Newcastle Metro Radio Arena - Reviews

Newcastle Metro Radio Arena
4.2 (210 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

Andrea, 01/02/15
The venue was ideal for this concert. We were standing and the atmosphere on the floor was electric. The parking was good but a little pricey at the arena. The stage set up and the acoustics was exceptional. Nice one!
Queen & Adam Lambert (01/02/15) - Best concert yet
Ive been to a few concerts over the years and this is the best one yet! Unfortunately I was too young to have been able to see Freddie Mercury but these guys still made him a large factor in the show
Bev, 01/02/15
Brilliant atmosphere drink rather expensive plenty of toilets only problem was at the centre of the stage was a big black Im thinking it was a camera which blocked our view of the screen
Queen & Adam Lambert (01/02/15) - Amazing
Absolutely fabulous Adam lambert was amazing would defiantly go back, only drawback was a drunk woman was up and down all night it would have been quicker for her to turn left but she always turned right and the whole row had to move for her
JEM, 27/01/15
More disabled parking needed and an entrance nearer to the disabled bays needed. Food court was expensive for the quality of the food received!
Queen & Adam Lambert (27/01/15) - Only one thing missing!
This was a bucket list must see! The new boy as Brian May called him was phenomenal! His love for Queen shone through in his performance and of course the only thing missing was the legend that is and always will be, Mr Freddie Mercury!
Andrea, 23/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (23/01/15) - Absolutely brilliant
Queen showed what true legends they are while Adam lambert complimented them brilliantly with his showmanship and youthfulness. A brilliant tribute to the memory of Freddie Mercury made it a perfect night and a great choice of songs were performed
Jo B, 23/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (23/01/15) - Loved it!
Great to finally see the two remaining members of Queen with an extremely flamboyant lead singer in Adam Lambert. I was a little disappointed that they started 35 mins late & the show only lasted 1¾ hrs. Nice incorporating Freddie without over doing it.
Shelly, 22/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (22/01/15) - outstanding
Adam Lambert defo the best choice, Great to see Brian May and Roger Taylor still got what it takes, whole performance OUTSTANDING
one of the portinatx 4, 22/01/15
venue is close to home, has a great atmosphere, they provide good refreshment services, and when we have been it has always been clean, and has a good variety of shows on offer for all ages and tastes.
Queen & Adam Lambert (22/01/15) - AMAZING!!!!!
What can I say other than WOW WOW WOW!!!!!!!! a once in a lifetime experience and Adam Lambert is just stunning, Brian May and Roger Taylor were the legends they have always been. Best concert we have ever seen. STILL ROCKING AT THE COMBINED AGE OF 240 !!!!!!!!
paul daglish, 22/01/15
Great atmosphere and the music sounded fantastic.Had a really good view of the band.The toilets were not far away from our seats and no big queues.Parking close to the arena was not a problem.The food and drink at the venue was good but some things were a bit pricey.
Queen & Adam Lambert (22/01/15) - live concert
The concert was amazing.They were on stage for 2 hours with no support act.They sang most of their big hits and the stage set up was really good.There were large screens set up on stage and on a couple of songs they had freddie on the screens which the crowd loved.They also mixed it up with solo numbers and acoustic sets.Adam lambert done a really good job of not trying to replace freddie but brought his own style to the queen music.Overall a fantastic night.
SuzieQ, 22/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (22/01/15) - Incredible ��
I took my Mum to see Queen for the first time as a Christmas present but I loved the show as much as she did!!! The music was a great mix of old and new with a 21st century twist that didnt alter the fantastic composition of each song �� The highlight it has to be said is the incredible vocals from Adam Lambert. Fantastic, he didnt miss a note and he is so much more accomplished than comes across via tv. Will absolutely try to make it next time they visit! Loved it ��
janet, 21/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - Fabulous
The sound was superb, Queen were obviously on form and enjoying themselves! Whilst saying he is a massive fan and could never think of replacing Freddie just wanting to celebrate him, Adam Lambert is a flamboyant Diva in the spirit of Freddie whose voice brings the favorites back to life.
BOROFAN, 21/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - BRILLIANT
FANTASTIC, ALL WERE BRILL, ADAM LAMBERT WAS EXCELLENT, GREAT TO SEE BRIAN MAY AND ROGER TAYLOR STILL CLASS.
Queen 1, 21/01/15
Security handled things really well and very helpful.Found drink over priced for what it was(not the greatest quality).Arena is very well placed for easy access from the city centre with plenty of choice with hotels near by.
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - What a show
We were not to sure at first , how Adam Lambert would fill the large pair of boots left by Freddie We soon realised that he was,nt trying to be the great,Freddie Mercury. He actually did a fantastic job,just,being himself. His rendition of Save Me was the highlight ,for me personally. It showed his extensive vocal range,off beautifully. Word to the wise Brian,drop the slot.where you do a local ditty,it does,nt work,you are Brian May,the greatest guitarist in the world and a member off the greatest band on the planet ,just,do what you do best and set the place alight with your own songs. I would like to hear Adam sing some new material,that,you could write brilliantly,for him.Super evening
GolferT, 21/01/15
A huge venue which obviously lacks the intimacy of the City Hall or the Sage. However for a huge venue its fine - and of course it allows several thousand of us to watch the show at a reasonable price. The staff are always pleasant helpful and cheerful.
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - Superb
Ive been going to see Queen & offshoots since 1979 at the City Hall in Newcastle. My wife and I were not disappointed - in fact I believe she is in love with Rufus!. Ive never heard anyone in recent years hit those high notes as well as Adam. The set, the lighting, the variety, the virtuosity and the showmanship were all incomparable. Best gig weve seen this century.
