first direct arena Leeds - Reviews

first direct arena Leeds
4.4 (131 Reviews)
Atmosphere
Acoustics & sight lines
Toilets
Parking
On-site service

Selected reviews for this venue:

E K, 28/04/14
Good seating with unrestricted views. However it gets hot and there seems to be no aircon. There needs to be some handrails as you climb the steps as it is quite steep on all levels. Big, big queues for the toilets at the interval also.
Dancing On Ice: The Live Tour (28/04/14) - Lively, entertaining family show!
A great show based on the format of the TV show with 3 judges marking the performances of the celebrities. A relaxed version of it with lots of humour from Joe Pasquale. The highlight was most definitely Torville and Dean performing Bolero but all the skaters entertained brilliantly.
Bramley Rhino, 28/04/14
Dancing On Ice: The Live Tour (28/04/14) - Birthday Treat
We took my Mum as a 90th Birthday treat. Our Seats were on Block 109 and we had a Fantastic view right down the ice. The show was very good and the crowd really enjoyed it. Fantastic to see Bolero Live
HayAllen, 28/04/14
Dancing On Ice: The Live Tour (28/04/14) - Brilliant Event
Me and my sister went to see dancing on ice it was absolutely brilliant. All the performance where brilliant, even when skater had injuries. Did not disappoint and can not believe this is end to dancing on ice.Crowd was involved a lot. Well Done to everyone involved
Richard, 15/04/14
Great arena and seat view was unbeatable Food stalls well manned and toilets were exemplary Staff friendly and helpful at all times
Elbow (15/04/14) - Great performance
Stunning vocals from Guy and great spectacle Im not a seasoned Elbow fan but it introduced me to songs old and new which I enjoyed thoroughly.
gary58, 14/04/14
Elbow (14/04/14) - Just Fantastic !!
After years of working hard on the circuit,Elbow have now catapulted themselves into the big league of bands mainly on the back of their last 3 albums....Seldom Seen Kid , Build A Rocket Boys ! and their latest The Take Off and Landing Of Everything.......their performance was up there with one of the besh shows I have seen...excellent staging and lighting,musicianship of the highest quality and in Guy Garvey, Elbow have one of the best front men in the business.who delivers his lyrics with real feeling.....he made the show seem like one that was performed to a small intimate gathering rather than one which saw about 12,000 very enthusiastic fans in attendance !......Highly recommended...
Mandy Williamson, 14/04/14
Parking is difficult in Leeds, not much you can do about that. Public transport is an issue from where I live as the last train leaves Leeds before the concert ends.
Elbow (14/04/14) - Brilliant
Brilliant concert from start to finish. Brilliant venue, great facilities. Couldnt have asked for more. Hope it stays like this and doesnt drop off.
Gembles, 08/04/14
The overall venue Is really good and for concerts it is on a par with other arenas. The seating closer to ice rink for Disney on Ice is poor yet at a premium cost. Wont book those kind of seats again.
Disney on Ice Presents Worlds of Fantasy (08/04/14) - Disappointing seats
We had seats on the main floor area (row B) thinking that these would be really good seats an close to the skating. In reality the seats were awful as we had tall people in front of us and my 3 year old had to stand on the chair all the way through (thankfully no one was behind us) for premium seats this was disappointing. Being so close to the skaters also showed up the roughness of some of the costumes and spoilt the affect a little. The 1st part of the show the sound was poor after the interval it seemed to improve. Overall it was very expensive for the experience we had.
fancealot, 08/04/14
The seating is very poor, unlike a lot of arenas there seems to be less legroom here, and it is misleading especially if you sit down before the person in front as you think theres loads of legroom, but when the seat in front goes down the back of the seat moves backward, resulting in a pretty painful few hours for me and Im only 61!
Yusuf Ahmed Rafique, 29/03/14
WWE Live (29/03/14) - Unbelievable.
Worth every penny, the crowd is pure energy and the wrestlers feed off it. Whether youre a wwe fan or not, go watch it. Honestly, and when my boi John Cena comes on the place erupts. Im going again, hoping Batista will be there!
Slaws, 17/03/14
After going to the Depeche Mode gig last year I had the same high expectations as before, especially as this was a family outing. The food outlets were poorly managed with order being taken and then food not arriving because they had run out - this is surprising, especially at a lunchtime performance! Also, the fact we had restricted views so my 7 year old son and I could not see about 30 of the rink was annoying. Plus, as this was his first time along with his 4 year old sister and both were not able to have a hot dog was not a great first experience.
Disney On Ice (17/03/14) - Slightly dissapointed!
The family enjoyed the Disney show but 2 of us had a restricted view due to the positioning of a lighting technician and his gear - which was not stipulated at the time of purchase. Also disappointed as we went to the lunchtime show expecting to be able to purchase food, to find that only a couple of the food outlets were open and after waiting for 10 minutes after ordering they had bizarrely ran out of hot dogs and burgers.
