first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.4 (112 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Angie Mc, 03/07/14
I love the venue because it is local, its not a barn of a place and is clean with good facilities, unfortunately my last visit was marred by the touring production not appreciating the view if the stage from the right hand floor seated areas.
The Eagles (03/07/14) - Fantastic Concert shame about the view
The concert was absolutely fantastic unfortunately our view was blocked by a black wall on the right hand side of the stage. I had paid top price for tickets and didnt expect my view to be restricted! Quite a few people were moved from the same area after complaining. Unfortunately we arrived just before the start and the staff wouldnt or couldnt deal with our complaint. I have been in touch with the venue who have now dealt with my complaint and also passed it on to the touring production team, I am still waiting for a response from them. The Eagles lived up to all expectations it was just a shame the view was restricted, not what you expect for top price seating!!!
Rob, 03/07/14
This is a first rate venue! Stewarding now more efficient than when it first opened, plenty of bars, merchandising stalls, etc. and an escalator to the top floors. The sound quality is superb!
The Eagles (03/07/14) - The History of the Eagles in full!
The Eagles came and performed a history of their greatest hits and more, a show that included 27 songs from their extensive back catalogue and lasted 3 hours with a comfort break in the middle. The main songwriters of The Eagles, Glenn Frey and Don Henley, talked to the audience, built up a rapport and explained the background to some of the songs, and introduced band members one by one as they joined them on stage, including a man well known to law enforcement agencies and hotel owners around the world, Joe Walsh. This was a very polished performance and a totally well thought out show, with video backdrop to the songs and a subtle set lighting, giving us, their fans, exactly wanted we had come to hear in an arena where the sound is superb. Totally brilliant, loved all of it! Set list: Saturday Night, Train Leaves Here This Morning, Peaceful Easy Feeling, Witchy Woman, Doolin-Dalton, Tequila Sunrise, Doolin-Dalton/Desperado (Reprise), Already Gone, The Best Of My Love, Lyin Eyes, One Of These Nights, Take It To The Limit, Wasted Time (Reprise) Pretty Maids All In A Row, I Cant Tell You Why, New Kid In Town, Love Will Keep Us Alive, Heartache Tonight, Those Shoes, In The City (Joe Walsh song), Lifes Been Good (Joe Walsh song), The Long Run, Funk#49 (James Gang cover), Life In The Fast Lane. Encore: Hotel California, Take It Easy, Rocky Mountain Way (Joe Walsh song), Desperado. Latest news in USA Today is that this tour has grossed $145 million so far and has just announced it will go to Australia and New Zealand in Feb/March 2015. A fantastic show!
Bramley Rhino, 03/07/14
The Eagles (03/07/14) - Absolutely Brilliant
Fantastic 3 hours of Entertainment. Fully lived up to our expectations. The Eagles put on a great show spanning their entire catalogue.
Alan, 03/07/14
The Eagles (03/07/14) - Superb Concert
One of the best concerts I have ever attended. They sang all there songs - well known and not so well known - and were on stage for about 2 and 3/4 hours. The atmosphere was fantastic and the acoustics were brilliant, Only downside was the arena got very hot.
Annie54, 03/07/14
The Eagles (03/07/14) - Fantastic!
The concert was absolutely fantastic. No gimmics, no support act, it was all about the music and the songs. Joe Walsh was brilliant. At three hours long we certainly got value for money too!