JOULES, 21/01/15
ENJOY GOING TO THE ARENA, WE ALWAYS MAKE A NIGHT OF IT ITS CONVENIENT FOR THE TAXIS SO WE CAN HAVE A COUPLE OF DRINKS, AS THERE IS A GREAT CHOICE!
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - FANTASTIC
ADAM LAMBERT GAVE HIS OWN TWIST TO THE LEDGENDARY SONGS OF QUEEN, WE WERE ON OUR FEET DANCING AND HAD SORE THROATS FROM ALL THE SINGING , IT WAS THE BEST CONCERT I HAVE EVER BEEN TOO
AB_SSY, 21/01/15
Like all big halls it has its shortcomings. Acoustics are not perfect, but its not the Royal Albert Hall. Easy access to public transport and parking is ok nearby
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - A great act - good fun !
Unsure of what to expect with Adam Lambert. Who can replace Freddie after all, but he did, and he brought his own style to the songs. He has a powerful voice. Its not Freddie alright but he doesnt pretend to be and he grows on you. He has great stage presence too and he was fun to see. Not forgetting the oldies too. Brian and Roger are masters of their instruments and Rufus had masses of energy and is growing up like his dad. We were in the Standing arena and loved it. We do like to dance and the crowd was very much up for it. A great atmosphere!
Cher, 21/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - Excellent
One of the best concerts Ive been to. Adam Lambert is a perfect front man. Brian May & Roger Taylor were brilliant. Cant wait for them to tour again.
Johninnewcastle, 21/01/15
I know a profit has to be made..but the merchandising was a little expensive, after paying nearly £140 for 2 tickets, its a bit much to pay £25 for a T shirt, and a similar amount for a programme...Not wanting to be too left wing, but, I supported Queen through record purchases from way back in 1973, I have went a little way to contributing to their wealth, whilst enjoying their music of course...would be nice to get something back for my loyal patronage by way of maybe reduced tickets, or reduced memrobilia...Or you can ask Brian and Rodger to send me a signed pic, with of course Adam on it.
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - Brilliant evening
Being a life long Queen fan, after seeing their first appearance on TOTP way back in the day, I was a little dubious, having seen Queen 3 times over the years with Freddie fronting the group, and lately with Paul Rodgers..I accept there is no one that can come a close second to Freddie, and after seeing the Paul Rodgers reincarnation, I was left a little disappointed. That said, Adam Lambet blew me away with his performance, not to mention of course Brian and Rodger, and the other musicians. Adam has not only a fantastic voice, but he could engage with the audience, and really had the audience in the palm of his hand. I am very pleased I dug deep into my pockets and stumped up the money, as I doubt there will be another opportunity in the near future.
Gill Lambert, 21/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - Killer Queen
What a night! great show from start to finish, a varied mix of songs, all of the old favorite hits were in the playlist along with hits from their early stuff such as Seven Seas of Rye, In the Lap of the Gods and 39, there was even a special guest to help out with Bohemian Rhapsody and Love of my Life (we love and miss you Freddie), the band were on top form showing skills and expertise that were limitless, Brian May never dropped a note, his guitar playing is still up there with the best, Roger Taylor was brilliant as was his drum solo with his son Rufus and what can I say about Adam Lambert, what a voice, what a performer, he did himself and Freddie proud. WOW Another one bites the dust, Queen and Adam Lambert the Champions of the World!
mezors, 21/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - PERFECTTT
It was amazing! Queen was great, Adam was great too. Had a good time! The stage was closer than I expected.
Fairy Powered Productions, 21/01/15
Queen & Adam Lambert (21/01/15) - A KIND OF MAGIC
From around 30 minutes before the show began the spot lights started to slowly move around the stage and a low reverb from a guitar started. The closer to the start of the show the faster the lights moved and the guitar got louder until there in silhouette stood Brian May. Then all lights off, pitch black and full light and into One Vision. Brian May is, of course, a musical genius. His 6 minute guitar solo to lead into Tie Your Mother Down was outstanding as was the drum off, deliverance style, between father and son Roger and Rufus Taylor. Adam Lambert is the first to admit he is not Freddie Mercury, there could only ever be one. But he has an amazing voice, and his campness and flamboyance have an echo of the immortal Mr Mercury. His showmanship complimented rather than imitated. Who else would have a chaise longue and drink champagne? And Freddie himself did show up to sing. In the first song One Vision he did his “I had a dream. When I was young. A dream of sweet illusion. A glimpse of hope and unity. And visions of one sweet union” etc. During a Brian May solo version of Love of My Life up popped Freddie to help lead the singing and of course no one else could sing Bohemian Rhapsody and it was amazing. There were songs I hoped to hear but didn’t and there were songs in there I wasn’t expecting, The Fog On The Tyne being the main one - but as a homage for the first night of a tour in Newcastle what else would you sing? The show ended with Adam Lambert in the trade mark crown singing We Will Rock You followed by We Are The Champions and an instrumental version of God Save The Queen and it was done. The stage and the lights were awesome. The stage was the shape of a Q with a large O with lights on it and the stick of the q was a path on to the main stage. They are very fond of red as a background colour but with a vast array of lights producing amazing patterns it was difficult to concentrate on the music with the lights hypnotising you. They were inspiring, I only wish I could produce such a show. With the sound and lights matching perfectly it was almost a son et lumiere with the narrative of the Queen back catalogue. In a dream come true I finally got to see Queen and in a night of high voltage entertainment I was totally blown away. If you missed it you missed out but if you get the chance go and see this spectacular show