Terrierfan, 17/03/14
The staff were very helpful. I think everywhere in the arena would be a good view the way it is set out
Disney on Ice Presents Worlds of Fantasy (17/03/14) - Great Time
Fabulous event for the kids and adults. Great view, lovely costumes and story lines. Went with my friend and our grandchildren all six of us had a brilliant time would definitely recommend this production and cant wait to go again.
Mum of 2yr old boy, 17/03/14
Disney on Ice Presents Worlds of Fantasy (17/03/14) - Fantastic Show!
I took my 2.5yr old son to see the show for the 1st time. His face was a picture and the show was just magical. Defiantly recommend the show to anyone with children old enough to sit through tin well worth the money with 2 50minuite shows. Cant wait for the next show!!
Amandeep, 17/03/14
Disney on Ice Presents Worlds of Fantasy (17/03/14) - Disney on Ice world of fantasy
The event was good and the kids enjoyed it. The only problem I have was the seat. When I booked the ticket I paid the top price for the ticket so that my girls had the best seats. It was £37.50 per ticket even for a child of 2 years old. I had a ticket which was 2nd row from the front. When I looked at the view there was no gap between the first row and the second row we were directly behind however when we arrived there was a walkway between the front row and the second row. However, in other section there first and second row were directly behind each other. So I was annoyed because I paid for the fact that we were behind the front row and would of had a amazing view but because we were further behind the girls had to sit on our laps in order to see so I felt that was a waste of 2 tickets.
Gemma mcclelland, 17/03/14
The X Factor Live (17/03/14) - Great event and brilliantly run!!
My daughter loved this concert and everyone else semt to be enjoying themselves too. A big thank you to all the staff, we were sat in the disabled area and the staff couldnt have been better and dealt with everything that was thrown at them.
Tia Maria, 10/03/14
The only problem was when I booked it showed we were a block away from the centre however a third of the venue was blocked off and the seating seemed in an L - shape. So when we got there we got a side/end view rather than an off centre view, which was a shame. No fault of ticket dispenser but the event itself!��
Disney on Ice Presents Worlds of Fantasy (10/03/14) - Fab event disappointment in seats!
This show was fab so entertaining all the way through, scheduled on time too. I took my 6yr old daughter & 9 yr old niece. They like when cars came out.
Candice t, 10/03/14
Disney on Ice Presents Worlds of Fantasy (10/03/14) - Nice event
We all really enjoyed it,great family night out!cant complain ;-).My kids are still talking about it at school and to all our friends.i would recommend to all my friends.good work guys!
kayleigh farman, 10/03/14
food over priced but security was good so i would rate them at 4.5 over the food been 2 because of the price
Disney on Ice Presents Worlds of Fantasy (10/03/14) - the show was great but the food a rip off
me and my 4 year old girl loved the show but what shocked me was the prices for the food. popcorn priced between £3 to £8 and the candyfloss because it had a hat was priced at £8. i will be going to the next Disney show but will not be buying food in the arena, ill wait to go for food before or after the show. the show was amazing, we was sat front row and was worth every penny.
JB, 10/03/14
Disney on Ice Presents Worlds of Fantasy (10/03/14) - Great event
A well stage event, only disappointment was we thought we had purchased tickets centre stage to find out when we arrived we were at the side and the arena had been only half used.
Brian Twigg, 03/03/14
Brilliant venue. All seats face the stage so no sitting at an angle as at other arenas. The rake of the seating is such that no one in front will block your view choose how tall they are. Full marks to the council for getting this one right.
The Australian Pink Floyd Show (03/03/14) - Absolutely brilliant
This was the second time I have seen this band live in Leeds. The first time was at the Grand, and found that the venue was too small and therefore too loud. The arena was perfect, been purpose built for this type of concert. The band are absolutely brilliant been true in every detail to the original Pink Floyd. The light show, the sounds, superb. Cant wait for them to return.
sothstand Geordie, 03/03/14
The signage directing your customers to seating needs to be addressed. One suggestion would be to have seat numbers indicated with block numbers ie low numbers to the left and high numbers to the right. This system appears to work very well at Phones4You in Manchester.
The Australian Pink Floyd Show (03/03/14) - Brilliant show
Have listened to this music for over 40 years and this is the first time I have seen Aussie Floyd. What an amazing tribute to the writing of Pink Floyd. First heard Dark Side Of The Moon in the rather short lived Sony Quadraphonic system; a great pity more of there early stuff hadnt been done in this format. However 5.1 systems nowadays make up for this.