Alpal, 03/07/14
Eric Clapton (03/07/14) - The bare minimum
I was really disappointed with EC at the Leeds gig. He didnt really put any effort in. A few songs, boring versions, nothing very special at all. I am a long time fan and wanted him to do so much beter than this mediocre performance
Kenneth, 27/06/14
Price of drinks was disgusting £2.50 for a third pint diet coke. .Eric Clapton gig at Leeds Arena was brilliant while it lasted. But again for some reason (like Glasgow, night before) EC did not finish the concert. We were told gig to finished (by e-mail) at 10.45pm.) Allow people to book taxi or lifts. He went off stage with no explanation, but just to wave to the crowd at 10.10pm. The lights did not go on in the arena for a few minutes as I suppose the management thought he was going to come back on. The audience were amazed lights come on, and people walked out. During the performance, the audience saw the typed list of music on the piano. (through video screen). It contains 3 songs that where never played, biggest one was to be the last one was Layla. How on earth can you leave that out? I was seated floor level, seeing as I paid £80.00 should think so. The only problem with that was seeing, as bar open all the time people where constantly walking in front of me, to go to th
Eric Clapton (27/06/14) - Eric Clapton
Eric Clapton gig at Leeds Arena was brilliant while it lasted. But again for some reason (like Glasgow, night before) EC did not finish the concert. We were told gig to finished (by e-mail) at 10.45pm.) Allow people to book taxi or lifts. He went off stage with no explanation, but just to wave to the crowd at 10.10pm. The lights did not go on in the arena for a few minutes as I suppose the management thought he was going to come back on. The audience were amazed lights come on, and people walked out. During the performance, the audience saw the typed list of music on the piano. (through video screen). It contains 3 songs that where never played, biggest one was to be the last one was Layla. How on earth can you leave that out? I was seated floor level, seeing as I paid £80.00 should think so. The only problem with that was seeing, as bar open all the time people where constantly walking in front of me, to go to the bar and then of course to the toilets. Was slow hand annoyed at people walking on and off the area all night, who know? As I say brilliant while it lasted but you can’t treat fans like that. I don’t know how many gigs are left in this tour, but other fans will have got to know about Glasgow and maybe Leeds and think twice about spending there well-earned cash.
Darren, 27/06/14
Robbie Williams (27/06/14) - Amazing night, great venue.
Inner pit tickets, fantastic time at the show from a great entertainer. We had an awesome night, Staff at venue awesome.
Lynneow, 26/06/14
Acoustics are great- sight lines from block three are poor due to the lighting and speakers blockers the big screens. Food and drink is limited and expensive.
Robbie Williams (26/06/14) - Sounded great-pity I couldnt see him!
I was so looking forward to the event and whilst Robbie sounded great the seats we had been allocated were dreadful. They were in block three half way up and I completely accepted that we were not going to be near the stage but expected to be able to see Robbie on the big screens -unfortunately the arena speakers and lighting completely blocked the screens. We complained to the stadium officials during the break and they acknowledged it was problem a lot of people complain about!!! Dont bother booking tickets if they are in block three -they are not worth the money.
jaybee, 25/06/14
the venue is great, the security were good, they kept passing water out regularly and kept chatting to people. the toilets were clean the only downfall was it was very warm, couldnt feel any air conditioning blowing at all during the time in the arena
Robbie Williams (25/06/14) - brilliant
it was two hours of sheer entertainment, he sings, he swings, he sways. he sang songs from swing when your winning album and his new stuff, he even did angels with a bit of swing. amazing. thank you Robbie for making an older woman happy xxx
eventim fan, 25/06/14
It was a shame that although we were paying £2.00 a bottle for water the management decided all caps must be removed before entering the arena, which meant a health and safety hazard from spilled water!!!
Robbie Williams (25/06/14) - fantastic night
What a fantastic night, Robbie was pure entertainment from start to finish; he had the audience enthralled and amused. What a showman, cannot wait for him to return!!!!!!
KSW, 25/06/14
As above, think there is an issue with sound distortion and volume. If you cant hear the artist what is the point of going. Insufficient toilets. Not wide enough range of refreshment facilities
Robbie Williams (25/06/14) - Robbie excellent
Robbie was at his entertaining best and couldnt fault him. Unfortunately the sound production let him down - there were several songs where the band drowned him out and the overall sound was distorted. Not convinced its just down to sound engineers having had similar experience at Dolly Parton - think the venue has a fundamental problem.
jessie, 25/06/14
Robbie Williams (25/06/14) - excellent event
robbie williams is the best i enjyed every minute of his show he is a s uperstar . The leeds venue was brilliant too everything about the night was perfect and amazeballs.
Mad Phil, 23/06/14
Saw Eric Clapton - all time great, total class. Excellent facilities, really top quality. I wouldnt use Eventim to book my tickets though; seventy four quid altogether for a sixty pound ticket. Other ticket agencies are much cheaper with their charges.
Prawnie, 20/05/14
This is a great venue for all events! I have seen concerts, wrestling and pantomime here and the sound is great with excellent views throughout.
