabulous voices , amazing singing. Loved it from beginning to end. A truly brilliant show. Well worth seeing.
Rod Stewart
24/09/13
Rod liked the acoustics - Im not so... from PippaD, 05/10/13
Arena was rather soulless. In the upper reaches of arena where sound wasnt great, couldnt hear a word support act was singing. Heard Rod better when he sang acoustically otherwise the band seemed to drown him out. Big screens not very big! The couple next to us had binoculars which seemed like a good move. Was hugely underwhwlmed by the arena and wont rush back!
Micky Flanagan
27/09/13
Amazing Micky from K Green, 03/10/13
We saw Micky Flanagan at the first direct arena & he was absolutely fabulous. Such a great stand up act we were both In tears of laughter all the way through the show, would definitely go and see him live again, cant wait for the DVD to come out.
Rod Stewart
24/09/13
Fantastic Show from Tom., 02/10/13
Rod Stewart can still belt out the good oldies. A great mixture of old and new songs for two Hours. Would definitely go to see him again. Venue brilliant with great sound.
Rod Stewart
24/09/13
different class! from derek mitchinson, 02/10/13
The whole day was memorable as I was not in work.had a few drinks & a meal in Leeds city centre.met/saw loads of rod fans.the first direct arena was impressive as were the friendly & informative staff.the concert itself was as great as ever,my 4th this year.just wish I was in Glasgow this week!
Rod Stewart
24/09/13
unbeatable from Colin Noble, 01/10/13
The press say oh no not another Rod Stewart tour,well last tuesday in Leeds he was incredible and he makes a mockery of his age. The highlight for myself was the beautiful "I'd Rather Go Blind", he said it was obscure i say it was brilliant!

27/28 songs - what a legend he really is. That said i am biased, it was my 12th concert of Rods and this is certainly up in the top 2( but seeing Rod in Scotland does take some beating!!)

The first direct arena is acoustically the best i have heard in this country, and even Rod said the same!!!

A big surprise was the lovely Ruby Stewart (yes it is Rod's daughter), she has a wonderful voice and charisma and is surely destined to go far. Back to the man himself - if you get the chance to see one legend then Rod Stewart is your man, a wonderful night thank you Leeds and Rod.
Rod Stewart
24/09/13
Old school cool from Soulman, 01/10/13
Rod was on great form for this part of his tour. His set was slick and professional and contained all the old classics. There was an old school feel to the whole gig - numerous costume changes, with more than a bit of glitz and glamour. Heres a guy who just doesnt turn up in jeans and t shirt. The sound was excellent, and his voice was good as ever. Definitely worth the fairly pricey ticket.
Rod Stewart
24/09/13
Top Quality Event from Jordan, 01/10/13
Superb show, not a dull moment with a great flowing set of Rods greatest hits mixed with his new album and an appearance from his daughter Ruby who has certainly inherited some musical talents from her rock star dad. Acoustics were amazing which certainly enhanced the whole experience. Most definitely good value for money.
Micky Flanagan
27/09/13
Fantastic Micky Flanagan! from Chanty, 01/10/13
Micky Flanagan was totally amazing at the Leeds Arena. His quick wit and cheeky banter was brilliant, we were crying with laughter at several points throughout the evening. Well worth the ticket price!
Kaiser Chiefs
13/09/13
Kaiser Cheifs from Jayne, 16/09/13
Never seen them before or been to the new arena. The concert was awesome loved it and thought they really engaged the crowd. Would deffo go see them again in concert as the Kaiser Cheifs rocked the Leeds arena. Thanks for a superb evening
Bruce Springsteen
24/07/13
Outstanding! from Adele, 02/08/13
First time seeing The Boss and he was absolutely amazing- what a guy and a true performer. He had the audience eating out the palm of his hands, he was just brilliant, also 63 and crowd surfs!! Fab view even though we were on the third tier. A night to remember! X
Bruce Springsteen
24/07/13
Bruce Springsteen First Direct Aren... from Mrs T, 29/07/13
This was my first time at a Springsteen concert. WOW, what a fantastic gig. Dont know where the guy gets his energy from, on stage for 3 hours, song after song after song. He gave everything hed got, not bad for a 63 year old. He certainly knows how to work the crowd and involved them in the concert.
Bruce Springsteen
24/07/13
Best Gig from Bram0721, 29/07/13
What a fantastic Gig. Brilliant atmosphere. Over 3 hours of non-stop enjoyment. The whole concert was a memorable moment. Much more intimate than previous Bruce Springsteen gigs I have been to.
Bruce Springsteen
24/07/13
Amazing as always! from Bongo 60, 29/07/13
Such a great venue for a concert. At last Leeds can be on the concert circuit. Bruce is still amazing at 63 and kept us entertained for almost 3 hours. We were on the third level and had a perfect view. He interacted so well with the fans who were standing and even crowd surfed back to the stage. Cant wait for my next visit to the arena.
Bruce Springsteen
24/07/13
Best Gig Ever from Dant, 29/07/13
Quite simply the best gig I've ever been to! I've seen loads of live music but theres always something special about seeing Springsteen live. It's hard to put your finger on exactly what makes his gigs so special, it's almost like you don't fully appreciate what you've just seen until a few days after the event.

A quick note about the Leeds arena as well - very friendly staff, great setting and the best sound I've ever experienced at a gig! Bruuuuuuuuuuuuuuce!
JLS
17/01/13
Cant Wait from Toni Britavis, 18/01/13
OMG!!! Got given JLS tickets for Christmas at the Leeds arena in December 2013! OMG! OMG! I go past every day and the arena looks amazing. Amazing Arena. JLS. Amazing!!!!!!!!