WWE Live (20/05/14) - Great Night Of Wrestling
We had a great night at the WWE Live wrestling. We had a fantastic view of the ring due to the seating at the arena. Fun night had by all.
Lewis Nicholson, 19/05/14
WWE Live (19/05/14) - AWESOME Event!!!
This was our seventh time seeing WWE and it was definitely one of our best times attending a WWE Event. The whole atmosphere on the night was great, we couldnt have asked for a better experience. Our seats were fantastic and we had a great view of the ring. Many fans were disappointed that Daniel Bryan was injured and couldnt attend but the highlight of the show for us was definitely watching Kane!!! Overall great night out, we will definitely be coming to see WWE again in Leeds someday!
Emm, 19/05/14
Nice for Leeds to finally have a fitting venue to match those in the other large cities of the UK. Very modern, close to parking and bars, easy to navigate, great lay out.
WWE Live (19/05/14) - Entertaining with a couple of negatives
My first time at the new arena and I have to say I was impressed and happy that we now have an Arena fitting to the city of Leeds. Didnt know what to expect as it was my first time watching wrestling but the atmosphere was great and my son loved every minute of his birthday present. He was however extremely disappointed at Daniel Bryans absence as he is his favourite. The other downside was there wasnt any sound on our tier therefore for a novice I couldnt get the jist of the ring banter. Our seats on the third tier were budget driven and I thought the view and the length of the show was spot on for the price but thought it bizarre such a new venue didnt have the sound figured out.
Serenity, 19/05/14
Loved the amount of space and how easy it was to exit the arena, never felt too crowded. Never had to queue for toilets and even the queue at the merchandise stalls didnt take too long. Seats were comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful
WWE Live (19/05/14) - Awesome night
We all had an amazing time, the kids loved seeing a lot of their favourite wrestlers and the venue was fantastic. My youngest is wrestling mad but was a bit upset at first at how loud it was so if youre taking a young child (hes 5) Id recommend taking some ear plugs just in case! Didnt stop him enjoying it though, and made his night when he saw Roman Reigns outside the arena! The only reasons it didnt get 5 stars are that we couldnt really hear what they were saying when talking, and we were only on the second tier, also Daniel Bryan was supposed to be on and hes one of their favourites so they were a bit upset that he wasnt appearing. Other than that it was awesome! Well definitely be booking again, great family night out and if any of the kids get restless theres plenty of space to take them out away for the main show.
Gledders, 08/05/14
We paid a fortune to see Rod Stewart in September last year Went on Platinum Package The food and drink was excellent The concert was excellent The seating was excellent FRONT ROW hence the price The big disappointment were the drunken idiots that ran down to the front row trying to push us all out and blocked our view. It took security far too long to move them and spoilt the start of the concert We did complain afterwards in writing but as usual it was not acknowledged !!!
Lenorm, 28/04/14
Did not use the toilets or any of the on-site services, so cannot comment about these. Also did not use any of the nearby car parks as got a lift to the arena. There was no security at all (was expecting our bags to be searched but this did not happen). The acoustics were very good, if somewhat too loud. The atmosphere was good (perhaps the vastness of the Arena made it feel so awesome. Once inside the Arena proper (13,000 people I think) the audience were just so excited to see the show, the atmosphere was very exciting. The seats were comfortable.
Dancing On Ice: The Live Tour (28/04/14) - Enjoyable Show.......But
Although great fans of Torvill and Dean (having seen them twice before over the years), was a little disappointed as this was their Farewell Tour, was expecting more of a proper show than just the celebrities dancing with their professional partners (just like watching Dancing on Ice on t.v). Apart from the Swan routine which was beautiful, there wasnt any more routines by the professionals. Torvill and Deans previous shows have always included more professional dancers doing their own fabulous routines. There was a lot of video coverage on the large screens showing each celebrity before they came onto the ice which took up quite a bit of time. Unfortunately, as Gareth Gatess partner was ill and couldnt perform, he only came on once with another professional to do a short routine and sang a short song. The atmosphere in the Arena was great and the audience absolutely welcoming towards the ice skaters. The warm up guy was really good and got everyone on their feet and laughing. At the end of the show when Jane Torvill said that this was not Goodbye, but Goodnight, was surprised as was under the impression this was their last ever show. Hey ho! Still enjoyed the show very much despite the above comments.